We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero
Ranked #4 of 7 Tortuguero B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Love this place!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

Stayed two nights from Oct 26-27. We arrived Tortugero village without any booking. Checked around a few places in the centre first. Later we came to El Icaco and promptly decided to stay here. The hostel was right in front of the beach where you could get up as early as 0500 to see the baby turtle!! We were stayed at a three-beds room at a very reasonable price. The room was large, with bathroom and fan. There was housekeeping everyday. It took us about 8 minutes walk to the centre. The owner was very nice and offering some good dining suggestion for us. We love this place.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the two rooms upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HKGHola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    171
    52
    7
    5
See reviews for
58
167
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

Peace and calm at this hotel.
Good breakfast.
Mr. Calixto, the owner, was very friendly and helped us in everything we needed.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vickytch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

My husband and I LOVED this place! It was an ideal location right on the (very secluded) beach, a short walk to the small "town" and to the national park. The rooms are simple, but very clean and comfortable. The mattresses are not as thin as they look in photos. Calixto is a wonderful host, full of information about the area. Breakfast of fruit, eggs and amazing fresh-squeezed juice was perfect. The power went out on the whole island one morning while we were there, but it didn't matter. The attraction of Tortuguero is everything you can do outdoors. I could have stayed for weeks. Actually, I could live there!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CMurray8301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

We spent 4 days and 3 nights in Tortugero. Hotel El Icaco was very clean, hot water, in room fan, simple but well kept rooms and a great breakfast for an extremely low price. The property is located on the Carribean side and we fell asleep listening to the sounds of the ocean. Staff is very hospitable and friendly. We booked in advance and glad we did, as the hotel was full the majority of our stay. We would recommend this anyone looking for cheap, safe and clean accomodation while visiting Tortugero. Cant wait for our trip back.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoganNiehaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

We stayed here in one room with 3 people for a night and had a great time. There is hot water, the rooms are clean, breakfast was fantastic, and we only paid $15/pp per night. I would gladly stay here again. The one off thing here is that they pressure guests immediately on arrival to buy tours from them without giving them a chance to shop around, but I think they do this because they can't really be making any money from renting the rooms since they give such great breakfasts. I recommend the mangrove tour. The tour guide we had from this hotel found us some incredible animals (a boat-billed heron!) and was very knowledgeable about the local history and flora and fauna. I wish we could have stayed longer. The place was also right on the beach which was gorgeous.

Room Tip: Reserve your space in advance, they book up and you can't really book extra days once you're...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MyteachermsF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utila
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

What a nice place to stay, we met Ricardo in Cariari when he was waiting for guest & he suggested this hotel. Every day our room was made up, towels made into swans, flowers on the bed. The owners/managment were wonderful with their information & the beach was steps away for sunset beers. Great area to be in, for walking in the bush, night walks for turtles which is always amazing!

Room Tip: Tortugero is definitely worth the trip getting there
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

After a total of three and a half weeks on the Pacific and Carribean Coast in Panama and Costa Rica this was my best lodging experience. My group of four toured the Island of Tortuguero for lodging and booked one nite despite Calixto and Meybel advising us it would only be for a nite since they were honoring prior reservations. The view of the black sand beach from their comfortable synthetic hammocks won us over.

While lugging our packs and suitcases out during checkout Calixto asked if we had a place to stay. No we didn't. He asked us to lay down and made calls to other hotels and cabins as we relaxed on his hammocks and sipped guarro and Squirt. We checked out the other three beach front hotels and stayed at Princessa de Mar and slapped boxed cockroaches, ants, huge jumping spiders, and moths all nite.

We searched the island and only found a better hotel but it cost about four and half times more per nite. $50 a nite was too rich for our blood so luckily Hotel de Icaco had two rooms for us.

The view and lodging are great but Calixto and Meybel are available for hotel services or other needs. They booked my friends flight out of Tortuguero to San Jose and set up water taxi services. After travel agencies and other hotels failing, Carlixto schooled it.

There little son looks delicious. Hahaha. They have a beautiful family.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank panacea662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
4.1 km away
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
#1 of 9 in Tortuguero
5.0 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
0.4 km away
La Baula Lodge
La Baula Lodge
#3 of 9 in Tortuguero
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.4 km away
Manatus Hotel
Manatus Hotel
#2 of 9 in Tortuguero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Tortuguero Natural
Hotel Tortuguero Natural
#3 of 7 in Tortuguero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.4 km away
Cabinas Paisajes del Tortuguero
0.2 km away
Aracari Garden Hostel
Aracari Garden Hostel
#1 of 7 in Tortuguero
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero

Property: Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero
Address: 200 mtr south from the soccer field | Tortuguero Village, Tortuguero 10001, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Tortuguero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on the beach with: Free WIFI, hot water, fans, room with satellite TV, hammock ranch, laundry services, telephone & fax services, restaurant services, tour information, secure, and most importantly very clean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing