We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic hotel with very nice staff... and much more than that!”
Review of Hotel Plaza Yara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Yara
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2017

The reception and lobby welcomes you with nice art and Costa Rican handcraft. Thousands of colors create a special effect and a warm as well as bright atmosphere. After check-in you will be guided to your room, where you get a good intro to all relevant features (in our case coffee machine, fridge, safe, AC, etc.).

The hotel has a pool at the backside, which is directly adjacent to the jungle - unbelievable to see and hear the jungle fauna while you are having a little fun in the pool or a drink, sitting in your deckchair.

I guess you chose Costa Rica to see some nature? If so: Great you’re at Yara Plaza. Not only the receptionist or manager will provide a broad overview of the various nature excursions of the area. The hotel also works with a nature guide, who knows the Manuel Antonio reserve inside out. The name of the Costa Rican guide is Roger. He speaks perfect English (working on other languages) and more importantly, he’s a very nice person, patient, cares about individual interests of the visitors, and has a funny as well as very effective way to make his tours interactive. He will simply make you feel special, and you will learn a lot! And most of all: He’s an extremely knowledgeable expert, when it comes to amphibians, reptiles, mammalians (with special emphasis on bats), birds, and even spiders and insects! Roger has a fantastic eye, spotting all kind of creatures in places where you will look a couple of times and still not see “it”. Fortunately, Roger will use his spotting scope, so you can see the animals from a distance without disturbing them and yet feel as close as if you were just an inch away. Roger will also offer to give him your smartphone for digiscoping - he’ll photograph the fantastic creatures with your phone through the spotting scope.

All in all: FULL points for the hotel in conjunction with a fantastic guided nature experience you will never forget!

Room Tip: Rooms to the backyard / to the forest are the most quiet and excting ones - you're in the middle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (806)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 806 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

Overall great stay. Some staff friendlier than others. Roger was amazingly helpful! Breakfast was ok, room was nice and had a patio to the jungle. Close to restaurants and the park. We didn't get any hot water but they gave us the cutest surprise present when we left

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Marisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed here on our last leg of our Costa Rician adventure. The place is very well kept, and the art gallery is beautiful! By far the best part was the tour to Manuel Antonio with Roger. We booked through the hotel, and let me say, out of the 6 tour guides we had in Costa Rica, he was by far our favorite! He has so much passion for what he does, and made sure that each person in the group was having a great time. Honestly we will be back just for him. Again though, the hotel was beautiful, and would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Kjs5013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

We were very pleased about our stay in the Mariel suite, which was very well maintained & equiped. Staff was very friendly. Nice restaurants are all around and busstop is just around the corner if you want to save yourself the horror of driving to Manuel Antonio Park yourself. We were advised to take the bus by the staff and were very glad we did so. Only point of criticism: breakfast is a bit of a letdown, good choice but the taste was not what we gotten used to on our 3 week trip in Costa Rica. A small effort can make a great difference here.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Wim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

Awesome hotel! I stayed here with my daughter for three nights and wish we could have stayed longer. The water pressure was the best we had anywhere in Costa Rica (and the shower head was huge!), the room was spotless, and the balcony had a fabulous view of the rainforest. It was hard to believe we were so close the a road because of the wildlife (monkeys on the balcony and scarlet macaws flying overhead). Our room had a small kitchenette stocked with coffee and popcorn plus a small refrigerator. We never had an issue with wifi service, and the included breakfast was perfect for us since there were many choices ranging from a typical Tico meal (my favorite option) to omelettes to chocolate pancakes. Service was very fast and the food was fresh. Both pools were extremely clean and refreshing, and the jets in the hot tub were strong.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

Wow! This was our last hotel on a 2 week trip to Costa Rica. This hotel was fantastic. Close to everything. Small terrace yet very enjoyable with monkeys that come and visit. I would recommend not swimming in the smaller pool, as the monkeys tend to play in that one! Excellent service from the Manager and staff. BIG rooms. The food in the morning was excellent with a good variety. We had to rush out one morning and they packed our breakfast for us; fantastice service with a smile.

Stayed: May 2017
2  Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

We rented 3 room for us and our 4 adult children. All rooms were EXTREMELY SPACIOUS, with mini kitchenettes in each, fridges, microwaves, popcorn, coffee and even milk in each room. All three overlooked the forest, 2 had balconies, 1 had a slider that opened but no balcony. Unbelievably large bathrooms.

Breakfast was exceptional, we travel quite a bit and a sit down made to order breakfast is unusual, all 6 us of got exactly what we wanted!

Each room got 1 parting gift - very thoughtful of the Hotel.

We walked up the "quite dangerous street" to eat at the Blue Monkey which had great food and adult beverages.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Michele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.3 km away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 47 in Manuel Antonio
1,683 reviews
1.9 km away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#8 of 47 in Manuel Antonio
1,066 reviews
0.9 km away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#17 of 47 in Manuel Antonio
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
3.4 km away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#20 of 47 in Manuel Antonio
942 reviews
1.8 km away
Si Como No Resort & Wildlife Refuge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Yara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Yara

Address: Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio 322-6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $142 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Plaza Yara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Plaza Yara is located only five minutes to Manuel Antonio National Park. Hotel Plaza Yara offers all suites feature custom made furniture,queen size beds,kichenettes and spacious baths. relax on the balcony and enjoy the jungle views with variety of wildlife with passes daily including monkeys,sloths,iguanas and exotic birds. Hotel Plaza Yara offers the possibility for you to enjoy your stay in comfort,casual elegance and in tune with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Plaza Yara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Plaza Yara Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing