We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice hotel in Jaco, just not for weekends”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Balcon del Mar
Ranked #34 of 40 Hotels in Jaco
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Overall, I really think this hotel is great, the only issue is it gets really crowded on weekends, mostly with locals and their kids, so expect lots of kids taking over the main pool. I really hated the mattress on our bed, which caused me lower back pains after 2 nights. BUT I really liked the hotel, since I stayed one additional night after the weekend, I can tell the difference: once the weekend is gone, the place is really nice. on those days you don't have buffet breakfast, but you get peace of mind. Parking is somehow limited on weekends, but they do have a security guy in charge for the night who will take care of your car.

Room Tip: Ideally you'll be able to "test drive" the beds... at least the mattress I got was rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Megadark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

We ended up at this hotel by fluke. We originally booked at Pumilio but after realizing they are 7 kms outside Jaco, we canceled our res. This hotel is very close to the beach and includes complimentary breakfast buffet and chairs on the beach with umbrellas. But be warned, the hotel is VERY basic, as in maybe the level of an old Motel 6.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wurldtraveler09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here two nights as a part of a school group tour and found it to be adequate, especially as far as Costa Rica hotels go.

Great proximity to the town and beach. Beautiful views, especially at sunset.

Rooms were small and clean. Furnishings were outdated and beaten up. Air conditioning was very nice. Pool and bar/restaurant area were pretty.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank paul-delaware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Horrible service, no hot water and was promised a discount but at check out I didn't get any discount and manager couldn't be contacted. Only 3 start for looks, service and beds are nothing to brag about.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Conthies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The hotel is right in front of the ocean which is prime location. 2 blocks from the main strip where bars and restuarants are. The place is pricey for what the rooms look like...imagine a dorm room Our room didn't have a tv remote control, alarm clock or phone. Pretty small too. Breakfast is free in the morning, but I couldn't bring myself to eat what they were offering...even the cereal was stale. I had coffee though (breakfast of champs). No elevator in this hotel that is 4 stories. So now you know!

On a side note...Jaco is a good place to visit only if you are a surfer. The beach is ugly and has nothing to offer. The restaurants and bars are sleazy and crawling with prostitutes....I would stay away.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ali E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Restaurant and cocktails are super expensive $7-8 bucks for a cocktail. The pool is nice and the view is nice too, room is very much standard.
Service is good.
If you go to the beach ask for beach chairs, you get them for free all day.
I think overall is too pricey for a standard hotel but we had a great time

Room Tip: 3rd floor, but some rooms view would be blocked by the building, so ask for one that is not
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHELA026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Traveling with EF Tour - some variation in the rooms, our was pretty large and clean. Central courtyard swimming pool and outdoor restaurant seating. Directly across from Jaco beach so the views were great no matter where you were sitting. Staff was friendly and helpful though we had to fight to get towels on our first night. They didn't seem quite prepared for 35 people at once. They were kind enough to allow us to use the hotel computer to send a message home about an injured student when we couldn't get the wifi to cooperate on our phones.Food was good - buffet for all meals - standard Costa Rican fare, but plenty of it. Quick walk around the corner to Main St, in Jaco. This is the only of the 5 hotels we stayed at that I would consider staying in myself if I make a return trip for vacation.

Room Tip: Although the ground floor rooms are large, the only way in/out is through a glass sliding door with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaco hotels
1.6 km away
South Beach Hotel
South Beach Hotel
#20 of 40 in Jaco
107 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#5 of 40 in Jaco
468 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Mango Mar
Hotel Mango Mar
#27 of 40 in Jaco
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Apartotel Flamboyant
Apartotel Flamboyant
#14 of 40 in Jaco
116 reviews
6.9 km away
Hotel Tramonto
Hotel Tramonto
#17 of 40 in Jaco
149 reviews
2.2 km away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Balcon del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Balcon del Mar

Address: Bohio Street, Jaco, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range: $117 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Balcon del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Balcon del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcon Del Mar Jaco
Balcon Del Mar Hotel
Hotel Balcon Del Mar Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing