We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (10)
Filter reviews
10 results
Traveller rating
3
3
0
0
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
3
3
0
0
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 10 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2014

I'm not sure whether I should start with the the roofs that leaked in several of the six rooms they have, or mention the fact that we didn't have hot water for the first two days of our trip or begin with the drywall and paint chipped off of the walls of my room in 14 separate spots. Then again, I could start with the screened windows with no glass in my room or the room upstairs with glass windows and no screens or perhaps the dining pavilion where 4 of the 12 light bulbs worked inside filthy light fixtures. I have pictures to prove all of this should anyone ask. The rooms have no chairs for sitting, some have neither a closet nor shelves. The beds are simple bed frames with mattresses and no box springs or mattress pads. We were given no shampoo for showers and a thin towel each day. I wasn't expecting high-end but I was expecting humane. We also battled plumbing problems the entire week we were there.

I will say that the staff does the best they can with the few resources the owner appears to give them. The staff is friendly and attentive. The food, although not spectacular, is adequate. The open and free cerveza bar they claim to have is nothing more than a refrigerator the guests have access to 24x7. We frequently had to ask the staff to restock beer, waters and juices. We also experienced mechanical problems with two of the boats on different occasions.

The fishing was decent although we got conflicting stories as to when the best time was to go. The lodge owner told us early November while others at the lodge told us the best fishing was in September. Upon our arrival in early November, many of the other lodges in the area were surprisingly quiet. We paid a heck of a lot of money and didn't come close to getting an equal value in return.

Be aware that if it's too rough to get out past the breakers and you can't fish, there's no cable TV, no internet, no phones or entertainment of any kind available.

Room Tip: By best advice on how to obtain a good room? DON'T STAY THERE!
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank MIT629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Be careful when dealing with this lodge. They offer a special. Then after you book hotels and air fare, they say that what is offered is incorrect, and double the price. When you call they confirm special. Say they will send invoice, then bait and switch.

Typical bait and switch

Room Tip: don't go Call us at 602-321-0489 wii give details
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank laura m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Jungle Tarpon Lodge is an excellent place to go! My Uncle Mike and friend Mark Grisham traveled there at the beginning of October and stayed 3 nights. We had zero complaints and many good stories to come back with from there. The fishing,food, and service was top notch. Angelo is the best captain I have ever had and I have been on a lot of fishing trips. Thank you
Colin Juliette-Missouri

Room Tip: all the rooms were nice
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 8, 2011

We just returned from a visit to the Jungle Tarpon Lodge in Costa Rica (11/2011) and it was awesome. Angelo the lodge manager was an extremely helpful and knowledgeable fishing guide. Although our trip was mainly for fishing we found the river blown out and Tarpon not so hungry so Angelo took us on a trip through the jungle via boat and a tour of his village, Parsimina. And the food was just as advertised, wholesome, healthy and great tasting. The entire staff could not have been more helpful and the accommodations were great. The only hiccup on our trip was when we arrived in San Jose our luggage did not but Angelo convinced us to travel to the lodge and he would handle the luggage issue and he did. It was delivered to the lodge later that evening.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Worf W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 23, 2011

there is no place for a zero rating. totally false advertising. room only had 2 beds and a table,no chairs and was lit by 2 incandescant bulbs,and a reading light. bathroom was moldy,dirty,and one bulb for light. no curtains on bathroom windows,and the room had thin,poor quality ones that barely stopped the light. we had beans and rice 11 of 12 meals, coimmercial spaghetti the other. advertised as lobster,fresh fish, etc. we had porkchops twice,chicken enchiladas,and the commercial spaghetti for our 4 dinners.the 100 acres is really about 2 that are accessible to you. NO POOL> the lagoon is a muddy inlet off the very muddy river and is barely big enough for the boat.,however small they were. fishing was in 1 approx 14ft jon boat and you had to sit in 3-5 ft breakers to fish,or troll in the river,where we were run off by armed park guards. ocean fishing in a small boat,no live well,a d smelled of gas fumes the entire time.happy hour was advertised.we had none.just 2 bottles of vodka(one flavored),no mix,one type of beer,and no hors d'oerves as advertised.there is so much more,but if you value your dollars and vacation time dont waste it on this dive.the same folks own great alaska fishing, and i would be leary of them also.you talk to the same guy no matter which you choose.wish someone had warned us.

Room Tip: sure.dont book any of them and save yourself.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank hugh s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, General Manager at Jungle Tarpon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2011

Following a low price Two for One trip, a writer wrote a tough review of our lodge. Earlier and later TA reviews of the same trip gave us 4 & 5 out of 5 stars. Our prices are about 60% of the nearby competition. The guest said nothing while at the lodge & tipped well. The writer demanded a 50% refund or threatened derogatory postings on TA. We proffered a refund of $420. The refund was refused and he turned the complaint into American Express, which denied his claim. He turned the complaint in again to American Express and it was again denied. He cashed the refund check. He then sent a follow up e mail demanding $2000, not $420. He offered to send no further bad reviews and to rescind the subject review if he received the $2000.
I think that says it all. We have built our reputation on customer service, including refunds when justified. We thought it only fair that we post the Rest of the Story.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews