We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exquisite stay overlooking the Pacific Ocean”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Montemeru

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
415scott
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exquisite stay overlooking the Pacific Ocean”
Reviewed August 18, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My wife and I just got back home after honeymoon, which included an extraordinary stay at Villa Montemeru. From the moment we arrived, we knew that we'd arrived at a gem of a location – as all of the rooms have expansive windows that allow one to marvel at a very wide view of the Pacific Ocean. The infinity pool below allows one to further enjoy the ocean while wading in a clean, comfortable pool.

By virtue of the fact that this property is up on a hill, visitors are afforded several luxuries: the jaw-dropping views, peaceful seclusion and fresh air to name a few. One can take advantage of being in close proximity to the beach (and their beautiful Pacific sunsets), the town of Mal Pais and that of St. Theresa – but avoiding several drawbacks of being at street level: noise, pollution and crowds. The state-of-the-art kitchen & fixtures and wonderfully curated artwork only further enhance the experience.

The only other review that I've written on TripAdvisor was negative, so I can assure you that we were absolutely blown away by this place. My wife and I would like to express a great deal of gratitude to our wonderfully interesting & engaging host Daniel and will undoubtedly be back in the future. Unequivocally worth every penny spent.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernst O
1 review
“best holidays ever!!!”
Reviewed August 1, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We stayed at Villa Montemeru over New Year's Eve last year and found it very comfortable and well appointed. The views and especially the sunsets are breathtaking. The entire property is tucked away on its own hillside, with no nearby structures in view. Like that we enjoyed complete privacy which allowed us to skinny dip into the pool. The beds are most comfortable and all the furniture is custom made of exotic woods. The kitchen is well equipped, even has a juicer. The young staff is friendly and professional. Most relaxing vacation ever. We enjoyed it so much that we decided to rent Villa Montemeru again this year.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fani k
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“que paraiso”
Reviewed May 29, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This villa is definitely the most beautiful place in that area... I've had spent 3months in Mal Pais enviroment and have seen many different accomodations in Mal Pais- this one is for sure the most charming and impressive one I've stayed in- the open atmosphere, the view, the garden, the pool, the kitchen, all the details are creating this place to an unique magical spot. Also for doing Yoga and meditation a wonderful place...definitely recommending Villa Montemeru.

Travelling group: Solo
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnold E
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ocean view surrounded by wonderful nature!”
Reviewed April 27, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A hidden Place up the Hill in Mal Pais, Where you enjoy the best view of the Coastline, Living in beautiful rooms, Falling asleep while watching the Ocean, waking up with the Sounds of Costa ricans nature life!
Pura Vida

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA US
Reviewed April 28, 2011 for a stay in December 2010
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
alberta
Reviewed April 27, 2011 for a stay in April 2011

Value Rooms
Check-in / front desk
Travelling group: Family (extended)
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
san francisco
Reviewed April 22, 2011 for a stay in December 2010
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing