We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Spectacular Sunsets” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Caletas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Caletas
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Thunder Bay
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Spectacular Sunsets”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

We did not stay at this hotel but visit to see the sunset. The hotel is close to Jaco & Punta Leona & has a beautiful setting looking over the ocean. They have built an amphitheatre for viewing the sunsets. It is worth the trip to see this. You can go just for a drink, they don't charge to get in but the drink prices are a bit hefty, ( $8 for a margurita) but it's well worth it. We stayed for dinner & it was great. The hotel is on top of a hill so it's quite the drive up & lots of stairs to manuever but everything here is first class. Our meal was probably around $100US for two people.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
29 Thank EscapeTBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Friends, thank you for your nice review. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the amazing view and a wonderful dinner. We hope to see you back soon and discover our rooms and the Villa Caletas experience !!. Best regards, manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    806
    208
    84
    59
    26
See reviews for
181
689
29
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

What a great 6 days we had at Villa Caletas. Our room overlooked the trees down to the sea, and overhead the birds soared. On my wife's birthday, we saw toucans in the trees outside. It was absolutely magical. The whole service in the hotel was first class, especially the guys who drove us down to the beach, and then the guys who looked after us there. The sound of the ocean, and comfortable lounger under the trees and a cold drink. What more could you ask for.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
24 Thank Geoff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear friends thank you for your kind words. It is true that the view is just amazing, and it gets even better when you think about all the toucans and wilde life that can be seen from you own private balcony. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

The place is great to relax, views are great I will say the best in the central pacific of Costa Rica, public areas, are great. food is excellent. The beach is not the best in the area, And is better, if you drive in your own car.
Staff service very good.
Rooms are ok, but there is a wide variety of rooms, that fits all standars.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Oscartico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear firnds, thank you vety much for your very nice comments.
Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

My husband and I stayed in the African Suite at Zephyr Palace and it was incredible, we had a private breakfast area just for guests staying at e palace, which is only 7 suites. We were always alone. The food was incredible! Thoroughly enjoyed the palace pool as well, with a butler waiting there to bring you drinks, food, anything you would like. The experience could not have been more intimate and relaxing. A true escape into the mountains overlooking the ocean. our favorite part was the hammock and hot tub on our private balcony. Al, you can hear is the tropical birds and the sound of the ocean waves crashing into the bottom of the mountain. The sound would slowly echo up to our room. We can't wait to go back! Well worth the money!

Room Tip: Zephyr Palace is significantly more expensive however if you want an intimate private and luxurious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Brittany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your kind words. As you said we want our guests to have the most intimate and relaxing experience. We hope to have you back soon with us.
Best regards. manager@villacaletas,com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

We recently stayed at Villa Caletas as one stop of many in our stay in Costa Rica. The sunset views are spectacular and the grounds are very nice, but overall our experience was disappointing. If you have any desire to spend time in Jaco this is not the place for you, it is a $40 round trip cab fare away. It does have a private beach, but it is mostly rocky and doesn't measure up to some other more beautiful and sandy beaches in Jaco and neighboring areas close by. We also found members of the staff, specifically the front desk to be the least friendly and inviting people we encountered in our 10 day trip. Overall, the resort comes across a lot more pretentious and impressed with itself then we thought was warranted. With all of the wonderful places you could stay in Costa RIca we think you can do better.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Friends, thank you for your comments. We feel a bit sad that you did not enjoy our private beach, as you are saying it is not as sandy as other beach around, but it will be hard to find the privacy and the tranquility that offer Villa Caletas beach. It is the perfect spot to relax and enjoy a cockail far away from the sound of the world. We have paid close attention to your comments over our front desk staff, and are working over to give our guest the best service they deserve.
Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

My husband and I have now stayed at Villa Caletas for the second time, which was just as perfect and beautiful as we remembered from our trip there in 2009. We had an amazing experience in both the Master Suite which is a cottage at the bottom of several flights of stairs (but well worth the walk for the view and private inifinity pool on deck) and the Junior Superior Suite (which is more modern, air conditioned, and had a private jacuzzi on deck.

VC is a great location, their grounds are fantastic and the food at their restaurant was fine. However, my opinion is that their staff is really what makes this place work... every waiter I had was careful, attentive (at times we even had 2-3 waiters at a time), and very gracious. The concierge is very helpful with excursions and even helped us book a last minute excursion only an hour ahead of time. My only complaint with this hotel is that I can't come back every year... WELL worth the money for an amazing vacation surrounded by a breathtaking country. Note that during our first vacation we went in October (rainy season) and this last time we went in March (end of the dry season). Both times we were able to do a wide arrange of activities and excursions.

Room Tip: The new building rooms (Junior Superior Suites) have great A/C which is unusual in CR; and if you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
28 Thank Lani J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your kind words. We do hope to see you again with us and this timeyou might want to try one of our incredible suites at the Zephyr Palace. I am sure you will love it !!. Have a great day .
Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

My husband and I loved the hotel. We stayed in the Junior Suite Superior for our honeymoon, which had its own private pool. The maid service was excellent. Our room and pool were cleaned daily. The food at the hotel was excellent. We never had a bad meal. The hotel pool, beach, and ampitheater was beautiful!! We watched the sunset from the pool and the restuarant on numerous occations, which was very romantic and very pretty. The hotel had a conierge, which we book all our excursion trips through. I recommend Los Suenos Canopy Tours! Also, we bought a bag of the Costa Rican coffee- Peabody, which is delicious. If you are a coffee drinker then you should deff. buy a bag. Overall, we had a wonderful trip. Everyone was friendly and spoke really good english and we learned some spanish. It was a great expenience and this hotel and staff were really amazing.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
27 Thank Lacey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear friends, thank you for your comments, We feel glad you could enjoy the "Perfect Honeymoon" at the Hotel. As you were saying our staff strive to go the extra mile so our guests feel unique. Service is definitively one of the core element of the Villa Caletas experience. We hope to see you soon. Best regards.
manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaco
5.1 km away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
7.7 km away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 km away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
2.5 km away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
6.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Caletas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Caletas

Property: Villa Caletas
Address: 2 km after Punta Leona | Herradura, Jaco 12358-1000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#2 Family Hotel in Jaco
#2 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#2 Luxury Hotel in Jaco
#4 Business Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Caletas 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Caletas, a luxury romantic boutique hotel inspired by tropical Victorian architecture with a touch of neo-classical influence shining like a jewel among resorts, prized not only for its location, design and décor, but also for its outstanding facilities and first class service. Villa Caletas expresses a truly unique combination of mountain and seaside resort. Nestled 1150 feet above the Pacific Ocean, this unique hotel overlooks the Nicoya Gulf to the crescent beaches of Jaco, Herradura offering spectacular 360-degree panoramic views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Villa Caletas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Caletas Hotel Jaco
Caletas Hotel Herradura
Villa Caletas Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing