We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Balcon del Mar
Ranked #34 of 40 Hotels in Jaco
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here two nights as a part of a school group tour and found it to be adequate, especially as far as Costa Rica hotels go.

Great proximity to the town and beach. Beautiful views, especially at sunset.

Rooms were small and clean. Furnishings were outdated and beaten up. Air conditioning was very nice. Pool and bar/restaurant area were pretty.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank paul-delaware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

Horrible service, no hot water and was promised a discount but at check out I didn't get any discount and manager couldn't be contacted. Only 3 start for looks, service and beds are nothing to brag about.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Conthies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The hotel is right in front of the ocean which is prime location. 2 blocks from the main strip where bars and restuarants are. The place is pricey for what the rooms look like...imagine a dorm room Our room didn't have a tv remote control, alarm clock or phone. Pretty small too. Breakfast is free in the morning, but I couldn't bring myself to eat what they were offering...even the cereal was stale. I had coffee though (breakfast of champs). No elevator in this hotel that is 4 stories. So now you know!

On a side note...Jaco is a good place to visit only if you are a surfer. The beach is ugly and has nothing to offer. The restaurants and bars are sleazy and crawling with prostitutes....I would stay away.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ali E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Restaurant and cocktails are super expensive $7-8 bucks for a cocktail. The pool is nice and the view is nice too, room is very much standard.
Service is good.
If you go to the beach ask for beach chairs, you get them for free all day.
I think overall is too pricey for a standard hotel but we had a great time

Room Tip: 3rd floor, but some rooms view would be blocked by the building, so ask for one that is not
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHELA026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Traveling with EF Tour - some variation in the rooms, our was pretty large and clean. Central courtyard swimming pool and outdoor restaurant seating. Directly across from Jaco beach so the views were great no matter where you were sitting. Staff was friendly and helpful though we had to fight to get towels on our first night. They didn't seem quite prepared for 35 people at once. They were kind enough to allow us to use the hotel computer to send a message home about an injured student when we couldn't get the wifi to cooperate on our phones.Food was good - buffet for all meals - standard Costa Rican fare, but plenty of it. Quick walk around the corner to Main St, in Jaco. This is the only of the 5 hotels we stayed at that I would consider staying in myself if I make a return trip for vacation.

Room Tip: Although the ground floor rooms are large, the only way in/out is through a glass sliding door with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

This is the third and last time I've stayed at Balcon del Mar...The other two times weren't bad, but not excellent like the others have written. I have a home in Costa Rica and will do occational day trips to Jaco. This time I wanted to have a pool to enjoy...what a joke. It is currently "xmas break" for all the kids until Feb. and I think half of them were in the pool there! We weren't able to get a chair by the pool even when the families left for lunch as they had all their towels and toys on them. I kept going from laying out on the beach to going up to the pool for a quick dip and directly getting out because of all the kids with squirt guns, balls, and just jumping in the pool around me even when the sign by the pool clearly says no jumping and noone there stopped them. Yesterday, none of the chairs were out at the beach (which was very nice) and my husband went to find out if we could get one and one of the staff (I think the guy who puts them out) said if you want them just take them. Thankfully the husband is still fairly strong (at 62 yrs old) and carried two out. I realize that the crowd couldn't be helped but they also will let people use the pool and chairs for day as I've also done this before when there was no crowd, but the pool is so small it cannot accommodate so many people! Up in the room that night the husband made the comment that maybe all the kids will be in bed early because of their long day in the pool so I could take a refreshing night swim and he was right...about the little ones...it now belonged to the teenagers. Thank God the air conditioner helped block out some noise but our room was right over the pool (I think all the rooms are for the ocean view) but could still hear a lot of their noise. The bed was probably one of the hardest I've ever slept on...woke up the next day and my whole body was sore.
The waiter at the restaurant was very nice (this is probably the only good thing I can say about our stay). The buffet was edible but the meat they offered was sliced hot dogs in some kind of red sauce.
When we went to take a shower twice the water turned off. I don't know how but it did! The furniture in the room looked like something they sell at garage sales in the states...no clock, no extra pillows, and no blanket...the only cover was the bedspread and you know how clean those are...
Of course the beach was nice, but very crowded and will only get much worse when the weekend is here. There will be so many campers you'll have to struggle to get to the beach! From now on it's day trips only for us or driving either to Samara or the beautiful Caribbean side to Puerto Uva...where the beach is incredible...

Room Tip: Try to find out about when the kids are on break before booking. Right now it's Dec. to Feb. fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

ON THE BEACH!! Great location, good rooms, good AirCon, small but attractive pool, good food on site and many bar food places close. The staff is very friendly and gave great assistance when our safe would not open ( one of our group changed the code) we hade the unexpected surprise of watch newly hatched sea turtles being released on the shore at sun rise!

Room Tip: Come early to park in season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaco hotels
1.6 km away
South Beach Hotel
South Beach Hotel
#16 of 40 in Jaco
118 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#4 of 40 in Jaco
493 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Pochote Grande
Hotel Pochote Grande
#19 of 40 in Jaco
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 km away
Hotel Tramonto
Hotel Tramonto
#18 of 40 in Jaco
156 reviews
0.8 km away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
2.2 km away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Balcon del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Balcon del Mar

Address: Bohio Street, Jaco, Garabito Municipality, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Garabito Municipality > Jaco District > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range: $113 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Balcon del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Balcon del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcon Del Mar Jaco
Balcon Del Mar Hotel
Hotel Balcon Del Mar Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing