We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing View, Average Experience”
Review of Villa Caletas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Villa Caletas
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing View, Average Experience”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We recently stayed at Villa Caletas as one stop of many in our stay in Costa Rica. The sunset views are spectacular and the grounds are very nice, but overall our experience was disappointing. If you have any desire to spend time in Jaco this is not the place for you, it is a $40 round trip cab fare away. It does have a private beach, but it is mostly rocky and doesn't measure up to some other more beautiful and sandy beaches in Jaco and neighboring areas close by. We also found members of the staff, specifically the front desk to be the least friendly and inviting people we encountered in our 10 day trip. Overall, the resort comes across a lot more pretentious and impressed with itself then we thought was warranted. With all of the wonderful places you could stay in Costa RIca we think you can do better.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Friends, thank you for your comments. We feel a bit sad that you did not enjoy our private beach, as you are saying it is not as sandy as other beach around, but it will be hard to find the privacy and the tranquility that offer Villa Caletas beach. It is the perfect spot to relax and enjoy a cockail far away from the sound of the world. We have paid close attention to your comments over our front desk staff, and are working over to give our guest the best service they deserve.
Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    921
    223
    92
    62
    27
See reviews for
204
770
32
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

My husband and I have now stayed at Villa Caletas for the second time, which was just as perfect and beautiful as we remembered from our trip there in 2009. We had an amazing experience in both the Master Suite which is a cottage at the bottom of several flights of stairs (but well worth the walk for the view and private inifinity pool on deck) and the Junior Superior Suite (which is more modern, air conditioned, and had a private jacuzzi on deck.

VC is a great location, their grounds are fantastic and the food at their restaurant was fine. However, my opinion is that their staff is really what makes this place work... every waiter I had was careful, attentive (at times we even had 2-3 waiters at a time), and very gracious. The concierge is very helpful with excursions and even helped us book a last minute excursion only an hour ahead of time. My only complaint with this hotel is that I can't come back every year... WELL worth the money for an amazing vacation surrounded by a breathtaking country. Note that during our first vacation we went in October (rainy season) and this last time we went in March (end of the dry season). Both times we were able to do a wide arrange of activities and excursions.

Room Tip: The new building rooms (Junior Superior Suites) have great A/C which is unusual in CR; and if you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
28 Thank Lani J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your kind words. We do hope to see you again with us and this timeyou might want to try one of our incredible suites at the Zephyr Palace. I am sure you will love it !!. Have a great day .
Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

My husband and I loved the hotel. We stayed in the Junior Suite Superior for our honeymoon, which had its own private pool. The maid service was excellent. Our room and pool were cleaned daily. The food at the hotel was excellent. We never had a bad meal. The hotel pool, beach, and ampitheater was beautiful!! We watched the sunset from the pool and the restuarant on numerous occations, which was very romantic and very pretty. The hotel had a conierge, which we book all our excursion trips through. I recommend Los Suenos Canopy Tours! Also, we bought a bag of the Costa Rican coffee- Peabody, which is delicious. If you are a coffee drinker then you should deff. buy a bag. Overall, we had a wonderful trip. Everyone was friendly and spoke really good english and we learned some spanish. It was a great expenience and this hotel and staff were really amazing.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
27 Thank Lacey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear friends, thank you for your comments, We feel glad you could enjoy the "Perfect Honeymoon" at the Hotel. As you were saying our staff strive to go the extra mile so our guests feel unique. Service is definitively one of the core element of the Villa Caletas experience. We hope to see you soon. Best regards.
manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

From the moment you leave the highway and drive up a long road clinging to the ridgetop with sheer drop offs on either side (just THINK what effort went into just building the road!) before you even get to the hotel, you know you're in for something special. This is one of our very favorite places. As local homeowners, we have been here numerous times, and it is always special. The view is knock-your-socks-off, the food is excellent, the decor exquisite, the service is just right. The elegance and refinement of the entire property is something rare and special in Costa Rica. The French influence is apparent. No detail has been overlooked. Our personal favorite is El Anfiteatro, where you can dine in open air with that view. We can't wait to come back and enjoy the musical performances in the amphitheatre. Make sure to take a peek at the infinity pool and don't miss the excellent hotel gift shop.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
29 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your kind words. All our staff feel proud of being able to give patrons like you the best they can. We hope to see you back very soon.
Best regards. manager@villacaletas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

This is a review of the restaurant only, not the hotel. In short when visiting this part of Costa Rica you HAVE to see the sunset from Villa Caletas. This place was literally built to enjoy the sunset and the view is spectacular. We did walk around the grounds and they were quite nice, infinity pools were invented for setting such as this.

The food was just average and overpriced. You are definitely paying for the view more than the food or its preparation. The staff was quite friendly and offered to take our picture several times. The wait staff was attentive and the food would have been fine if it was about 25% less expensive.

The best value would be to simply stop by for drinks and enjoy the sunset.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank w m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Dear friends thank you very much for your nice words. we are happy that you enjoyed the amazing view . On the other hand, you suggest that our prices are very high, i just wanted to underline
(prices and menus can be check on our web site) that we are in the same exact range of price as the restaurants of Los sueños marina, the los sueños Marriott, or the restaurant nearby Jaco. I encourage you to check our Neighbours's web site (our prices come with all taxes included) so you can have a better idea about it. Best regards,
manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We listened to the reviews and went to Villa Caletas for our anniversary dinner. We were not disappointed. A fairly large crowd shows up at the bar to watch the sunset, but dinner reservations were not overcrowded. The views were amazing. The staff was willing to take pictures of us at sunset (and very good ones). The wine list was good and reasonably priced. The food was amazing. We had seafood, which was excellent. The local lobster risotto was out of this world. We were surprised with a personalized dessert from the staff at the end of the meal commemorating our anniversary. It was one of the most memorable dinners we've had.

Room Tip: We only attended the restaurant, but the resort looked very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
33 Thank Iam3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Dear Friends thank you very much for your review. We are happy to know you had such a great night on that special occasion. We hope to see you back with us.
Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crescent City, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

I just loved this hotel and the views... the experience was really great. Now the food on the other hand was just ok... but still worht staying there!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
25 Thank Inspecterwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Dear Friend thank you very much for your commnets. best regards.
manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaco
5.6 km away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 41 in Jaco
576 reviews
3.6 km away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
8.4 km away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 km away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
7.7 km away
Best Western Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
0.3 km away
Zephyr Palace Luxury Rental Mansion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Caletas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Caletas

Property: Villa Caletas
Address: 2 km after Punta Leona | Herradura, Jaco 12358-1000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#2 Luxury Hotel in Jaco
#2 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#2 Family Hotel in Jaco
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#4 Business Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Caletas 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Caletas, a luxury romantic boutique hotel inspired by tropical Victorian architecture with a touch of neo-classical influence shining like a jewel among resorts, prized not only for its location, design and décor, but also for its outstanding facilities and first class service. Villa Caletas expresses a truly unique combination of mountain and seaside resort. Nestled 1150 feet above the Pacific Ocean, this unique hotel overlooks the Nicoya Gulf to the crescent beaches of Jaco, Herradura offering spectacular 360-degree panoramic views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Caletas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Caletas Hotel Jaco
Caletas Hotel Herradura
Villa Caletas Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing