We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Truth about Best Western, Jaco Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Jaco
Reviewed 24 April 2009

After traveling to a number of beautiful lodgings across CR, the Jaco Beach Best Western could not hold a candle to the personalized touch of our previous hotels. With that said, there is nowhere in Jaco Beach I would have rather stayed. Jaco Beach can be very scary with prostitutes, pimps, and drug dealers hanging out beneath dim street lamps with no reservation to solicit American tourists. My group and I would usually grab dinner in town and start making our way back to the resort before dark. The resort bar had great drink specials, music, and I felt a lot safer there. The pool was open late and the beach was patrolled by a security guard which helped to limit the number of men, women, and young children pandering 'homemade' jewelry.
The resort does offer a really great menu, I liked the prices at the snack bar, and while the staff wasn't really taking much notice to you being there, they were helpful when it counted. We booked trips at a location down the main street rather than the Grayline Tour Service at the hotel and ended up saving a lot of money. Jaco Beach is a great central location for Manuel Antonio and Tortuga Island trips, but I agree with other reviews that if you want clean, safe, and quieter beaches, head to the Guanacasta region.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teacherlovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (672)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 672 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2009

The property is beautiful. The grounds are well maintained, the pool and beach views are stunning with lovely sunsets. Tennis courts are great, and the property has security. Play areas for children are enticing and the kids can be kept busy for hours. Free internet access is very convenient.

If the condition of the rooms are a factor, it is not a good vacation spot for singles, couples or groups . A musty, moldy, mildew smell permeates, and it is not due to the humidity. The rooms are not designed for comfort. The lighting in the room was terrible and inadequate. There are no amenities. Bring soap, etc., and, if you are used to decent towels, bring those as well. The towels that were provided in the rooms were the equivalent of paper towels. Never seen that in a hotel. Forget about fluffy comfort. The beds are not comfortable. The AC will vary from room to room. The bathroom/shower left much to be desired. Words can't describe it. The fitness is a modified hotel room with 3 machines. There's no room service and everything closes. Strictly no frills. Overall, the rooms were very disappointing. There are some cheap motel rooms that are superior to this establishment. I would only recommend this hotel for spring break.

This hotel was selected because it was right on the beach. The beach might as well not be there. There's no swimming (too dangerous), sports or other activities, no chairs,umbrellas, other shade, or refreshments.

The restaurant is alright for breakfast, but much better is available within walking distance. Meals are served buffet style only, with nightly international themes that kind of miss their mark. The staff in the restaurant treated the customers with distrust, like we were not going to pay. They only came by when the meal was finished and followed us to the door to make sure we paid. There was no real table service so, if you want to order beer, wine or soda, good luck! If you can get the attention of the front desk staff they try to meet your needs but, I also saw them ignore people who were trying to get basic information, like finding the post office. Luck of the draw. The first two days I paid for Internet cafe in town because they could not tell me if there was a computer available in the hotel yet, gladly called for taxi and provided bell service. Pretty amazing stuff. The hotel is not totally ADA compliant so, if you need an elevator, or can't climb stairs, be very clear about that beforehand.

Lastly, although this is might not be entirely the hotel's fault, the mosquitos will make your stay there miserable. The town of Jaco is small, almost quaint. No problems. The people are very friendly and helpful, and there's plenty to see and do.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NYWillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2009

we only stayed for 1 night and it was OK, but I would NOT spend my beach holidays here. there are far much more beautiful beaches and hotels in CR!

the room was very very basic and there were hords of tourist especially at breakfast were you needed to queue for a table!

what is very nice is the beach area in front of the hotel's property: cool waves!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2009

Very few people know that the Best Western in Jaco is an All-Inclusive hotel. Six of us stayed there for six days and were very impressed with the hotel grounds, service, etc.. The staff folks are fantastic. You can do day trips from there, including fishing, Manuel Antonio Park, river trips, jungle trips, etc,. Advice is to fly into San Jose, arrange for a van (internet) to pick you up in San Jose and later pick you up in Jaco for the return trip. Wait until you get there to make your decision on what to do. The "zip line" was super as an example. You can rent a car there if you desire.

1  Thank Jack-TRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2009

First off ewwww this hotel is gross (we stayed at the best western (kamuck) in Quepos in CR and that hotel was beautiful) so we thought the BW in Jaco would be nice as well boy were we wrong. Our first room had ants all over the bath tub I mean a ton of ants then the A/C didn't produce cold air and by the way the A/C was SOOO loud it was hard to sleep. The rooms are not that clean. So we moved to another room and no one offered to help so we had to move ourselves. The next room was not much better I wouldn't even take my flip flops off to take a shower. The pool is so full of sunscreen and no one helps or greets you at the beach. I will NEVER stay at this BW again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lelind1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2009

We stayed here for only 2 nights, and I'm so glad that's all we stayed. The hotel grounds are beautiful. It's right on the beach with a nice pool and nice grassy areas, but when it comes to the rooms, there are a lot of problems. The rooms are in desperate need of some renovations. The floor was coming apart, the bathroom had mildew and rust everywhere and the sink was cracked right down the middle. I was afraid to walk barefoot on the floors. The airconditioner did not work. It just blew air from the outside. I would definetly not recommend staying here. There are other hotels a few blocks down the road which are in much better shape for the same amount of money.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Monica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2008

We stayed at the Best Western in Jaco for Thanksgiving and let me say we had NO PROBLEMS.Our room did not stink or have any mildew in fact we really LOVED the place.The staff was very friendly and they had plenty of security around the place.The a/c worked fine also we had plenty hot water.It located right on the beach and also has a bar in between the pool and beach..Oh we also went walking around Jaco at NIGHT and had no problem so do not beleive those negative reviews.Yes it is a party place but hello you are on vacation have fun lighten up.Two things about the Costaian people ,they are the nicest people and the worst drivers but hey it's their country,so if you did not like Costa Rica stay away then cause I know my wife and I will return to Jaco

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank BandBAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaco
4.6 km away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
2.9 km away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
7.7 km away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 41 in Jaco
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 41 in Jaco
585 reviews
1.3 km away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
0.3 km away
Copacabana Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort

Address: Pastor Diaz Av., Jaco, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range: $192 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Central Pacific region and just an hour and a half away from downtown San José, this beachfront hotel offers a premier experience in one of Costa Rica's favorite beach destinations. This all-inclusive resort provides guests with unlimited food and drinks, as well as exciting activities for all ages, outdoor swimming pools and tennis and volleyball courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Jaco Beach Hotel Jaco
Jaco Best Western
Jaco Beach
Best Western Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing