We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We will come back”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Pura Vida

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Pura Vida
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We will come back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

This family runned hotel in Puerto Viejo wins our personal award in our 2 weeks trip to Costa Rica. The family is friendly, helpful and make you feel welcome while leaving some privacy for you. It is a small and quite hotel and the rooms are really nice combining wooden and white walls. The Hotel owners (Costa rican/ German couple) do some work around (gardening, conserving the wood etc.), which gives it a human touch.

It is located in Puerto Viejo town an very close to the bus station, which makes it convenient to get and leave from there. The breakfast is quite satisfactory, large plate of fruit with toasts and jam.

Our tip: Spend some time in the afternoon in the hammock at the garden and get a smoothie from the reception (Pura Vida;-) )

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andreas_Fer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    59
    12
    11
    10
See reviews for
19
107
28
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Layton, Utah
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

Stayed here for three nights and loved it! Hardwood floors, hammocks and the most beautiful view from the shower ever! One of our favorite hotels in Costa Rica! The people at the front desk were very helpful with planning excursions and transportation. I would recommend Pura Vida to anyone!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenday1411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

We came to Costa Rica with the intention of staying at Hotel Pura Vida for the first three nights and ended up staying for a week and a half. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The hotel is very clean, comfortable, and beautiful. I cant believe how affordable this hotel is for what you get. This is a wonderful place to stay in Puerto Viejo!

Room Tip: The room closest to the lobby can get a little noisy in the morning as there are no windows. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwijl4466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

This is the place to stay if you want some luxury on your budget trip, absolutly affordable. No dorms here but you get a nice doble for 24.$ The owners make you feel welcome and they are very helpful! Rooms were clean and big with beatiful bathrooms. Dont look any further, this is the place! Book ahead!
Want to recomend the chocolate tour to the "swiss couple" and a tour to the rescue center, good value! Enjoy!

Room Tip: The room next to the reception has internet. Also internet in the reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annepanne123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilmenau
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

This hotel was amazing!!! We stayed here at the start of our trip, and we have yet to find a better place. It was a very good value for the price and would recommend it to anyone. The owners made us feel at home!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annakirschbaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hueneme, ca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

this is a great place to stay! It's very neat, clean, friendly and a great value. if your not used to getting dirty or you like to stay somewhere you can relax, this is the place! LOVED IT!

Room Tip: all rooms are great! i stayed in a 3 bedroom it was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darlizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
144 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

The owners are so helpful and made our stay in Puerto Viejo and their hotel our favorite place. The owner is very knowledgeable and willing to give any advice on the area. The rooms are spacious and very clean. This is a great hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PuraVida6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
2.2 km away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,416 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
3.0 km away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Maritza
Hotel Maritza
#10 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.2 km away
Hostel Kinkaju
Hostel Kinkaju
#4 of 101 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Guarana
Hotel Guarana
#9 of 52 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pura Vida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pura Vida

Property: Hotel Pura Vida
Address: 270 m south of bus stop, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Hotel Pura Vida Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing