We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful time!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tortuguero Jungle Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tortuguero Jungle Lodge
Leura, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful time!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2011

My husband, daughter and I stayed at the Laguna Lodge for two nights. While the rooms were not luxurious, they were clean and adequate and there was certainly plenty of hot water in the showers.
The hotel grounds are beautiful, with plenty of the local fauna to be seen. We found the staff, starting with our guide, very helpful and knowledgeable.
The food was fresh and nice, although I wouldn't call it gourmet tucker. The tours around the canals were comprehensive and we saw plenty of the existing wildlife.
All together, we had a wonderful time and would happily recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dakina888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    11
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
12
18
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
miami
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2009

The tours were very informative and the staff was out of this world. This is not a hotel for you 5 start people, but if you love great service and being close to nature this is the place to go.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kapmanish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jensan00
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2009

The lodge was decent. But it's in the middle of the jungle so what do you expect. The rooms are very old and rustic. No glass on the windows, so you will hear everything, especially if you're a lite sleeper like me. The food was basic, limited choices. The town wasn't much to look at and not much to do. It rained most of the time I was there, but that just added to the adventure. If you have next to nothing very very basic needs, this place is suffient.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank jensan00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2007

Oh gosh where do I begin? We'll lets start: DONT GO HERE.
The napkins are recylced over the dinner shifts. The glasses in which the welcome drinks are served as well. Luckily we were the first ones to arrive that day. We tried to warn people...
The hotel was severely overbooked and form a relatively clean location we were placed at an equal value hotel.. (equal value yeah as soon as diamonds compare to pebbels) we got stuck in a place with rat poo in our bathroom. A ceiling fan that was so filty, stuff would fly off when turned on, severley stained sheets and cold showers (photo's to proove). The Jungle logde management didnt give antything about us and deliberately overbooked 37 people. A good way to make extra money..
Really this hotel needs new management that when overkbooked selects better equal value and actually lives up to its promises. Our jungle bout tour of 4 hours was reduced to 1,5 hours. The promised extra cleaning of the alternative hotelrooms was never performed.. People really if you want to stay healthy, do not go here.

  • Liked — The boat ride out of there
  • Disliked — the management, and unclean rooms
  • Stayed July 2007
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank FLIEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF Bay Area
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2007

Our family visited this lodge in October of 2006. Our stay was very memorable from the people we met, the wonderful local cuisine, the wildlife, the sun, to the friendly staff and tour guides. We couldn't have asked for a better experience at the lodge. The Jungle Lodge is the best way to get the full experience, and out of all of the ten or so lodge/resorts, the Jungle Lodge was found to be the best al around.

Our family strongly reccommends the Jungle Lodge to be part of your Costa Rican experience. If you are looking for a spa, 5 star restaurant/bar and a filet mignon, then this could possibly not be the place for you, but if you're looking for a clean facilities, happy staff, good pina coladas and local cusine, then this is the place to go.

We had no problems with anything except losing our luggage (due to a mishap by US Airways in Texas, and the only help we got was from the airport staff in Limon!!!!) or the food, water or anything, only the howling of the monkies at 7am if you call that a problem

... pura vida!
(ask the locals!)

Have a wonderful trip!

  • Liked — The friendly staff and acess to exciting wildlife and nature
  • Disliked — The length of time to get to the accomadation and water shutting off at 10pm
  • Stayed October 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tearose412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2007

We spent three days and two nights in the jungle just across the river from the village of Tortuguero . We took a bus from San Jose to the drop off point by the river where a boat picked us up for the 2 hour trip to the Jungle Lodge. The last part of the road was all rocks and holes so it was great to finally arrive and take a boat . However our boat was over an hour late in arriving to pick us up so we were beginning to wonder if we were ever going to get underway.
Along the way, we stopped whenever there were any wildlife to view ( e.g. crocodiles, caymen, various birds,etc). We were also lucky that it had stopped raining during this part of the journey.
The accommodation is quite plan and simple. They are one storey buildings and you have a bedroom and a bathroom with simple furnishings. There are screened windows and wooden louvers . Noise is a bit of an issue as you can hear anyone next door and outside as there are no windows. There is a dining room and a bar which provide ample food and socializing. The pool is small but suitable for the location.
The best part of the stay was experiencing the jungle. Right next to us was a family of howler monkeys and in a small stream was a cayman. The lodge also took us on a walk through the jungle and provided us with rubber boots as the trail is quite muddy. However we all enjoyed it immensely.They also took us on an open boat trip into the National Park and again this was wonderful as we saw many species of birds and many caymen. One of the highlights was that it started to rain while we were in the open boats.( rather, it really poured). The driver had to bail water and we all got wet inspite of wearing the yellow rain coats provided by the lodge. It was so intense, we could only laugh as we couldn't see in front of us for about 30 minutes.( By the way, it rains every day in this part of Costa Rica). The lodge also took us to Tortuguero just across the river so we could visit a small jungle community and also get a chance to walk on the beach on the Caribbean side of Costa Rica.
We didn't drink the water at the Lodge as we weren't certain it had been tested. This is the only place in Costa Rica where we didn't drink the water from the tap.The other suggestion we made about our stay was to provide life jackets for people in the boats as we were in the open boats with no life jackets. Our boat did have motor problems and we drifted for a while until another boat came by to offer assistance.
Earlier I mentioned noise could be an issue at the Lodge but it is also a benefit as you can hear the sounds of the jungle as you lay in bed. All in all , with the wildlife, the rain, the sounds and sites, we did expereince the jungle even if it was only for a couple of days.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Safety issues
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dennis07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2006

Our welcome to the Jungle Lodge was our tour guide telling us of previous groups catching a very severe dose of Montezuma's revenge and to not drink the water, not even the ice. We stopped to buy bottled water at a grocery store. We were also told to ask about the Butterfly Farm as it was a part of our package and other tours had not received it. The answer from our guide, Fransisco was that it was in the back of the Lodge. He did not mention that it was only accessible by boat, and when we did force him to take us, it was the lamest butterfly farm we'd ever seen.

All four of our party developed the trots by the next day. Two of us have had symptoms ever since and it is five days since our stay. We have missed many wonderful meals at other hotels and have had much stress worrying about the locality of washrooms. We sense that the water supply as well as the food are contaminated.

If you do decide to go bring your own food and water. You need enough water to fill the toilet at night when they shut-off the pump.

Bon Voyage... and good luck!

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank CanadianTico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
3.1 km away
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
#1 of 9 in Tortuguero
5.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
1.2 km away
La Baula Lodge
La Baula Lodge
#3 of 9 in Tortuguero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
1.2 km away
Rana Roja Lodge
Rana Roja Lodge
#10 of 35 in Tortuguero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Mawamba Lodge
Mawamba Lodge
#3 of 35 in Tortuguero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
2.0 km away
Laguna Lodge Tortuguero
Laguna Lodge Tortuguero
#2 of 35 in Tortuguero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
0.1 km away
Evergreen Lodge
Evergreen Lodge
#1 of 35 in Tortuguero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tortuguero Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tortuguero Jungle Lodge

Property: Tortuguero Jungle Lodge
Address: Tortuguero National Park, Tortuguero 70205, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Tortuguero
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tortuguero Jungle Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Tortuguero Jungle Hotel Tortuguero
Jungle Lodge Tortuguero
Tortuguero Jungle Lodge Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing