We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (754)
Filter reviews
754 results
Traveller rating
321
270
96
51
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
321
270
96
51
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews langosta beach club infinity pool shuttle service free shuttle in town shuttle that runs esplendor hotel swim up bar beautiful hotel hotel shuttle ocean view costa rica rooms are clean yogurt dirt road hotel guests great pool
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 754 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2018

We really liked staying here for our second week staying In Costa Rica. The view was nice. You could hear howler monkeys. You could see the ocean. Staff was very kind. Breakfast was a nice treat since we did not know it was included. It is typical Costa Rican foods which worked for me. If I wanted American food I would stay home in US. The lightening show was pretty neat as well. The one thing that bugged me was that the sliding door didn’t lock.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spitfirem2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamHR, Gerente at Wyndham Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear guest,

Thank you for sending us your comment, it's very important for us to have feedback from all of our visitors. We have taken note on your observation about the sliding door so to keep improving our property. We are glad to know that, despite this minor detail, you have had a great stay and that you were able to enjoy our location, surroundings, gastronomic proposition and, most importantly, the staff's service.

We will gladly receive you again in Wyndham Tamarindo!

Best regards,
Wyndham Tamarindo Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 27, 2018

Our room was very nice and we got all the hot water for showers we wanted once we figured out the trick for the faucet (move it straight up). Room had a very nice balcony and the view of the ocean was just spectacular. For drinks at the beach club wait until happy hour 2 for1. We found eating at the beach club extremely pleasant and the food was wonderful. For cheaper meals eating in town is a good option. We had lots of fun walking the beach, lounging and using the beach club pool. Had an excellent time in town shopping, having lunch and taking in a yoga session. We didn't have time for a sunset cruise, but it sounded wonderful. Free shuttle to beach club and town.

Room tip: Get a room with the balcony and beach view
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamHR, Gerente at Wyndham Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2018

Dear Laurie,

Thank you for choosing Wyndham Tamarindo. We are glad to know that you had a good experience while staying here.

We expect to welcome you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Wyndham Tamarindo Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 26, 2018 via mobile

I recently stayed at this Hotel in Tamarindo, thinking it was to Wyndham franchise standard like the one in San José. What a disappointment!!!!

The hotel is like a 1 1/2 miles from the Center of Town on top of a hill. The good thing is that the hotel have a shuttle bus to take you from the hotel to town and to the beach club. The only down fall is that the shuttle service needs to add more hours for the night shift. Shuttle service ends it’s services at 8:30 pm and the town stats getting up beat at that time. So if you want to come back to the hotel after 830pm, you need to take a expensive taxi ride $10 dollar.

Let me start at the from desk. We solicited a room changed on Thursday due to the fact that the AC was not cooling off and condensation was dripping to the floor. Their answer from the front desk lady was: we need to send a AC tech guy to see the AC in your room, in order for us to make a room change.

Our second complaint. The Hot Water on the shower is not working properly. Nothing was done to fix it. Completely ignore.

The Pool is nice. But needs some love and tender care (TLC). Soon!!! Lots of tiles are missing in back of the return wall of the reservoir. Some black mold by the steps close to the bar.

At the hotel entrance to the lobby from the street, all Columns that are cover by wood and the restaurant table need some TLC. Their coming apart obviously, due to the weather and the more than 4 years of construction.

The restaurant and its employees I was told was a concesión to a local businessman. Well everyday at breakfast the music was loud and the food repetitive. Staff not very friendly.

I almost forgot the famous beach club. I don’t know what’s the deal with this property. It’s not own by the hotel. I was told it belong to a French Business Women. The place smells like sewer. Lots of mosquitoes . The beach tables and lounge are only a few. Bad service and food menu expensive. We order food (fish fingers and filet of fish at la meunière) and both plates came cold.

I will not stay at this hotel on my next trip to Tamarindo. Sorry for speaking my mind and telling you how it is!!!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank BUZONICA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamHR, Gerente at Wyndham Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2018

Dear Javier,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am disappointed we fell short of your expectations. It's very important for us to have feedback from all of our visitors, thanks to your comments we can improve every day and make your stay a better and more enjoyable experience.

I have taken note on your feedback. We'll be addressing the appropriate departments regarding the shuttle hours, the issues with the AC and the hot water. We'll be checking the room in which you were hosted to find a solution to these observations and make sure that everything works just fine ASAP. We'll also be working on improving the quality of our gastronomic proposal and making everything in our possibilities to offer to our guests the service they really deserve.

We'd like to apologize because you didn't have a perfect stay at the hotel. I would love for you to give us another opportunity and stay with us again in the future, so you can see the improvements.

Kind regards,
Wyndham Tamarindo Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 14, 2018 via mobile

We got to the hotel at magic hour as the sun was just about to set. My friend and I were both blown away by the open concept property, infinity pool, swim up bar, attentive service, cleanliness of the room, and value for our money. There is a shuttle that goes into town frequently too, which is an added bonus as the hotel sits atop a cliff. Overall fantastic experience. All rooms face the ocean!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Chelseaptravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamHR, Gerente at Wyndham Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2018

Dear Chelsea,

Thank you for staying with us. It's really good to read a review like this one. There's nothing better than a happy guest. Your words are a great motivation for all of us.

We are looking forward to see you among our guests one more time.

Kind regards,
Wyndham Tamarindo Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 9, 2018 via mobile

Second time at this place and will return, all due to it”s amazing view!!! Service is okay. Bar on the expensive side, but you got the whole town at your feet for other activities. And there’s no better view, right from your room.
We will definitely be back!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank CruiserII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamHR, Gerente at Wyndham Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for staying at Wyndham Tamarindo. It's good to know that you could enjoy your stay at the hotel and the atmosphere of its surroundings as well.

We are looking forward to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Wyndham Tamarindo Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews