We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (196)
Filter reviews
196 results
Traveller rating
93
69
22
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
93
69
22
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the owner cute place small desk cute bungalows free wifi costa rica within walking distance rent bikes no hot water the breakfast area air conditioning in town min walk center of puerto viejo down the road howler monkeys fridge
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 196 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2018

Only got to spend 1 night at this beautiful hotel but I WILL be back! Gorgeous grounds, neat and clean bungalow, and a fantastic $10 breakfast the following morning. I needed a rental car for one day and Juan Jose’ took care of everything! A lot of this was last minute and he did a tremendous job accommodating me! Adobe Rental Car was more than accommodating as well, Customer Service at it’s best!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESCAPE C, Gerente at Hotel Escape Caribeno, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2018

Dear William

Thank you very much for your kind review.
We are happy that you enjoyed our hotel and its beautiful garden. It is a pleasure to give the best service to our guests.
We hope you come back soon.

Best wishes

Jessica & Enrique

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 3, 2018

If you want to stay in a comfortable, accessible yet private place in Puerto Viejo, I highly recommend Escape Caribeno. We've been staying there for over 17 years and find the owners and staff to be wonderful.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kikker4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESCAPE C, Gerente at Hotel Escape Caribeno, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2018

Dear

Thank you very much for your kind comment.
We are waiting for you return to our paradise.

Best wishes, have a great day!

Jessica y Enrique

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 21, 2018

place was clean and nice just the older guy at reception is a little grumpy. got woken up a little early by the maintenance workers one of the mornings too. could easily be a 4 but i gave it a three because of grumpy at desk which i think is the owner.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank speedysd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESCAPE C, Gerente at Hotel Escape Caribeno, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2018

Thank you very much for your kind comment.
Without your name and without the details it is difficult to give an answer about the actions of our staff.
We can only say, we are sure that our hotel staff is very friendly, respectful and helpful.
We all strive to have the hotel beautiful, clean and in good condition, so our customers enjoy their stay.

Best regard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 10, 2018 via mobile

Located around 10 mins walk from the heart of the action, the hotel is well positioned to allow easy walk into town but provides a peaceful nights sleep. I stayed on the land side (there is a beach side, hotel is split into two).
The rooms had front porches, air con, working shower and safe. There was a small desk also.
There is no pool which is a shame but short walk to the beach.

I didn’t have breakfast here, I ate at the bakery a few doors down so can’t comment on the food.
As a single female I’d recommend catching a taxi back here at night for safety, but during the day is fine.

If you like to be away from the hustle and don’t want to go out it’s a good option, however if I went back I’d choose somewhere a little closer to the Main Street shops.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank thepassportjournal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESCAPE C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Escape Caribeno, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2018

Dear

Thank you very much for your kind review.
We hope that you come back soon.

Best wishes
Juan José

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 6, 2018

Our family spent 6 nights here and had a great time. The people running it are very nice and helpful. It's an easy walk to town and to the beach. About 20 minutes from Cahuita National Park. 15 minutes fro the Jaguar Rescue Center. Great location, cute place. My only complaint was that internet was not reliable, but that may be the case everywhere in this area. We would recommend!

Room tip: We loved the bungalows on the beach side.
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Randy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESCAPE C, Gerente at Hotel Escape Caribeno, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2018

Dear Randy

Thank you very much for your kind review.
We are very happy that you enjoy your stay and visit the wonderful places in Puerto Viejo.
Come back soon!

Best wishes and regards

Jessica y Enrique

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews