We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Hidden Gem" is really the best description for this place”
Review of Cabinas Tropical

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cabinas Tropical
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“"Hidden Gem" is really the best description for this place”
Reviewed 19 October 2010

After several days in so-so budget hotels, Cabinas Tropical was a breath of fresh air. The rooms are minimal, but very well maintained and very clean! It's a few blocks away from the busier areas in the town, which was perfect because it was nice and quiet. Very safe too, since it is gated. The car entrance closes around 11pm, but there's another entrance for guests to go through at all hours if they have their room keys. Another cool thing was apparently they user solar-powered electricity to warm water during the day. Also, while this is less important, it was nice not to see tacky decorations on the wall. I believe double rooms without air-conditioning ran around $35, but we went for the ones with air-conditioning for around $45. It was well worth it! I will definitely be staying there again when I visit Puerto Viejo next

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scmedina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    20
    7
    0
    5
See reviews for
8
46
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson,AZ
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2010

No frills, just a good clean room. Also an excursion to Gandoca- Manzanillo or Cahuita with Rolf and Juana is a must.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kactuskid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2010

This hotel is a gem. It's owned and run by a German wildlife biologist and his Costa Rican wife. It's a very pleasant and safe place, located just a couple blocks from the Main street in Puerto Viejo and one block from the fabulous Soda Lidia. We paid extra for a room with air conditioning, which was well worth it because this part of the country is very hot and humid. Rolf and Juana took us on the best rainforest/wildlife hike of our trip. She has an eagle eye for spotting birds and other animals, and he offered a wealth of knowledge about everything we saw. They carry a telescope for amazing up-close views of birds. Rolf was also very helpful in answering my many questions by email before we arrived. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Autumn_Scientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2010

If you want to stay directly in Puerto Viejo this is a very good option.
The rooms are simple, but comfortable and spotless. They also have real hot water and great cross-ventilation, so we slept really well.
Its close to everything, but the rainforest behind is always louder than the town in front. So its no problem to get to bed early in preparation for their great guided rainforest tour,
which is highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QuietTripping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varese
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2010

We stayed there for the 3rd time, in other words, we have always liked this simple but comfortable place.

Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Thinkcostarica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2009

Great place to stay in puerto viejo. very clean, large room. Rolf and Juana make an incredible guide combination for nature hike at Manzanillo. Juana has the ability to pick out wildlife for nature at distances. We say toucans, monkeys, snakes and sloths not to mention other birds and bugs. Well worth the price. The room was very pleasant and the beds comfortably. The best value of any hotel we stayed in in Costa Rica

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HawkeyeLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2009

We've travelled a lot to Puerto Viejo over the years, and this time we finally managed to get a room at Cabinas Tropical. This was the fourth time we tried, but it had always been full.

The rooms are large, with fridge, balcony, fan, large bathroom with hot water, some with TV. Beds are quite comfortable, some noise from neighbours depending on the room, but only during the day/ afternoon. Very nice owners indeed. Convenient location two blocks from downtown, about 20 min walk or 5 min by bike to Playa Cocles. So far, this is the mid-range place ($38/night) we've stayed at in Puerto Viejo.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zorblat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
2.3 km away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,467 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
645 reviews
1.6 km away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
686 reviews
0.1 km away
Hostel Kinkaju
Hostel Kinkaju
#6 of 105 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
119 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Boutique Indalo
Hotel Boutique Indalo
#5 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Tropical

Property: Cabinas Tropical
Address: Av. 67, Calle 217 y 219, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 00506, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cabinas Tropical 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cabinas Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Tropical Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing