We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$72
View deal
Hotels.comUS$72
Expedia.comUS$72
eDreamsUS$72
Agoda.comUS$72
PricelineUS$72
TravelocityUS$72
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
223 results
Traveller rating
143
46
16
11
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
143
46
16
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the owner private beach caribbean coast costa rica easy access beautiful spot hotel is perfect every morning plants and flowers quiet retreat nice room grounds are beautiful clean pool cahuita national park we've stayed shower head we loved our stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 223 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2020

First trip to Costa Rica and could not have had a better welcoming. Marcel is an awesome host very polite and ready to answer any questions. The place is just what we were looking for. Quiet ,clean and beautiful setting. I will book again if back in Costa Rica. Loved the sloths and everything we saw on the property.

Room tip: Corner suites are larger and had hot tub, we didn't spend enough time in room to care.
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank arleyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 22, 2020

Marcel runs a great place, nice room with a hammock on the covered porch. We saw sloths on the property every day! Very nice landscaping, the pool is great. Excellent breakfasts! The shore out front is rocky but muy fantastico beaches a short walk either direction. Playa Negra towards town was my favorite. Cahuita has an assortment of restaurants but the DO NOT MISS gem is Cahuita National Park. We parked for free just up the street, admission is free with a requested donation. We enjoyed it so much that we donated again on the way out! Excellent trails along the beach and through the jungle. Lots of monkeys, pizotes, birds, and racoons.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 31, 2019 via mobile

We had a marvelous time at La Diosa. We are a family of five (couple and three kids).
Mr. Marcelo was always very kind and attentive. He was kind to help me to prepare a surprise for my wife's birthday by ordering a cake and putting birthday song on the speaker during our breakfast. Thank you, Mr. Marcelo!!!! We loved our stay and we certainly will come back if we have the opportunity to do so.
About the hotel, it's very nice and clean. A good pool so the kids could end the day relaxing and playng there. Small, but good enough to finish the day. We stayed at a bungalow with three rooms. Perfect for us. The only thing that needs improvement is the shower. We are tall and the shower is not high enough. But it didn't diminish our happiness in our stay. The beach in front of the hotel is beautiful, but as it was raining a lot, it was not secure to go there. But we could seat on a bench placed in front of it to admire the beauty. We recommend.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 833jorges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcelo R, Owner at Hotel La Diosa, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2020

Thank you Jorge for your comments and we wish you a Happy New Year! Marcelo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 27, 2019

My family of 5 stayed for almost 2 weeks at Hotel La Diosa. The kids had a wonderful time playing in the pool and on the nearby beach. Which is only a very short walk through the trees. We saw sloths in the trees around the pool. Poison arrow frogs all over the place. The raccoons come out at night and you have to keep the garbage can on the porch empty or put it inside or the raccoons scatter trash everywhere. They don't seem to have much fear of humans. We heard howler monkeys but didn't see them.
Marcelo is a kind and gracious host. He greeted us all by name every morning. Breakfast was wonderful. Several choices including lots of fresh fruit. The rooms were adequate for our needs. Shower head needs to be cleaned or replaced, several of the jets are plugged. The beds were a little stiff for our liking but that is a personal preference and would be probably be just fine for most people.
The location of the hotel is perfect! Far enough out of Cahuita to get away from people but close enough to drive into if you need to. Also Puerto Viejo is only 20 minutes by car.
I would definitely recommend giving Hotel La Diosa a try it won't disappoint.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AKtravler2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 26, 2019

La Diosa is a great quaint spot for families. We stayed in a two room bungalow, and it was perfect for our needs. Yes, the place is a bit rustic and needs updating including the oversized tubs and short shower heads, but everything in the rooms are clean and have a charming feel to it. Air conditioning works well, and the free morning breakfast is tasty. There’s also a great restaurant across the street called Bananas and another delicious spot down the way called Reggae Bar. Overall, you can’t beat the location or price of La Diosa...you’re right on the beach and surrounded by nature. We saw sloths, monkeys, all kinds of birds, and your occasional stray cats and dogs (all of which are friendly).

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Kartins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews