We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place on Caribbean seashore”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Suizo Loco Lodge Hotel & Resort
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Cahuita
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 10 December 2015

We as a group of first-timers in Costa Rica started our trip from this wonderful place in Cahuita and it had been unbeaten by other hotels and villas we have had an opportunity to stay in Costa Rica. The host Daniel and his staff did a great job to allow us adapting to different climate zone (by serving shots of vodka from freezer to cool us down) and 8 hour time zone difference (at least explaining that a wake-up call at 5-6 a.m.will come from local Howler monkeys, that he has nothing to do with it). If you are planning to take an excursion for wildlife seeing, then don't bother a lot: wake up earlier by the signal of monkeys cry, grab a cup of coffer and sit in a terrace or near pool and enjoy local sloths wrangling just in front of you or iguanas sunbathing in the palms, not to mention myriad of birds you can see without even leaving the lodge - what a nice place to stay.
Once we wanted to try the local made chicharones, Daniel came to rescue and arranged them for our farewell dinner and by the way we have had there the best (real) pina colada in Costa Rica too.
All our group would like to wish success to Daniel and keep vodka in freezer for our next possible visit...

Room Tip: Howler monkeys are heard from all rooms... unfortunately, so loud sometimes they are. But you use to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ewluka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2015 via mobile

Very good. Very nice owner Daniel. Food is good quality. Apartmants are quite small, but have all you need and had nice terace. You can see a lot of animals, birds. 15 minutes light walk to reach nice beach. Cahuita wilage is at walkable distance too.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Saulius R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2015

We stayed here 5 nights beginning of September 2015. Daniel is a wonderful host and a you can have a lot of fun with him! During our home we felt very welcome and although we planned to stay only 2-3 nights we stayed 5.
Our spacious & clean room came with a king size double bed and the best shower we had in Costa Rica. The swimming pool is a big plus as is the option of having dinner at the hotel. The quality of the food is really good and we enjoyed every meal. For breakfast there are three options which are all good. We loved the fresh juice, fruit and pancakes :-). Cahuita is a perfect place to stay a couple of nights. The Cahuita park is nice and we saw snakes, sloths and monkeys there. 30 min. away is the ARA Project center (best place to see the green Ara very close, reservation obligatory) and Puerto Viejo is also only 30 min. away. However, the best wildlife spotting was at the resort where we saw a 2 sloths very close by (and moving), Keel Billed Tucan, Aracari (small Tucan), Howler monkeys, Iguana and frogs. Please note, this is wildlife so no guarantee although Daniel mentioned these animals come very often to the resort but if you only stay one night your chances are less then if you stay 2+ nights...

We loved it here and wish Daniel all the best! Normen and Tessa, The Netherlands

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Normen_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2015

Daniel and his staff have created something truly unique with their business.
It is not just a hotel. It was like we were staying with close friends for a week.
The food was exquisite! It was a perfect getaway to relax from a day of activities.
I enjoyed the fact that it was not off the main strip of other hotel lining the beach.
The gardens are kept so well that you feel like you are alone in the rainforest!
Daniel really bent over backwards to help us out on all accounts, even when
a local ATM ate my credit card!
This was a great place to stay for our first big international trip.
Thank you again!!

Room Tip: Room # 6 was nice. You will get used to the howler monkeys
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2015

I know about hotels, because that's what I've studied, so these guys have a lovely place, surrounded of nature, also the service overall is great, Daniel the owner a great host, things to improve maybe to accept AMEX, besides that no complaints.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mario J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2015 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay at Suizo Loco Lodge as the staff were really friendly, everywhere was clean and the breakfast was amazing - we tried 2 out of the 3 options and thought they were lovely. The grounds are also well kept and you do indeed see a variety of wildlife, which is a plus. There are a couple of reasons I have only given a 3. The water is solar powered and therefore when it is a cloudy day (days were cloudy when we stayed) there is no hot water for the shower, which I found difficult. The wifi also drops out regularly. Finally, it is a little out the way - the beach is further than you think and the road leading up to the lodges is not fun to drive on! It is however very peaceful and so if you don't intend to go anywhere, it might be a good choice.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Lopalop7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2015

Just 10 min walk to the beach, lots beautiful birds, flowers and very tranquil area. Hotel was very Clean, comfortable and cozy. Bernadette, Daniel and their staff deliver a super service! I will definitely will recommend and will send my clients to el Suizo Loco.

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice - bathroom was the best I saw in CR
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiveLoveLaugh0412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cahuita
2.5 km away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 12 in Cahuita
192 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel La Diosa
Hotel La Diosa
#6 of 12 in Cahuita
148 reviews
13.9 km away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Atlantida Lodge
Atlantida Lodge
#7 of 12 in Cahuita
211 reviews
2.6 km away
La Casa de las Flores Hotel
18.7 km away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suizo Loco Lodge Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suizo Loco Lodge Hotel & Resort

Address: Entrada Plaza Viquez | Playa Negra, Cahuita, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Cahuita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cahuita
#1 Green Hotel in Cahuita
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cahuita
Price Range: $107 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Suizo Loco Lodge Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Suizo Loco Lodge Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suizo Loco Lodge Hotel & Resort Costa Rica/Cahuita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing