We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful home in paradise”

Review of Casa Blanca

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
mea9f
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
“Beautiful home in paradise”
Reviewed 13 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Case Blanca is absolutely beautiful and located in a lush and peaceful setting. Everything that a guest would need is provided, and the caretakers are friendly and helpful. If you're looking to get away from it all, this is the place.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2017
Thanks for the great review. Hope to see you soon. Team Casa Blanca
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gkim11
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The best trip of my life!”
Reviewed 18 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

From morning yoga sessions on the beautiful rooftop deck to the stunning sunsets, every moment spent at Casa Blanca was like a snapshot out of a movie.

The modern open-space concept of the home allowed for a steady breeze to flow throughout the space all day and the stunning view from the infinity pool kept us up at the house from sunset till sunrise. No where else in Mal Pais/Santa Teresa has the same level of serenity and beauty as Casa Blanca. What we especially enjoyed was the unmatched view we had of the jungle and Pacific Ocean.

Pictures do not do this home justice! Every single bedroom was spacious, had its own A/C (which we barely used since the airflow was amazing) and beautifully designed. It was obvious every room was carefully designed to have its own character. We especially enjoyed the small details that the owners had put into each room. For instance, everyone had sliding doors and glass walls which made for a beautiful morning walkout. We could not have dreamed of a better way to be woken up. The fully-equipped kitchen really is fully-equipped. With a hired chef for the week, he had no problem cooking up gourmet meals and commented that this was one of the few places he had seen with such a well-stocked kitchen. What really made life wonderful for all of us as well was the filtration system built into the home! Rather than buying plastic water bottles, we were able to save on garbage by drinking the pure filtered water that ran through the taps. None of the guests ever got sick and we were assured the water was better than what you could buy in stores. I am here to say, that is correct and it makes a world of a difference!

Throughout the week we also hired a private masseuse to come up to the house for several days. The view from the private cabina in front of the pool made the massages that much better. There really aren't enough words to describe how perfect Casa Blanca is. Anything activity we wanted to do, the home could accommodate it and then some.

Davie and his beautiful wife Lizbeth are absolute gems! They were there to answer any and all questions we had and were welcoming from the moment we arrived. Every day we would come back from surfing or being in town and the home would be immaculate. The folks over at the "5-star" resorts could learn a lesson or two from this dynamic duo. We had a blast hanging out with them as well and they really helped us feel like we were at home.

I know I will definitely be returning to Casa Blanca in the future especially since our guests all agreed that their week in Mal Pais was "The best vacation they had ever had. Truly life changing".

Thank you Mike, Davie and Lizbeth! We can't wait to come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stunning view!
Liked least: nothing.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2017
Thanks for everything and we hope that you'll be back soon. Team Casa Blanca
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarkstra...
Springfield, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our Second Time Renting this Luxury Home”
Reviewed 9 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

The title says it all! We have rented this beautiful home twice now and love it! My wife and 2 children fell in love with this house some years back and have had such a great time there. Mike and JC are great hosts and leave keep the home immaculate. The staff is great and speak English as well. The views are incredible and the pool is large enough to swim laps in which I like, thats hard to find. We relaxed in the evenings and watched movies in the Theatre room and loved waking up to the sounds of monkeys and birds and having that great Costa Rican Coffee. Unfortunately I had to work while I was there but fortunately Mike has an office set up in the house with high speed internet that made my life easy. I had an office with a view!

Thank you Mike and JC for your kindness and making us feel welcome every time. We will be back again and again.

My family highly recommends this house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2017
We wish you a happy year and come back soon :) Team Casa Blanca
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EBAtl
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Incredible!”
Reviewed 1 March 2015 for a stay in February 2014

This house is AMAZING!

I stayed here with my family last year, because we had a destination wedding in Mal Pais. The house and the property are just gorgeous. Everything is so stylish, well thought out and modern. The views are breathtaking. Everyone who stayed in the house was blown away. There is every kitchen utensil needed to prepare an awesome meal ( which we did). Everything from the rooftop terrace to the infinity pool just exceeded my expectations. I really hope we get the chance to stay here again.

P.S. The owner was very pleasant to work with.

Pura Vida!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2017
Thanks for everything. We look forward to having you back.

All the best,

Team Casa Blanca
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HowlerMon...
Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“We'll Be Back!”
Reviewed 4 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Stock up on groceries before you arrive, because you won't want to leave. We could only stay for two nights and upon arriving I immediately wished we could have scheduled more time. Just the wife and I, and it was perfect. The house is very well set up and fully stocked with cooking and bar items. Would be great to return with some of our friends. The grounds/gardens are well kept and then there's jungle and ocean views all around. The house is beautiful, but we spent the majority of our time on the deck taking in the views and in the infinity pool. One of the most relaxing vacations we've spent. Super refreshing. We will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool, deck, views, kitchen
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2017
Hi Gang.... thanks for the great comments and we wish you all to come back soon.

Team Casa Blanca
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lizneutro...
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“OUTSTANDING! The best of Mal Pais/ Santa Teresa.”
Reviewed 3 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

This house is beautiful, well-appointed, and perfectly suited to a get-away-from-it-all in Costa Rica. WE LOVED IT SO MUCH! There were several days of our 10 day stay when our group of 6 didn't leave the house at all-- it's that amazing. The only thing I'd mention is that this location is very remote, and the roads leading up to it are not great. We came in the dry season and had no problems, but there are some stomach dropping inclines and turns! If you need a lot of easy access to things (besides an amazing home), this location might not be for you. But if you like being away from the hustle and bustle, there is absolutely no better place to go. (You can also have many things come to you-- we had in-home massage therapists, several gourmet meals cooked for us in our kitchen, a bird watching expert come pick us up for a walk about... fantastic!) I would revisit Casa Blanca again in a heartbeat, and plan to soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the solitude!
Liked least: The road leading to the house.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2017
Thanks for the wonderful time and we wish you come back again shortly.

Team Casa Blanca
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mina K
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 29 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Casa Blanca is luxurious, unique, and magical retreat. This is our third time renting it, and we honestly feel like it has become our home away from home. The house is equipped with everything you need, from the awesome kitchen with every appliance and kitchen tool available, to luxurious bed sheets and countless towels, yoga mats, movies, outdoor kitchen and bbq, and many many more. The ocean and jungle views, infinity pool, modern design, gorgeous garden, numerous outdoor lounging and dining areas, and stunning outdoor landscaping, make this place a true paradise.

Every year we return and find that the house is maintained impeccably, and there are also new improvements to accommodate the guests’ stay. The young couple that takes care of the property is wonderful. They do an awesome job cleaning and maintaining the place like a five-star hotel, they can arrange taxi transportation, and even can make homemade breakfast or dinner for you.

We travel all over the world and stay in many luxurious places, and Casa Blanca still remains our favorite place in the world. We can’t wait to be back there soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2017
Thanks :) Come back soon. Team Casa Blanca
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$660
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing