We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Honeymoon”
Review of Villa Caletas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Caletas
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 28 March 2012

My husband and I loved the hotel. We stayed in the Junior Suite Superior for our honeymoon, which had its own private pool. The maid service was excellent. Our room and pool were cleaned daily. The food at the hotel was excellent. We never had a bad meal. The hotel pool, beach, and ampitheater was beautiful!! We watched the sunset from the pool and the restuarant on numerous occations, which was very romantic and very pretty. The hotel had a conierge, which we book all our excursion trips through. I recommend Los Suenos Canopy Tours! Also, we bought a bag of the Costa Rican coffee- Peabody, which is delicious. If you are a coffee drinker then you should deff. buy a bag. Overall, we had a wonderful trip. Everyone was friendly and spoke really good english and we learned some spanish. It was a great expenience and this hotel and staff were really amazing.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
27  Thank Lacey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2012

Dear friends, thank you for your comments, We feel glad you could enjoy the "Perfect Honeymoon" at the Hotel. As you were saying our staff strive to go the extra mile so our guests feel unique. Service is definitively one of the core element of the Villa Caletas experience. We hope to see you soon. Best regards.
manager@villacaletas.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

804 - 810 of 1,345 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2012

From the moment you leave the highway and drive up a long road clinging to the ridgetop with sheer drop offs on either side (just THINK what effort went into just building the road!) before you even get to the hotel, you know you're in for something special. This is one of our very favorite places. As local homeowners, we have been here numerous times, and it is always special. The view is knock-your-socks-off, the food is excellent, the decor exquisite, the service is just right. The elegance and refinement of the entire property is something rare and special in Costa Rica. The French influence is apparent. No detail has been overlooked. Our personal favorite is El Anfiteatro, where you can dine in open air with that view. We can't wait to come back and enjoy the musical performances in the amphitheatre. Make sure to take a peek at the infinity pool and don't miss the excellent hotel gift shop.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
29  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2012

Dear Friends, thank you very much for your kind words. All our staff feel proud of being able to give patrons like you the best they can. We hope to see you back very soon.
Best regards. manager@villacaletas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

This is a review of the restaurant only, not the hotel. In short when visiting this part of Costa Rica you HAVE to see the sunset from Villa Caletas. This place was literally built to enjoy the sunset and the view is spectacular. We did walk around the grounds and they were quite nice, infinity pools were invented for setting such as this.

The food was just average and overpriced. You are definitely paying for the view more than the food or its preparation. The staff was quite friendly and offered to take our picture several times. The wait staff was attentive and the food would have been fine if it was about 25% less expensive.

The best value would be to simply stop by for drinks and enjoy the sunset.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank w m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2012

Dear friends thank you very much for your nice words. we are happy that you enjoyed the amazing view . On the other hand, you suggest that our prices are very high, i just wanted to underline
(prices and menus can be check on our web site) that we are in the same exact range of price as the restaurants of Los sueños marina, the los sueños Marriott, or the restaurant nearby Jaco. I encourage you to check our Neighbours's web site (our prices come with all taxes included) so you can have a better idea about it. Best regards,
manager@villacaletas.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We listened to the reviews and went to Villa Caletas for our anniversary dinner. We were not disappointed. A fairly large crowd shows up at the bar to watch the sunset, but dinner reservations were not overcrowded. The views were amazing. The staff was willing to take pictures of us at sunset (and very good ones). The wine list was good and reasonably priced. The food was amazing. We had seafood, which was excellent. The local lobster risotto was out of this world. We were surprised with a personalized dessert from the staff at the end of the meal commemorating our anniversary. It was one of the most memorable dinners we've had.

Room Tip: We only attended the restaurant, but the resort looked very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
33  Thank Iam3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2012

Dear Friends thank you very much for your review. We are happy to know you had such a great night on that special occasion. We hope to see you back with us.
Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

I just loved this hotel and the views... the experience was really great. Now the food on the other hand was just ok... but still worht staying there!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
25  Thank Inspecterwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2012

Dear Friend thank you very much for your commnets. best regards.
manager@villacaletas.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

At first glance this hotel is beautiful with stunning views. It is build like an Italian Colonial mansion on a steep hill with a stunning panoramic view of the sea. The hotel is filled with artefacts and the doors are all wide open letting the wind blow through.

At first glance our room was lovely with a balcony with a stunning view. There are a lot of bugs in the hotel partly because all the doors are open but this is part of the charm of Costa Rica.

The infinity pool is also stunning. One of the most beautiful in Costa Rica.

This is when the wonderful stops and it begins to sink in that not all is as it seems.

The staff, with exception of the bellboys, are unfriendly and unsmiling. Nearly all of the Hotels we had had experience with very friendly staff . When on holiday its nice to have smiling friendly staff to say hello to. Not here. Most of the waiters did not speak English and had no wine knowledge at all. They seemed to be told to only advise wines of around 200 USD !

The food was a rip off. Cheap products, unrefined and tasteless for prices that made your eyes water. We don’t mind paying for good food and have eaten very well in the Grano de Oro hotel in San Jose and in other hotels that are part of the same chain of hotels. The food at this hotel is a disgrace. The American breakfast was inedible and was not fit for human consumption. The toast was made of old cheap white bread that was so old that when it was toasted it turned into crackers so dry. The roti potatoes was so rancid it should not have been put on the plate. The eggs where inedible. We should have known that something was wrong as we were the only ones eating breakfast in this beautiful outdoor breakfast room.

The lunch was slightly better but with a menu of buffalo wings, chicken sandwich with French fries and a choice of 3 different hamburgers this is not quality of menu you expect from this style of hotel. Nor the prices you pay. The dinner was slightly better but not worth the money. We ended up paying 500 usd for food and drinks for a 2 day stay!! And we didn’t buy bottles of champagne or expensive bottles of wine and our breakfast was included in our room rate! A real rip off.

Why didn’t we go some where else to eat? Partly because the hotel is on a very steep hill which is not lit at night and Jaco turns out to be not the nicest of areas. We also had specially chosen this hotel as it was originally a restaurant and part of the chain Small Distinctive Hotels of Costa Rica. We have been to three others and they are perfect.

One of the other real irritations is that the panoramic Amphitheatre they boast about where you can sip a (disgusting) cocktail while watching the sunset is open to the public. This means while you are sitting romantically with your partner watching the sunset busloads of tours of youngsters , and older men with young looking costician girls in hoards come to watch it with you while snapping pictures of the hotel swimming pool. It is also specially closed off for paying bus tours to enjoy the view while paying hotel guests have to sit by the small but beautiful pool while the tourist gaup at you taking pictures.

This hotel is a disgrace to the small distinctive hotels of Costa Rica. The Conte Nast travel magazine may have taken pictures of it but they obviously did not stay here nor eat here!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank GLJDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2012

Dear Friend, thank you very much for your review. I am sad you could not enjoy the Hotel and all of our services they way they should have been. As you acknowledge the hotel is a very special place and i beleive that all our staff from the main gate to the spa knowing that we are that special strive to give the best service they can. Concerning your comments over our restaurants i invite you to check our menus online on our website, and you will see that we have more that 40 menu options for lunch and the same for diner in our restaurant. You will find light appetizers, salads, soups, main courses, pastas and even vegetarian options, ( not just three options of burgers). I would also like to underline the fact that during all our restaurant opening hour we have a Maitre Ds that goes to each and every tables to check with our guests that everything is in order. As to inforce even more our quality during service, we give each and every guest a little survey at the end of their meal where then can comment not only the quality of our service but the food and other important points. To give our guests another option to judge us, we ask each and every of them to filled a review during the check out where once again they can let us know there feed back. On a final note, you seems to be a savy traveler, and therefore the type of person that allways share problems ( when they come to level you discribed) with general management. I just find hard to understand how, as the director of this hotel and during than more than 48 hours i was never to speak and listen to you, share your concerns and find solutions. Best regards.
manager@villacaletas.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

This place is an experience, from the moment you leave the highway and start up the long winding driveway to the spectacular setting overlooking the Pacific Coast. Yes, the sunsets are a little better from the hotel's amphitheater; tourists staying elsewhere show up in busloads at dusk and applaud at the end. Not your cookie-cutter destination resort.
Most every room is a free-standing unit set into the tropical forest rather than in landscaping. One of the walls was floor-to-ceiling glass out to the balcony and jacuzzi. We seemed to get a nice breeze at all times of day. Toucans like certain trees around the property, probably for the fruit, we figured out which ones.
Downside is it's not near much, there is the Carara forest reserve nearby, great for hiking, and the surfer town of Jaco, bad for dining, which meant all meals were at the hotel. Liked the casual restaurant better than the formal--outstanding gazpacho and ceviche for lunch. Warning if you don't or can't climb: We counted 115 steps from our room to the restaurant

Room Tip: Get an ocean-view room Find out how much climbing is involved to get there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
30  Thank EmilDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2012

Dear Friends, thank you for your kind words. We are happy to know you had a great time with us and enjoy the Villa Caletas experience. Its all about ralaxing, just feeling the light breeze and watching the nature around !!. We hope to see back soon. Best regards.
manager@villacaletas.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaco
3.6 km away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
5.6 km away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 41 in Jaco
583 reviews
8.4 km away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 km away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
7.7 km away
Best Western Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
1.5 km away
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
#1 of 2 in Punta Leona
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Caletas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Caletas

Address: 2 km after Punta Leona | Herradura, Jaco 12358-1000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#2 Family Hotel in Jaco
#2 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#2 Luxury Hotel in Jaco
#4 Business Hotel in Jaco
Price Range: $208 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Caletas 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Caletas, a luxury romantic boutique hotel inspired by tropical Victorian architecture with a touch of neo-classical influence shining like a jewel among resorts, prized not only for its location, design and décor, but also for its outstanding facilities and first class service. Villa Caletas expresses a truly unique combination of mountain and seaside resort. Nestled 1150 feet above the Pacific Ocean, this unique hotel overlooks the Nicoya Gulf to the crescent beaches of Jaco, Herradura offering spectacular 360-degree panoramic views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Villa Caletas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Caletas Hotel Jaco
Caletas Hotel Herradura
Villa Caletas Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing