We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Conveniently Located Jungle Cabinq”
other travellers have booked this property
Villa n.1
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa n.1
road sign private road
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Villa n.1
road sign
private road
private road
our sloths
Villa n.1
Villa n.1
Villa n.1
Villan.1
Villa n.1
Villa n.1
Villa n.1
Villa n.1
Villa n.1
Villa n.1
Villa n.1
Villa n.2
Villa n.2
Villa n.2
Villa n.2
Villa n.2
Villa n.2
Villa n.2
Villa n.2
Villa n.2
Villa n.2
Villa n.2
Villa n.3
Villa n.3
Villa n.3
Villa n.3
Villa n.3
Villa n.3
Villa n.3
Villa n.3
Villa n.3
Villa n.3
Villa n.3
Villa n.3
Cocles beach
Cocles beach
Cocles beach
Cocles beach
beach
our sloth
our dog & the sloth
our dog & the armadillo
green parrots
tucans
sloths
white faced monkeys
iguanas
frogs
morpho butterflies
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

TorontoLo...
Costa Rica
2 reviews
“Conveniently Located Jungle Cabinq”
Reviewed October 22, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

This is a very basic cabin close to the beach and town of Puerto Viejo. It is too small to spend anytime indoors.

Date of stay: October 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Proximity to beach and town
Liked least: Very small and basic cabin
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
masha r
Mesa, Arizona
2 reviews
“Perfect Stay for Puerto Viejo”
Reviewed March 23, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

I loved this place! After traveling through Costa Rican jungles, sleeping in glorified tents and combating bugs....this place offered the ideal refuge for our last couple nights in Costa Rica.

Nadia and Antonio are the perfect hosts and make you feel at home immediately. They are so accommodating and considerate. I felt like family the second I stepped on the property. They live about 5 m from the property and so they are there at a moments notice if you need anything.

This property is also in an ideal location. It is just far enough from town that you feel disconnected from the hustle and bustle, and yet close enough that you can get there at a moments notice. We rented bikes (which I highly recommend) so we were able to get into town within 5-10 minutes. The cab ride is a 2 minute cab ride that costs 4 dollars.

The location is also extremely safe. There is a security gate with cameras and the front door is one of the most secure doors I had ever seen.

The beach right by la Perle is the best beach in the area as well.

Overall, I couldn't be happier with this place and I definitely look forward to traveling here again.

Date of stay: March 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything exceeded my expectations.
Liked least: everything was perfect
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clairicie
Los Angeles
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Couldn't ask for better service”
Reviewed March 11, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

We stayed in Puerto Viejo for 8 days. Unfortunately all 3 of us (my husband, my son and I) all came down with a nasty stomach virus for 5 days. Nadia and Antonio couldn't have looked after us better. They brought us medicine, helped us with extra washing and gave us advice and help. I don't know how we would have handled being so sick if they hadn't been there! Everyone in Costa Rica was amazingly friendly, but Nadia and Antonio went above and beyond to make sure we were looked after! And we saw sloths and an armadillo right outside our gate. My son loved it!

Date of stay: February 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nadia and Antonio
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camelia I
Alajuela, Costa Rica
2 reviews
“Peace, clean and friendly. Italian house in Costa Rica”
Reviewed December 30, 2012 for a stay in December 2012

We stayed at Perla del Caribe recently and enjoyed very much all the facilities of the house, Nadia and Antonio friendship and the beauty of the tropical surroundings. We will come back!

Date of stay: December 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We liked everything.
Liked least: There is nothing we didn't like.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wascubadu...
Washington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice Relaxing Stay”
Reviewed August 15, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed 3 weeks in one of the bungalows and had a nice, relaxing stay. Even though it rained daily for the first two weeks of our stay, we still had plenty of good weather to do the activities we planned. Here is my review of La Perla Del Caribe
Location: - The property is about 1 mile from town and about 150 yards from the main road. It is a nice quiet area full of jungle sounds, not loud people. Once on the road from the house, it is only a short walk to a great beach. Also near the beach are a couple of restaurants (we enjoyed Tasty Waves and you can find reviews on Trip Advisor). Instead of renting a car, we chose to rent bicycles which we were able to use to easily get to town and even ride to Punta Uva.
House Review - The house itself is a small two bedroom, one bathroom unit. There were ceiling fans in each of the rooms, including the kitchen area. The "master" bedroom had an AC unit, however the other bedroom did not. We only used the A/C at night and not on all nights as the rain really kept things cool. For those times we needed the AC, it kept the master bedroom cool but took a while to get the second bedroom cooled off. The kitchen area includes a 3 burner stove, microwave and good sized refrigerator. There is an outdoor BBQ but we did not use it. There are 4 barstools and a very small counter to sit at in the kitchen area. Other than that, the only seating is on the porch where there is a good sized table with chairs. We ended up moving the table inside for more room to sit under a fan. Our house did not have a ceiling fan outside, which would be a good benefit for those hot days. That was the only thing during the 3 weeks that we wish was different.
Hosts - Nadia and Antonio are great. Nadia was always available if we needed anything and was able to provide good information on the activities. Our first day, Nadia drove us into town so we could stop by the local store to get supplies. She was also able to point out a few good places to eat (and there are many). It was truly a pleasure to get to know them.
Safety - We did not venture into town after dark, not because we were worried but because we are not the "night life" type of people. Nadia does recommend taking a taxi at night but we stayed "home". The house and area felt very safe. Nadia and Antonio keep a close watch on everything and the house is very secure. We never felt uncomfortable riding the bikes around town or even walking to the beach.
Getting There - We landed in San Jose late at night and stayed in town. Nadia recommended a driver that would take us the next day to the property. Our driver picked us up promptly the next morning and we had a very nice drive. Totally better than taking mass transit and worth the $200 for the 4 of us and lots of luggage.
Getting Home - We booked a river rafting tour that picked us up at the house, fed us breakfast and lunch and gave a great tour of the river. After the tour they dropped us off in San Jose at our last night hotel. This is all included in the price of the tour and a great way to save $200.
All and all we had a great time and highly recommend this property.

Date of stay: August 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Security, location, AC, hot water
Liked least: lack of seating inside the house
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2012
Hi Mike!
Thanks to have found the time for a review, I really appreciate.
For your next visit, I want to reassure you that now the house provides
an outside ceiling fan on the porch! :)

Big hug to Barbara and the guys,
see you soon!
Nadia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madhu P
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nadia and Antonio are simply the best!”
Reviewed August 12, 2012 for a stay in December 2011
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed here with three other friends for New Years last year and had the best time. We expected Puerto Viejo to be beautiful, which it was, but we didn't expect the level of warmth and hospitality we received from Nadia and Antonio, the proprietors of our villa. They gave us to low down on all the good spots in town, Nadia arranged some amazing trips for us, and Antonio took us out to dinner our first night. They built these villas themselves and you can tell they care deeply about their maintenance, so expect to find everything in great condition upon your arrival. Being able to spend time with them really helped us understand the beauty of Puerto Viejo and they were a big part of why we enjoyed our trip so much.

Date of stay: December 2011
How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAVEnMARY
Lake Worth
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“I researched for months and chose La Perla del Caribe”
Reviewed March 25, 2012 for a stay in February 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Yes, this is the place to stay. We were so happy with our little house. After researching for months on the Internet, we decided to book our stay with Nadia and Antonio. The house has 2 bedrooms, both with very comfortable beds, the house was very clean (No Bugs) and we used the air-conditioning at night. The house stays cool in the day without the air on. We enjoyed the private garden every morning with fresh coffee and food we purchased at the nearby grocery store. We did not have a car the whole time we were there. We arrived late our first day. Nadia had coffee and a few items in the refrigerator for us. The next day, Nadia drove us to the grocery store and gave us a short tour of Puerto Viejo. She recommended restaurants, showed us the pharmacy and bank and more. We booked all our tours through Nadia because the tour company came right to our door. We did rent bikes for most of the week. You can easily get to town on a bike or Nadia will call a taxi for you. The beach is a very short walk and we loved being away from the road. We saw sloths, hummingbirds, toucans, monkeys, butterflies and fireflies at night. We had so much fun. The customer service we experienced was amazing. Thank you, Nadia and Antonio! You are the BEST.

Date of stay: February 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The customer service
Liked least: Everything was perfect
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
US$USD
Canada (English)
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.