We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bungalows Malu
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hotel Jaguar(Cahuita)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveller rating
23
31
11
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
31
11
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscosta ricathe ownermin walkpaolavegetationwaves
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 70 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2009

Group of cabins apparently built from beach stones, and the insides are of the same material making everything very very dark. But there is air-conditioning. Breakfast charged extra. Common facilities OK.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank snapdecisions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 21, 2009

Stayed the first week of May 2009. We were the only ones in the place and at 64 pewr night quite a steal! Our room was 100 meters fromthe ocean( across a dirt road)
Room was clean and they came and made it up at least once during our four day stay there. staff was pleasant and help ful, but it is a hump to get to town down the dirt road, but wow the beach is as nature intended it to be, limpia and isolated. no golf courses or swinging nite life, they leave that for Puerto Viejo , down the road. Inter net is up stairs and they bring the cable used on the phone to connect it, not exactly high tech....Staff was very accomodating but then again we were the only ones there!

Long way from the park( other side of town) and no hot water but the pool is quite lovely especially at 8pm at nite. Rooms are DARK, but really peaceful

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpearsTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 12, 2009

The staff and location are outstanding at Malu. Located down a quiet road, only about 15 minute walk from Cahuita along the sea, in a lush and very private setting. We would wake up to the sound of Howler Monkeys everyday, truly amazing! The bungalows are extremely clean, the pool area is a real bonus and beautfiul, All of the staff were excellent to deal with. Pricing is really fair for what you get. If you are looking for something quiet, peaceful and out of the hub that is Puerto Viejo, I highly recommend Cahuita and Bungalows Malu, wouldnt stay anywhere else if we go back.
Al and Brooke, Toronto, Canada

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelKnobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 2, 2007

We stayed at Bungalows Malu for three nights in September and loved it there. It was so relaxing and right across from the beach.
My fiance and I had just got engaged, so if you are looking for quiet, off the beaten path romance this is the place. We did some more traveling along the caribean coast but ended up back here again to finish out our vacation.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dblack19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 9, 2006

Clean rooms all in wood.
We went for one day and we liked it so much that we finally stayed 4.

It's a nice and quite place with excellent paintings everywhere ( in the room, the open restaurant.
All the painting are from the owner, Alessandra Bucci.

The swimming-pool is fantastic, small but very cute.

We really recommend this place if you go to Cahuita.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank fergih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews