We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place to relax and very nice hosts”
Review of Hotel Pura Vida

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Pura Vida
Certificate of Excellence
Mannheim, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to relax and very nice hosts”
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We spent only by coincidence two nights at the Pura Vida Hotel, because it seemed a lot more relaxing than the Rocking J's. We liked it so much, that we decided to skip our already booked hotel for our last week in Costa Rica and spend it here.

Almut and Luis know how to make you feel at home. They are very friendly and treat you like family. Furthermore Luis was the best surf instructor I have had so far. As a sport instructor he is offering many activities on a high quality.

Rooms are available in different sizes and standards. First we had a double with private bathroom and balcony and then one w/o the balcony. Both very nice, clean and comfortable. Cost-benefit ratio was excellent. We spend nights at other places with double price and half quality.

All in all it was our nicest experience in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becks-Packers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    60
    13
    11
    10
See reviews for
19
107
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Found Pura Vida online and sent an email reservation. Called the next day to confirm and was abruptly told our email came too late in the day and they cannot confirm a reservation. Should have stopped right there. Got off the bus in Puerto Viejo and walked to Pura Vida. Were shown our room, right next to the reservations desk and kitchen. We asked if we could look at a different room because of the proximity to the desk and the noise we'd have to deal with. The owner storms into the room, slams all the curtains shut, and demands to know if we've touched anything. Then he shows us another room. It was really off putting for having just gotten there, and still being interested in staying there.

That being said, the place is really clean and everything seems like it was recently updated. They had nice sheets and clean shared bathrooms. F.Y.I. There is a rooster at a neighbors house that starts crowing at 4am.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turnhout, Belgium
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights on our trip to Costa Rica. I was surprised to read the previous reviews about rules and rude owners. We never had any problems. The receptionist Sonja is really great! She helped us out with a lot of things and does a lot to make your stay agreeable. We never met the owners, but we didn't hear anyone else complain. It's true there's no-one there after 8 pm, but they tell you that from the start, so I don't see any problem: just be sure you have your key! The rooms are clean and comfortable. True, there are holes in the mosquito net, but in my opinion it's best never to rely on these things in more "developing" countries, and to breng your own. We had a room with shared bathroom, which was excellent value for money (and this was also the ONLY hotel on our 3-week trip that was recommended in our 2011 travel guide and that had not augmented its prices!!!!). Breakfast is nice, though maybe slightly overpriced. But then again, most hotels where it is included charge for that in the room rate too.

I'd recommend this hotel to anyone who wishes to stay in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellen2601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2011

After a terrible night in Cahuita, we decided to go to Puerto Viejo and found this Hotel mentioned in out guidebook. Checkin was easy and the owner explained everything and gave us some tips where to dine, etc.
In the evening we talked to the owners, who made a round the world trip as we are doing right now. It was nice to change information about countrys and people.

The room was tidy and the bed comfortable, so everyhing was good. I can fully recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cruiso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2011

Hotel Pura Vida is a well-maintained small property just a few blocks from the main street of Puerto Viejo. It is sort of a little compound of rooms with a courtyard in the middle. There is a buzzer system to get in and out and it feels rather secure because of it. I also noticed that the owners parked guests' cars inside the fenced driveway area in the evening.

The property is very, very clean. The rooms are simple, but also clean. We had a private bathroom, and although not fancy it was more than adequate for Puerto Viejo.

The only drawback to the property is a little odd to describe -- if you are looking for peace and quiet during the day, this may not be the best place for you. Although the property is very quiet by about 10 or 11 (with the exception of an apparently blind rooster who somehow decided to crow at some odd hours from time to time), during the day it can be a bit loud.

We were in room 9 which we understood to be near reception and were prepared for some reception noise. What was difficult is that we were also close to the car park area and its noises (I wanted to break one owner's car alarm remote) and the town soccer field as well. Most of the day we were gone, but when we came home to shower and change for dinner it was just plain loud. Plus, it's unsettling to have people walking next to your windows so closely with nothing but a curtain and screening to separate you.

The service was fine. I felt as if the owners had been burnt by loud or drunk late-night guests before as they did come across a bit stern during reception. If that's what it's taken to make sure the nights are peaceful, then that is fine with me.

The place also offers breakfast for $7 per person if I remember correctly. It is a very simple breakfast, however, and you can do much better walking to any of 5 to 10 places in the area for the price or by grabbing something at a market.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chippersnacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2011

My sister and I had a wonderful experience staying at Hotel Pura Vida. Upon arrival, we were greeted by a lovely receptionist who told us everything we possibly needed to know about Puerto Viejo, the hotel, and the surrounding area. She was thorough, sweet, and informative. She showed us to our room, a simple but perfectly equipped space, with a mosquito net, fan, and large window that opened up into a beautiful garden. While we went for the cheapest option with a shared bathroom, there were various other options with private bathrooms. Our bath was shared with one other room, and it was immaculately maintained, with a clean shower with consistently hot water- (a rarity for hotels at this price). We found the owners to be helpful and kind. One problem was that the walls in our room seemed to be very thin, so we were roused early by the hotel happenings. We took this as an excuse to get up and start our day- which ended up being a blessing in disguise, as we got more out of our time there. I was also told that the rooms on the second floor are a bit quieter, so if you are into going out late and sleeping in, I would reccomend requesting a quieter room if one is available. In general, we loved Pura Vida. They offered perks such as snorkel rentals, tour info, yoga classes, hammocks galore, breakfast onsite, cheap h20 refills, and daily cleaning service to name a few. I thought the place was an amazing bargain, and I highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laragreen15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2011

We reseved a private bath and room for only 40 USD per night two weeks ahead of
arrival and were delighted to get a prompt and very nice answer. Communication
in advance with owner Almut was always friendly and we were really excited to
get there. At arrival they let us park our rental car inside the patio so it
would be safe. They also were very helpful and arranged an earlier pick-up for
the car with the alamo station in San José since they were fluent in spanish
and we were not. They had enough to handle on that one and we felt very much
taking care off. The place altough not beachfronted is very nice and clean. It
has an open patio an terrace with hammocks to rest in and a seperate smoking
area. The owners as well as the receptionist were always polite and directly
explained everything including the area of Viejo to us. We felt very safe even
in this sometimes not so safe described town. Also we cannot agree with some of
the reviews since there were guests from the US, South America and other
countries we must say that every guest even the ones that were declined a room
only due to the full occupancy of the hotel were treated equally and always
friendly. Of course every hotel has its rules, without them it would be anarchy
or better said if you like no rules you should go to other places but should be
warned that it might be noisy all night and you will definitely get mugged
then. We never had the feeling to be treated as kids, but to be taking care of
in a very friendly and outgoing way. The room was spotless, the bathroom
beautiful and all was renovated. It s probably the best and safest place to
stay in Viejo and you will enjoy a good nights sleep because of its location.
It never harms to walk 5 minutes in your life to get to town and walk them back
as long as you know you will get a quiet night for this in return. We recommend
this place to anyone who can stick up to some very usual not overly uptight
rules and who enjoys a very friendly atmosphere as well as a good night sleep.
We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloAnnika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
2.2 km away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
3.0 km away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Maritza
Hotel Maritza
#10 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.2 km away
Hostel Kinkaju
Hostel Kinkaju
#3 of 105 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Guarana
Hotel Guarana
#9 of 52 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pura Vida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pura Vida

Property: Hotel Pura Vida
Address: 270 m south of bus stop, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Hotel Pura Vida Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing