We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Coffee and Food”
Review of De Gustibus Bakery

De Gustibus Bakery
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$10
Description: De Gustibus Bakery is situated at the southern end of the village, where delicious American and Mediterranean breakfasts are served. Seat on one of our couches and enjoy our products with a cup of Italian coffee or a smoothie. At noon we’ll serve a variety of dishes made by our Italian cooks. We also offer many GlutenFree options making the "De Gustibus Bakery" a reality to discover day by day.
Restaurant details
Description: De Gustibus Bakery is situated at the southern end of the village, where delicious American and Mediterranean breakfasts are served. Seat on one of our couches and enjoy our products with a cup of Italian coffee or a smoothie. At noon we’ll serve a variety of dishes made by our Italian cooks. We also offer many GlutenFree options making the "De Gustibus Bakery" a reality to discover day by day.
Reviewed January 17, 2017

Good place to stop by if you want great coffee and a solid baked good to go with it. The chocolate donut was good, the smoothie was too healthy for me, and the breakfast sandwich was great.

Thank carlosdanger8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (445)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 108 of 445 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2017

We really enjoy this place, so much that we ate or bought coffee here 4 times in two days. We had 6 people, so you can imagine we spent quite a bit of money here. The pastries and coffee are really nice, the best we have found in the area.

However, we were really turned off by the service. We had ordered coffees and pastries and were waiting for our friends 10 year old son to return from the bathroom, so we took a seat at the 6 person table just to wait. Keep in mind, this was our 4th trip here in two days so I would hope they at least somewhat recognize our group at this point. The waiter approached us at our table (take away bags and coffees in hand) and told us that we can not sit there because we had not paid a 10% gratuity to him. Excuse me? The restaurant is not even busy and we told him we were just waiting for a child in the bathroom. Really rude. We will probably not return due to this service issue alone, even though we live in Costa Rica and frequent the area often.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jacki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamish002, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at De Gustibus Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2017

Dear costumer this is a story that regularly repeats itself. There is a governmental law that requires us to charge a “10% service charge” for customers who consume at the table and if we do not apply this can be subject to even heavy fines. This money goes directly to the guys who work in the room. Many visitors just to save that 10% say that their order is to take away, and instead they sit, as you have done, however, in your case you were waiting for the child who had gone into the bathroom and we did not know and we did not even realize, and when you told us, we understood and we didn’t bother anymore. In all honesty I do not see what the problem is. We always try to be correct and friendly but in some cases we are misunderstood and we regret it ... Luckily the food we serve is never misunderstanding!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 13, 2017

Stopped by twice for its excellent coffee and pastries. It's a charming little place a few metres away from the beachfront; found it quite by chance in my wandering through this quaint seaside village. The bakery has a wide array of pastries - I just tried one (watching my belly this being a beach town), and it was fresh and delicious. Loved it so much I came back the next day for more and was not disappointed.

Thank psintrepid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 13, 2017 via mobile

My daughter went the previous day on her own and had French toast and she really liked it. So we went there the next day and had eggs and bacon, really good. I had café con leche and my daughter had black tea.

Thank zaida g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 8, 2017

Great cafe and bakery. Banana and nutella strudel was amazing. Great cakes. Veggie pizza was yummy. Spent a week nearby and went here several times for a break from the Costa Rican / Caribbean food.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank redbike22london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed De Gustibus Bakery also viewed

Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 

Been to De Gustibus Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing