We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit”
Review of Hotel Plaza Yara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Yara
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

We were very pleased about our stay in the Mariel suite, which was very well maintained & equiped. Staff was very friendly. Nice restaurants are all around and busstop is just around the corner if you want to save yourself the horror of driving to Manuel Antonio Park yourself. We were advised to take the bus by the staff and were very glad we did so. Only point of criticism: breakfast is a bit of a letdown, good choice but the taste was not what we gotten used to on our 3 week trip in Costa Rica. A small effort can make a great difference here.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Wim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (793)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 793 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2017

Awesome hotel! I stayed here with my daughter for three nights and wish we could have stayed longer. The water pressure was the best we had anywhere in Costa Rica (and the shower head was huge!), the room was spotless, and the balcony had a fabulous view of the rainforest. It was hard to believe we were so close the a road because of the wildlife (monkeys on the balcony and scarlet macaws flying overhead). Our room had a small kitchenette stocked with coffee and popcorn plus a small refrigerator. We never had an issue with wifi service, and the included breakfast was perfect for us since there were many choices ranging from a typical Tico meal (my favorite option) to omelettes to chocolate pancakes. Service was very fast and the food was fresh. Both pools were extremely clean and refreshing, and the jets in the hot tub were strong.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

Wow! This was our last hotel on a 2 week trip to Costa Rica. This hotel was fantastic. Close to everything. Small terrace yet very enjoyable with monkeys that come and visit. I would recommend not swimming in the smaller pool, as the monkeys tend to play in that one! Excellent service from the Manager and staff. BIG rooms. The food in the morning was excellent with a good variety. We had to rush out one morning and they packed our breakfast for us; fantastice service with a smile.

Stayed: May 2017
2  Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

We rented 3 room for us and our 4 adult children. All rooms were EXTREMELY SPACIOUS, with mini kitchenettes in each, fridges, microwaves, popcorn, coffee and even milk in each room. All three overlooked the forest, 2 had balconies, 1 had a slider that opened but no balcony. Unbelievably large bathrooms.

Breakfast was exceptional, we travel quite a bit and a sit down made to order breakfast is unusual, all 6 us of got exactly what we wanted!

Each room got 1 parting gift - very thoughtful of the Hotel.

We walked up the "quite dangerous street" to eat at the Blue Monkey which had great food and adult beverages.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Michele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017

We are just wrapping up a four night stay at Hotel Plaza Yara and I have zero complaints. Our suite is very spacious and modern but we also have the amazing balcony and outdoor space to enjoy the jungle backdrop. The pools (yes, there are two) are great after a long day at Manuel Antonio National Park or even the beach. It's a relatively small hotel (14 suites) so it feels very homey. It even offers an art gallery which is very unique for this area. Parking is easy and there are restaurants that you can walk to as well. Visit Fabi at The Gondola (the neighboring restaurant) and ask him to make you his amazing pina coladas! Happy hour is from 3-6 and you get a discount for staying at the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Corinne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

We stayed 3 nights at the hotel, based on the recommendations and we were not disappointed. The rooms are spacious, with a TV, small kitchen (free popcorn), fridge, microwave and a coffee machine. There were 3 beds in our room, a comfy double and a single. There is also a couple of seats and a wardrobe. The bathroom and shower were very good and of a good size. The breakfast options were really nice and large potions, and included in the price. The location is fine, as long as you have a car (there are no pavements so walking on the road is a bit of a gamble). The pool area is very nice with 2 small pools, and sun deck and a hot tub. The reception area is very nice, with an art gallery, and a friendlyish white cat. The staff are excellent and were only too willing into booking excursions is required. The wifi is free and pretty fast.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank gunn0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017

Don't get me wrong - I slept really well, ate really well at breakfast. And as others have stated, the rooms are clean and huge with balconies overlooking the jungle. Yesterday a family of squirrel monkeys entertained us in the trees...which was both fun and magical. So - why the question marks ? For starters the location of this place is not convenient - neither end of the Quepos : Manuel Antonio road...which on foot is dangerous due to there being no pavement. There are no adjacent bars or shops - only 'Gondola' restaurant which is excellent. Taxis are necessary and reasonably plentiful (except for today when I had to wait 30 mins for one) but their charges are somewhat ad-hoc (and opportunistic). To be fair, at night we weren't disturbed by the traffic. Service generally is indifferent. Nelson is very good but everyone else seems to have the capacity to walk past you without any hint of a smile. The reception area is odd...being in the middle of an art gallery. The bedrooms are very well equipped but are dark...due mainly to the fact that the curtains have to remain drawn at one end of the room for privacy (a communal corridor runs past) and the balcony at the other end is 3 sides closed in. The swimming pool(s) do their job but the sun decks are decidedly compact such that you have to compete with other guests to grab a chink of light. Breakfast was tasty and of good quality - fresh fruit, eggs, pancakes etc but the dining environment is oppressive - dark again and no views. If I had to stay here again, I'd be OK about it. But this wouldn't be a destination of choice...

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nauj63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.9 km away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#9 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,053 reviews
0.3 km away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,663 reviews
2.4 km away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#19 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
938 reviews
0.9 km away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
456 reviews
1.8 km away
Si Como No Resort & Wildlife Refuge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Yara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Yara

Address: Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio 322-6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $141 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Plaza Yara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Plaza Yara is located only five minutes to Manuel Antonio National Park. Hotel Plaza Yara offers all suites feature custom made furniture,queen size beds,kichenettes and spacious baths. relax on the balcony and enjoy the jungle views with variety of wildlife with passes daily including monkeys,sloths,iguanas and exotic birds. Hotel Plaza Yara offers the possibility for you to enjoy your stay in comfort,casual elegance and in tune with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Plaza Yara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Plaza Yara Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing