We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive and not that good”

La Lluna de Valencia
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Barva
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed July 22, 2018

We went two couples and order Paella wich is the restaurant specialty. It was edible but did not made me a loyal customer. I other words, I don't recommend the trip to the country where it located to eat a "not that good" paella.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gerardo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 72 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2018 via mobile

The best Spanish restaurant in Costa Rica!!!!
My favorite dish is pulpo a la gallega, the sangria is amazing and the chocolate mousse is awesome!!!!
The atmosphere is super friendly, the service is exceptional!!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank lizkakriska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 27, 2018

This is not only a restaurant, it is an experience. The long trip there is worth it. Do not come here if you want a fast meal: you need to enjoy the entire adventure, which includes a beautiful setup, friendly staff, good food, music, and the owner (Vicenç) making sure you enjoy your visit. Drinking wine from "la bota" is a great touch that everybody enjoys. This is not only about the great food: it is about sharing the event with friends, family and the friendly staff. Authentic Spanish food (trust me, I know, I am from Spain), great wine list, delicious desserts. I will be back as soon as I can.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jordi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 12, 2018

Whether you're looking specifically for paella or any of the other Spanish options they serve, from the tapas to the main courses, it is a great place. Weekends they have live band that plays along with the owner, who some times comes up on stage to toast, greet, sing, and have fun; and it makes the vibe very authentic. The sangría is also one of the best I've tried. It's a great place for family and friends to have a great time with a wonderful meal.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank r2gasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 10, 2016

The restaurant has wonderful atmosphere-charming Tico style. The service was good The food however was less than good. It tasted more like Rice a Roni that had been garnished with some overlooked seafood. Definitely not worth what they charged for it. Would I recommend it to anyone? Certainly not.

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JeanneruthB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Lluna de Valencia also viewed

Santa Barbara, Province of Heredia
Heredia, Province of Heredia
 
Heredia, Province of Heredia
 
San Rafael, Province of Heredia
Barva, Province of Heredia
 

Been to La Lluna de Valencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing