We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful House and Location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
36 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Preston S
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful House and Location”
Reviewed April 29, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Our stay at this house was fantastic! Sam is a wonderful host and was very accommodating and he made us feel very much at home. He went above and beyond to ensure we had a wonderful stay in Manuel Antonio.

We had air conditioning in the bedrooms which is a necessity in the tropics and sleeping was very comfortable. The private pool was deep and so nice to have during our stay. It is about 5 feet deep and perfect for swimming around and cooling off in. The house sits below Sam's house on a private drive that is behind a locked, tall gate making this a very secure place and we felt at ease during our stay.

It's just a beautiful house with coconut trees, monkeys, humming birds, snakes, bats, and many other jungle creatures right in the backyard! We would recommend staying here if you take a trip to Manuel Antonio. It is centrally located just down from Manuel Church and the local school, and though the hill is a bit steep in the hot sun, it is a short distance to the main road in Manuel Antonio where catching taxis or hopping the bus is easy.


Thank you Sam,

-Preston and Mary Jo

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Pool
Liked least: The hill up to the road.... It's steep
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alp32
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Villa CasaLoma is clean, convenient, and secure.”
Reviewed March 7, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We were happy with our stay at Villa CasaLoma. Sam arrived within minutes of our call to him to direct us to the house and give us directions for the security gate and information about the house and the surrounding area. He was very attentive and provided extra towels within a few minutes of our request. The house location is very close to Manuel Antonio Park and it was easy to access the park and the shops in the area. We would recommend Villa CasaLoma especially to those interested in being close to the Park.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer...
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“House was great.”
Reviewed March 7, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

The house was very spacious and clean. We did not rent a car while in MA and had no difficulty getting around - it was a bit of a hike up the road in the heat though! We would walk to the main road and catch the bus to the beach almost every day, and pick up groceries on the way back. When we had activites planned they would pick up/drop off at the house with no problem.

The only thing I would recommend to make it even better is having laundry and providing some pool toys/floatation items.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2015EV
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“perfect”
Reviewed February 13, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

It was refreshing to arrive at Villa Casaloma. Wonderful, large living area, clean, peaceful. The kitchen was very well equipped. We didn't want to leave.
Neighbourhood dogs are loud but that's out of our control...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara C
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“exellent stay!!”
Reviewed August 3, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Sam's house was gem compare with the places we renred in Monte Verde and Jaco.
Clean, beautiful, private. Everything is close by. Private pool really makes difference.
Would definitely recommend !!!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Apartment”
Reviewed July 21, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Great apartment located down a road off the main road to Manuel Antonio. The apartment is very close to the two grocery shops in the area which is perfect for all your self catering needs. The premises is very secure with automated gates. There are two balconies overlooking the pool and tree canopy. TV, wifi, and telephone is provided. Would definitely stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sparklefl...
Northern IL
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean, safe home with attentive owner”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This property is safe, clean and modern. Sam (the owner) was very helpful to us in giving recommendations on where to shop for groceries, how to get around, and general tips about the area. The location is in a neighborhood within walking distance to buses, taxis, some restaurants and shops. That being said, the walk to the main road is a trek up a moderately steep hill. My children and I found it to be a challenge to do in the heat. I wish I'd known about the hill...I would have rented a car.

It was nice to have use of the pool. The deck and patio were very nice to hang out on and enjoy the beautiful landscape of the property. It was fun to be in the neighborhood when Costa Rica won a World Cup game so we could hear everyone celebrating.

The reasons I'm not giving this review a 5:
*The hill. To put it simply, it sucked to walk up it to get a taxi or the bus.
*The air conditioner in the master bedroom was broken for 2 nights. Sam did all that he could about it, but it was uncomfortable because it's so humid.
*Not all of the lights worked in the home. Sam stated that he'd ordered a replacement lamp for the living room & I get that things move slowly in CR.
*There didn't seem to be any hot water in the kitchen, so dishes had to be washed in cold water.
*Hot water in the bathrooms was slow to come on, if it came on at all.
*The internet signal was pretty spotty but Sam explained that work was being done on the line.

I'm sure some of these things are just part of staying in Costa Rica. Overall it was a great experience and I'd recommend it to someone looking to rent a home.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing