We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Cahuita - very good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bungalows Malu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bungalows Malu
Ranked #11 of 21 Cahuita B&B and Inns
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Cahuita - very good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2010

We stayed here three nights during our round trip through Costa Rica. The location is out of town down a 4x4 type road. When entering through the gate you notice the attention to detail of the owners. A lot is made with natural stone and wood which gives it a very nice atomosphere. Each rooms is in a seperate cabin (all with air conditioning - which is nice with temperatures in august). The staff (I believe all family members) are very kind and service minded. The pool is great (again with a natural look). Breakfast is great with fruit, eggs, coffee and fresh juice (different kinds). Cahuita as a place small with appearantly quite a bit of drugs use. If you are staying in cabin #2, do not leave belongings on the porch of your bungalow as this is visible from the street and people will come and take it (as we experienced). The place is highly recommended for its relaxed atmosphere and outstanding service.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Remon_Thea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    30
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
11
34
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
119 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2010

This is a great place if you want to stay at Playa Negra. The bungalows are nice and quite isolated. Even tough there are 8 bungalows, you can't see you neighbors from your room. The swimming pool is really great! There is not a real restaurant, but they do offer breakfast and can prepare sandwiches, burgers and batidos on request. The only drawback from this place is that it is far from "downtown" Cahuita. The choice of restaurants in Playa Negra is very limited, and there is not much to do there, except go at the beach (but I can not comment on that because during our stay the beach was covered with wood debris from a recent storm and was thus not really accessible). With two young kids, the 25 minute walk to downtown Cahuita seems like an expedition every time! Despite that, we had a wonderful stay at Bungalows Malu

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Puzzpouding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2009

Group of cabins apparently built from beach stones, and the insides are of the same material making everything very very dark. But there is air-conditioning. Breakfast charged extra. Common facilities OK.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank snapdecisions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2009

Stayed the first week of May 2009. We were the only ones in the place and at 64 pewr night quite a steal! Our room was 100 meters fromthe ocean( across a dirt road)
Room was clean and they came and made it up at least once during our four day stay there. staff was pleasant and help ful, but it is a hump to get to town down the dirt road, but wow the beach is as nature intended it to be, limpia and isolated. no golf courses or swinging nite life, they leave that for Puerto Viejo , down the road. Inter net is up stairs and they bring the cable used on the phone to connect it, not exactly high tech....Staff was very accomodating but then again we were the only ones there!

Long way from the park( other side of town) and no hot water but the pool is quite lovely especially at 8pm at nite. Rooms are DARK, but really peaceful

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpearsTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2009

The staff and location are outstanding at Malu. Located down a quiet road, only about 15 minute walk from Cahuita along the sea, in a lush and very private setting. We would wake up to the sound of Howler Monkeys everyday, truly amazing! The bungalows are extremely clean, the pool area is a real bonus and beautfiul, All of the staff were excellent to deal with. Pricing is really fair for what you get. If you are looking for something quiet, peaceful and out of the hub that is Puerto Viejo, I highly recommend Cahuita and Bungalows Malu, wouldnt stay anywhere else if we go back.
Al and Brooke, Toronto, Canada

  • Liked — Lush Setting
  • Disliked — Have to take cabs at night as the road can be unsafe at times when alone
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelKnobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2007

We stayed at Bungalows Malu for three nights in September and loved it there. It was so relaxing and right across from the beach.
My fiance and I had just got engaged, so if you are looking for quiet, off the beaten path romance this is the place. We did some more traveling along the caribean coast but ended up back here again to finish out our vacation.

  • Liked — The unique remodeled huts, easy access to the beach and privacy from the main road
  • Disliked — It was far away from most things so you need a car
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dblack19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catalonia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2006

Clean rooms all in wood.
We went for one day and we liked it so much that we finally stayed 4.

It's a nice and quite place with excellent paintings everywhere ( in the room, the open restaurant.
All the painting are from the owner, Alessandra Bucci.

The swimming-pool is fantastic, small but very cute.

We really recommend this place if you go to Cahuita.

  • Liked — Peace
  • Disliked — No tv
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank fergih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cahuita hotels
1.3 km away
Hotel La Diosa
Hotel La Diosa
#6 of 13 in Cahuita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
3.6 km away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 13 in Cahuita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.4 km away
Atlantida Lodge
Atlantida Lodge
#7 of 13 in Cahuita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Suizo Loco Lodge Hotel & Resort
1.4 km away
La Casa de las Flores Hotel
0.3 km away
Playa Negra Guesthouse
Playa Negra Guesthouse
#1 of 21 in Cahuita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bungalows Malu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bungalows Malu

Property: Bungalows Malu
Address: Cahuita, Playa Negra | 2 km (1 mi) north of Cahuita, Cahuita, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Cahuita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Cahuita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel with bungalows surrounded by tropical gardens in front of the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bungalows Malu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bungalows Malu Hotel Cahuita
Malu Hotel Cahuita
Bungalows Malu Costa Rica/Cahuita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing