We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An unexpected pleasure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Aguas Claras

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Aguas Claras
Montauk, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An unexpected pleasure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2011

Great place ...the best beach around. Definitely you feel the carribean experience! Howler monkeys...parrots... tucans wow!

Room Tip: The small verde house was perfect for two-private!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avalon59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    4
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Curridabat, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2011

Aguas Claras is the only place I have stayed when visiting the Caribbean side of Costa Rica. The cottages are very quaint with kitchenettes and they come with all the necessary utensils. Coffee makers, stoves, pans, etc, etc. It is a short walk to the beach, roughly 200meters down a path that routes through the jungle. When on the beach during the week I have walked miles with only seeing a couple other people. The cottages do have ceiling fans in the bedrooms but there is no A/C. The cottages are all done in bright colors and our favorite is the Red Cottage which I have attached a photo of. It is a 2 bedroom cottage that have locking doors and an open kitchen and living room floor plan. There are no TV's or phones in the rooms, but the registration center does have them if you can't live with out them. There is also a nice restuarant on the property that is open for breakfast or lunch. I don't think they are open for dinners but not really sure since we mainly cook in the cottage or go out to a restuarant for dinner. It is located just south of the town of Puerto Viejo which offers plenty of night life and shopping. Most mornings you can hear the howler monkeys and I have seen a toucan one morning also.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffStupar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2011

Stayed for 5 days and had a fabulous time. Good restaurants near by, but limited night life. That was ok, because we were tired from snorkeling all day. Make sure you go on a guided tour of the nature preserve...monkeys, iguanas, beautiful, birds, unbelievable!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dna1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonglix
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2010

Aguas Claras felt like our home in the Caribbean even though we only stayed for four nights. The cottages are very private and surrounded by dense jungle vegetation, and the design features make for a very unique and comfortable experience.

The interior has been designed specifically for the site and climate. We didn't miss having A/C at all and enjoyed the tropical air with breeze from the ceiling fan. At night we heard insects and frogs with birds and howler monkeys starting up around dawn. The cooking facilities are very good and a great way to enjoy some private meals and save some money (There are several grocery stores within walking distance).

The location worked really well for us. We walked to the beach at least once day. The property isn't strictly on the beach but a nice beach can be accessed by a short path next to a neighboring hotel. There is a reef right offshore and there are some shallow calm areas for wading. We arrived by bus from San Jose and found it very useful to rent a bike to get around. There are several good restaurants in Playa Chiquita within a mile down the main road. Walking the road is fine during the day but be advised that it gets really dark around 6PM. We biked with headlamps or used taxis to get home.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonglix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2009

My boyfriend and I had the most wonderful experience at Aguas Claras! The cottages were very clean and full of charm. The cottages are located about three miles out of town, which is great for those looking for a little more privacy. For those looking for more of a party scene, I would recommend staying closer to town. The cottages are set right in the jungle and about a minute walk to the beach. We loved waking up every morning and having breakfast out on the porch and even had a howler monkey join us one day! The staff at Aguas Claras could not have been more accomodating. There was even a mix up about how many nights we were suppose to be there and so they moved us into a bigger place for the last night for only $5 more dollars than we were paying to be in the smaller place. While the beach in front of the property is not great for swimming due to coral, we were able to find a better spot only a short walk up the shore. For anyone staying here, renting bikes is a great way to get around. I can not say enough wonderful things about Aguas Claras and the staff. Thanks for a great time!!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asilecnerwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2007

If you are looking for a true Costa Rica experience you will find it at Aguas Claras. The cottages are located in a beautiful setting of a rainforest. Every morning you will wake up to the sounds of birds, roosters, howling monkeys, crickets and lizzards. Within a five minute walk through the rainforest you will be at the beach.

The 3 bedroom cottage where we stayed had a kitchen and a dining area. One of the rooms also had a safe. Our rooms were cleaned every other day and we had fresh towel service everyday. The service and staff were great.

Our cottage always had visitors sine the kitchen and diing areas are open. We had frogs, crickets, and lizzards. On the property we also saw sloth, monkeys, snakes, a variety of birds and insects. Beautiful lush greens and flowers are everywhere.

  • Liked — the setting
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank zosya11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
0.1 km away
Luna Caribena Village
Luna Caribena Village
#84 of 101 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.5 km away
Lanna Ban Hotel
Lanna Ban Hotel
#6 of 8 in Cocles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.7 km away
Los Continentes
Los Continentes
#53 of 101 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Casa Merlin Lodge
Casa Merlin Lodge
#26 of 52 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.9 km away
Caribe Town
Caribe Town
#1 of 8 in Cocles
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
1.0 km away
Namuwoki Lodge
Namuwoki Lodge
#14 of 101 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aguas Claras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aguas Claras

Property: Hotel Aguas Claras
Address: | Playa Chiquita, 4 kms south of Puerto Viejo, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 750-0368, Costa Rica (Formerly Aguas Claras Beach Cottages)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 101 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1, 2 and 3 bedroom fully equipped beach cottages for rent. Beautiful beach and exotic tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Aguas Claras Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing