We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to visit in Costa Rica with a fantastic rehabiliting/conservation program.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Heredia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Toucan Rescue Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Staying at the Toucan Rescue Ranch was quite enjoyable with both Leslie and Jorge as host.Their efforts to help with animal conservation is their number one priorty which makes this a great program for helping the local wildlife. This is a great location to starts ones journey in Costa Rica were one can get close and learn about some of the indiginious wildlife before exploring throughout the beautiful country. Hurt/orphaned animals are rehabilitated at their location until they have been fully recovered before being release back into the wild. Both Leslie and her husband have gone through so much effort and dedicate so much time into this conservation project that it really impressed me.

Paul Bratescu
AnimalExplorer

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2012

I volunteered at the Toucan Rescue Ranch ( a privatly run wildlife rescue facility for confiscated, sick and injured birds and animals) for one week as I enjoy the close proximity of all kind of birds and other wild animals too. I did volunteered before ( Mexico for the turtles, Argentina for organic gardening and at home in England for the National Trust/ for gardenjobs mainly) and researched for my trip to Costa Rica to find the right place. I found it here as I could see how hard these people work to make a home for the rescued animals with healthy food, exercise and rehab. You don't find tiny or filthy cages here and the fresh food I helped preparing daily you could eat yourself, yummy...Yes, it is not a petting zoo, so if you expect that then go to one. Here the animals are respected and if possible released into the wild. Izzy- the spider monkey will happily give you the handshake and some of Leslie's parrots greeted me every morning with a friendly "Hello, how are you?" What can anyone want more.
Leslie organised a homestay for me with a costarican family nearby and it was perfect for me, good nights sleep in my own room, hot showers and lots of wonderful food and as a bonus free painting lessons from my host Marta and the price was very reasonable too ($20 per night inclusive meals), thank you all so much. Konni Venus

Here are the links: www.toucanrescueranch.com
www.toucanrescueranch5.blogspot.com

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Konni V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We definitely agree with all the nice things said about Toucan Rescue Ranch B&B. Leslie and Jorge were wonderful, welcoming, and helpful hosts. We stayed at the Ranch the first two nights of a two-week trip in December 2011 and it was the perfect way to ease into Costa Rica, especially after taking a red-eye flight (Leslie graciously let us check in first thing in the morning since no-one had stayed there the night before). The breakfasts were wonderful and Leslie facilitated getting dinners delivered from a nearby restaurant. Our kids (5 and 8) loved it so much they cried when we drove away to our next destination. We recommend having your own car and mapping out the directions to find the Ranch (even with Leslie's step by step directions it was challenging to find). Great day-trips from the Ranch include the town of San Isidro and Braulio Carrilio National Park. As noted elsewhere, this is a professionally run rehabilitation facility and not a petting zoo - as long as that's understood you and your family will get an amazing education and opportunity to see some of Costa Rica's wildlife up close.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

If you are going to Costa Rica to see animals, stay here. Leslie and Jorge Howle rescue, rehabilitate, and when possible, release all sort of animals native to Costa Rica. Their work is truly inspiring and a welcome reminder of humanity's capability for kindness and compassion. Guests staying at their beautiful ranch support their ability to care for and rehabilitate animals. By staying here, you are not only able to explore the Central Valley, but you also help in their efforts to preserve the wildlife of Costa Rica.

The well-kept, beautiful grounds of the ranch are patrolled by a flock of geese and friendly singing ducks. Our guest house was comfortable and includes a mini-kitchen with microwave and toaster oven. The guest houses are cleaned every few days, which worked very well for us. Breakfast was yummy and included delicious food such as fresh juice and fruit, banana pancakes, french toast, and typical Costa Rican fare.

We rented a car, and Leslie and Jorge were helpful in suggesting places to visit. The ranch is located a short distance from San Josecito that hosts several excellent restaurants (beware of the Argentinian place that charged me double, without telling me first, for asking to make a dish spicy. The food was good, though).

You'll need to rent a car, plan to take taxis, or hire a driver to stay here. If you want a concierge desk, luxury rather than comfort, or the public transportation available in larger cities, then this probably isn't the place for you. If you love animals, friendly hosts, and comfortable lodging, this is the place for you...it certainly was for us.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki70_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a week. If you like animals, this is a great place to stay. There are dozens of animals here, which you will get a chance to see up close on your tour (complimentary with lodging, or available separately). We enjoyed visiting the nocturnal animals at the end of the day, and the diurnal animals during the day. There are roosters, so if you prefer to sleep in late, this might not be the best mix. But in this area, the restaurants close early, so even night owls like me have to shift their schedules. So in the end, the roosters didn't bother me at all. There are also some noises from neighborhood dogs.
The guest cottage was very nice. It's not glamorous, but has everything you need. The hosts helped us tremendously with planning our itinerary - this was a last-minute trip for us. They know great sites to see over a wide area. They picked us up at the airport, and arranged a rental car (at a good rate) for part of our stay, taxis for other days, a chocolate-maker visit, and provided directions. They were very accommodating - just ask. Wi-fi is available on the house's porch, where breakfast is served. The pancakes were excellent, as was all the fresh fruit.
If you like animals, I highly recommend this B&B. It is not for everyone, though, particularly anyone who doesn't like animals or animal noises, or for those who demand perfect quiet. For us, it was wonderful.
See also reviews under the Attractions category.

Room Tip: Cottage includes kitchen (toaster oven, microwave, coffee maker, electric water kettle, fridge), din...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BSchug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Wow - this is a wonderful place to feel more a part of Costa Rica. The previous reviews cover details fairly well. Unfortunately these reviews can't fully express the caring of Leslie and Jorge, the owners. As a trained OT, Leslie has perfectly translated these skills for her wonderful caring for the animals. She shares this joy with her guests. I am not an "animal lover," but I couldn't help smile, learn, and feel good here. Jorge was also incredibly friendly, and took an extra interest in making sure our children had the best experience possible. We were extremely lucky to find the Toucan Ranch. Leslie was super helpful in planning excursions, and other parts of our trip, restaurants, (including driving directions - something that can be challenging in Costa Rica!) It is the perfect place to stay for a few days when you first arrive or just before you depart to/from San Jose Airport. We all hope to stay in touch. MUCHAS GRACIAS Leslie and Jorge!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AmyRP4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We stayed at the rescue ranch in December and had a memorable experience. Leslie and her husband were waiting for us in the pouring rain when we arrived and welcomed us in. We settled into our guest house and were very comfortable. Leslie was very accommodating and even brought in her sloths into the guest house the first night. In the morning we walked around the grounds to meet all the animals. We were followed by a group of friendly ducks as we walked around in the morning, it was hilarious. We had a great breakfast and then received a great tour of the property and met all the animals and took some great pictures. Leslie and her husband really care about their animals and are great people. We stayed for one night and I think that was about the right amount of time before moving on to explore more of Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heredia
24.1 km away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,304 reviews
12.1 km away
Hotel Monte Campana
Hotel Monte Campana
#1 of 1 in Birri
411 reviews
9.8 km away
Hotel & Boutique Hojarascas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 km away
Hotel Chalet Tirol
Hotel Chalet Tirol
#2 of 7 in Heredia
246 reviews
6.7 km away
Hotel Bougainvillea
Hotel Bougainvillea
#1 of 1 in Santo Domingo de Heredia
1,012 reviews
12.9 km away
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toucan Rescue Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toucan Rescue Ranch

Address: San Josecito, Heredia 40601, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Heredia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Heredia
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Toucan Rescue Ranch Hotel Heredia
Toucan Rescue Ranch Costa Rica/Heredia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing