We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$422
View deal
Hotels.com
US$422
View deal
Official Hotel Site
US$422
US$340
View deal
SAVE US$82
Reserve now, pay at stay
CheapTicketsUS$422
TravelocityUS$422
Orbitz.comUS$422
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveller rating
102
5
5
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
102
5
5
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages pavlova playa chiquita detail oriented outdoor shower lush gardens caribbean side living space walking distance every evening caribbean style great beach nice pool open air the jaguar rescue center howler monkeys misael
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 114 reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2020

The place is beautiful and very well cared for. You can really tell the owners put a lot of effort on designing every little detail (loved the hand made plates and mugs).

But what really shines is the service, even if the place wasn’t as beautiful as it is... I would still visit them for their hospitality, kindness, thoughtfulness and overall superb service.

I’ll hope to visit this amassing place as soon as possible.

I highly recommend them!

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank alejandroq907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans Pfister, General Manager at Boutique Hotel Aguas Claras, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2021

Thank you for your wonderful review. Yes, the owners, who are local artists thought through every little detail of the design of the hotel and it shows in every corner. We are very thankful for the great comments on the service. This means a lot to us. Please come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 28, 2020 via mobile

Aguas Claras is a beautiful boutique hotel surrounded by a lush tropical garden full of bromeliads, heliconias, sloths, macaws and more! It has access to a beach club where you can have lunch on the beach or at the restaurant. We loved our stay and kept extending it more days.

The hotel:
Tropical Chic decorated lobby, swimming pool area and restaurant. The swimming pool is very refreshing and beautifully landscaped. There is a wonderful open room to do yoga surrounded by lush vegetation. Very relaxing!

The food:
The food was very tasty and meticulously plated on stoneware. Breakfast, lunch and dinner menus were varied and great for vegetarians and foodies. Ask for their homemade hot sauce... they also have homemade bread, granola, jellies and much more.

The beach:
The beach is accessed easily by a very short walk. It is a white sand beach with coral reefs great for snorkeling (when the sea is calm). If you didn’t bring your own snorkeling gear, you can get it at the lobby. The beaches are long and great for walking. You can also get bicycles to stroll around.

The rooms:
We stayed in the Pavlova Suites. Beds are cozy with down duvet. It has a sitting area where you can relax from the days adventures or sip a cup of coffee. I loved that they had a French press and delicious coffee. There is a mini fridge. Amenities were very nice (lemongrass scented shampoo and conditioner). We also got a great cream/balm of coconut and cacao oil.
The bathroom is in the open air. It boasts a rain shower that doubles up as a sitting area. The only problem is that there is not much privacy because rooms are next to each other and everything can be heard. Our neighbor was playing music early in the morning and it was a bit of a downer because we wanted to hear the wildlife.
Midway through our stay we switched to Cacao bungalow. The bungalows are great because you get to enjoy a small outdoor terrace and they have a more tropical vibe. The only negative part is that they have magnetic locks so you have to carry your key at all times. If not, you are at risk of getting locked out.

The Staff:
Staff is very attentive always addressing us by name, attentive to all our needs and eager to help.

Covid protocols:
As for Covid protocols, all staff is wearing masks and there are alcohol dispensers everywhere. The restaurant is wide open so there is plenty of circulating air and plenty of space for social distancing.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank ticaeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans Pfister, General Manager at Boutique Hotel Aguas Claras, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2020

Dear TicaEye,
thank you for this detailed review of your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our stay with us. Your comments will be very helpful for other travelers considering a visit to Puerto Viejo. We hope you come back soon. All the best from the Aguas Claras Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 26, 2020

The rooms were special, especially the bungalows--rarely do you find a hotel in the middle of the rainforest, with the sounds of the jungle all around you (yes, you will will hear howler monkeys morning and evening). The staff were all very caring and focused on giving the best service possible. This hotel met my needs to explore (a visit to the Bribri people was a highlight of the entire vacation) and my sons' desire for a relaxing getaway where they could just hang out on the beach.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 710kamillah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans Pfister, General Manager at Boutique Hotel Aguas Claras, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2020

Thank you for your visit to Aguas Claras. For many of our guests, it is their first visit to the Caribbean Coast of Costa Rica. And many tell us, just like you, that it really exceeded their expectations. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the bungalows and your trip to visit the native Bribri. And of course, hanging out at Playa Chiquita with the calm and warm waters this time of the year is a wonderful experience. Please come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 18, 2020

The hotel is an architectural jewel, full of details. Lush gardens surround the property which is steps away from the beach. Wereserved a Pavlova Suite. The bed was comfortable, amazing décor and the outdoor shower was a pleasure. i would have add body lotion to the ammenities, and maybe a pitcher with cold water. The hotel does not use plastic and all the walter is filtered.
Dinier, our server, was great. He showed me around and we could even see up close some sloths. Breakfast was a la carte but it was beautifully served, nice portions and fresh ingredients. We also had lunch and the I ordered a salad with a delicious passion fruit dressing. I almost cried when I left the hotel. It is really a jewel and can't wait to go back again.

Regarding Covid19, although the Puerto Viejo are has very few cases, the whole staff wore mask. Alcohol was available everywhere, and your temperature was checked at your arrival.

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 178monikab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 7, 2020

We enjoyed a wonderful 3 night stay at this great boutique hotel in the funky town of Puerto Viejo. As it was during the pandemic, the town was much less crowded than it is usually. The beaches were very empty. The hotel had a few guests but everyone stayed socially distant. The staff all wore masks and it felt very safe. We stayed in a lovely Cacao bungalow - which was perfect for us as a couple. The staff were all very friendly and service was great. It was a very short walk to a lovely beach area which was lovely. The hotel is walking distance to the Jaguar Rescue Center and we had a great tour there. The beach town of Puerto Viejo has some interesting restaurants and some great little shops. Back at the hotel I had a fabulous massage in their beautiful spa area. We didn't do it, but there was an option for private yoga classes as well. Would definitely like to come back when more of the tours are available but it was great to get away and a great place to stay.

Room tip: The bungalows all seem great - private but close to everything.
Date of stay: July 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BarbaraFil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans Pfister, General Manager at Boutique Hotel Aguas Claras, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2020

Dear Barbara,
thank you for your visit and this wonderful review. We are happy that you had a great time but especially pleased to hear that you felt safe due to our COVID Protocols. Little by little things are opening up again and it would be great to have you back in September or October which is our dry season in Puerto Viejo. Or come visit any of the other Cayuga Collection Hotels and Lodges that are open in Costa Rica. All the best from all of us at Aguas Claras.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews