We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Heaven on the Caribbean Coast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kelly Creek Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cahuita
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kelly Creek Hotel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Cahuita
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Heaven on the Caribbean Coast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012 via mobile

What a gorgeous place. The best location - on the beach and next to the national park entrance. Monkeys, iguanas and hummingbirds visible from the wrap around deck. Comfy bed, big room and a ceiling fan that does the job at night.

You need a two prong USA plug here if you want to charge anything - not the three pronged one.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Jesmak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    29
    16
    1
    3
See reviews for
29
70
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

We are a 40/30 year old professional couple from Canada. We stayed at Kelly Creek for one night. The room was very spacious, very clean and great value, at a great location -- right to the entrance to the National Park and across from the beach and on the main street. It is more like a B&B with only 4 rooms in one house. The owners are European and very friendly. We also had breakfast which was very cheap with delicious bread, spreads and fruit. We heard the sound of waves at night and howler monkeys in the early morning. On top of that, Kelly Creek has a resident talking parrot named Verdi who is an added attraction. Very, very highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for the room at the back but on the same side as their restaurant/home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MNRJSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lockport, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights and enjoyed it. The rooms are very basic (ours had 2 beds) with no tv, ac, etc... which is all for the best considering the location. The most amazing part of the hotel was being able to listen to the sound of waves crashing ashore at night from the nearby beach. It's also right next to the Cahuita park entrace (which is free if you enter here) - an added bonus.

The rooms were very clean, but a little dark. The area tends to leave all of your clothing/items feeling slightly damp because of the humidity. Showers are electrically heated, so that also took some getting used to. The owners were VERY friendly and helpful.

If you're looking to have fun and walk around, Cahuita is nice, but it's worth the trip to go about 20km south to Puerto Viejo; there you will find tons of nice beaches, good restaurants/sodas, shops/souvenirs, etc... Although, I would certainly recommend staying at the Kelly Creek Hotel, and using it as a hub for traveling the nearby area.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Noplacelike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

I truly enjoyed my 4 day stay at Kelly Creek hotel. It's literally at the Cahuita Park entrance, right by the beach and trails. The owners are a lovely couple - French and Spanish - and the rooms are delightful -- huge and clean.

My room overlooked the front, hence right at the beach, which was wonderful during the day but at night I had to close the shades because you could see in from the outside, but still, the sound of the waves crashing on shore made up for it -- it's too dark at night to see anything anyways.

The owners are really nice! The food is delicious, so if you don't want traditional Afro-Caribbean, but want high quality, well-prepared food, though not cheap, this is for you. They make their own chocolate sauce and cocoa for hot chocolate in the morning. Delish!

Their parrot, Verdi, is quite a character, and overall the stay here is very pleasant and vacation-like. The walk into the park at anytime is just fabulous. And look 'up' at night - sloths make their way across telephone wires!

The only thing I don't like, which is out of the owners' control, is the slew of guys who hang out at the park entrance and cat call ... sigh ... hopefully as Cahuita grows into a bigger tourist destination the townspeople will stop the annoying loitering.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdaPia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

This has to be the best location in Cahuita - literally at the edge of the national park by a creek (with Caimans supposedly) and overlooking the beach. It is surrounded by fruit trees, so you get woken up by the various different monkey species each morning. If you like talking parrots, they also have a talking green called Verdi.

The hotel is basically one building divided up into 4 large rooms. The room size is a big plus but the rooms are dark, so not good for hanging out in. The mosquito nets were in good condition and there is a fan, which was important as in rainy season, beside a forest with dark rooms, you need protection.

We stayed for a couple of nights and it suited our needs. While it is probably one of the more expensive options in Cahuita, it is not expensive compared with most other areas in Costa Rica.

We only had breakfast (which was basic but fine) but the dinner is supposedly good.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ZelenEye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

My wife and I stayed 2 nights at Kelly Creek and wished we could have stayed longer. The owners are a wonderful couple from Madrid who we thoroughly enjoyed meeting. The location could not be better - with an ocean view and literally at the entrance to the Cahuita natural reserve. We saw capucine monkeys, a sloth in their property and a cayman in the creek that separates their property from the reserve. I would be remiss to not mention their parrot who is a local celebrity in her own right!
The rooms are clean and spacious with an authentic rustic feeling and the most elegantly draped mosquito nets I have seen in my travels. We also had 2 dinners and breakfast at the restaurant and Andres and Marie-Claude are amazing chefs. They graciously shared their home made chocolate sauce recipe with us and even helped us find someone to sell us local grown cocoa beans.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Albert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

You can argue about the rest, but location of this hotel is definitely the best in Cahuita. It is right at the gate to the national park and two steps from the main beach in town. The road ends there so that you can enjoy the sounds of waves, birds and monkeys in the tropical forest surrounding the place, and no through traffic.
Wood-paneled rooms are large, simple, elegant, and have all you need to feel comfortable including fans, mosquito nets and WiFi Internet .
Andreas and Marie-Claude are wonderful hosts and very inspiring couple.We truly enjoyed our conversations with them. They have owned the place for more than 15 years and know the area very well. They helped to arrange some of our tours and gave us valuable advises about what to see and how to get around in Costa Rica.
The food in the small restaurant is excellent - especially their famous paella (order it a few hours upfront as it takes long time to cook). The deserts with fruits and chocolate hand-made from local cacao beans are amazing too!
Green Amazon parrot named Verdi is another member of the staff who works full time entertaining the hotel guests, owners, and everybody else who passes by. Verdi speaks Spanish and English, doesn't mind you inviting him for a breakfast and has amazing sense of humor.
Truly beautiful place with unique atmosphere - we will definitely stay there if we ever go back to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DosPalabras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cahuita hotels
5.2 km away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 13 in Cahuita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.3 km away
La Casa de las Flores Hotel
2.8 km away
Hotel La Diosa
Hotel La Diosa
#7 of 13 in Cahuita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Hotel Nirvana by the Sea
1.2 km away
Atlantida Lodge
Atlantida Lodge
#6 of 13 in Cahuita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
2.8 km away
Suizo Loco Lodge Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelly Creek Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelly Creek Hotel

Property: Kelly Creek Hotel
Address: Cahuita, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Cahuita
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cahuita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Kelly Creek Cahuita
Kelly Creek Hotel Costa Rica/Cahuita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing