We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel San Bada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel San Bada
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Montreal
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Hotel San Bada (I give this hotel a 1 star out of 5 – the worst rating I’ve ever given)

Pros;
• Nice location close to park
• Nice view from 6th floor, good place to see sunsets
• Two comfortable beds in room, good AC

Cons
• Incredibly overpriced for what you get ($242 /night including taxes)
• No amenities like coffee machine, free wifi, or minibar (they had a mini fridge in room, but was empty and not even plugged in). Only the basics, which at that price is inexcusable.
• Room feels rundown and an odd collection of outdated furniture. Showerhead broke off and hit my wife in the arm, bathroom floor flooded (from I don’t know where), no water pressure in toilet or shower. Don’t get room 112.
• Hotel itself feels rundown; have nice facilities which all have to be upgraded and/or finished off. Nice pool on 6th floor with bar – but nobody working at bar (except during happy hour) and you have to go to reception on ground floor for towels.
• Horrible restaurant. Overpriced and just horrible food. Also terribly slow service. The 2 for 1 Happy Hour is no deal – $20 for 4 medium sized Pina Coladas.
• Coffee – San Bada’s coffee was even more watered down than other coffee we’ve had. We had it after dinner and it was insipid. Was slightly better the next morning at breakfast.
• For $242 a night there is no porter to help carry your luggage or even open up the door – they’ll stand there being useless. I don’t mind paying that kind of money for an experience, but I get very upset when everything from A-Z is wrong with a hotel.

Overall, this place was a total rip off in every way, very disappointing.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bbqboyMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dporrascr, Director of Sales at Hotel San Bada, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear bbqboyMontreal,

We are sorry to hear that you were not one of the many satisfied guests that stayed at our resort!

However, it seems particularly interesting that this reviewer also reviewed and stayed at the Hotel which is located right in front of our Resort.

As a traveler too, I must remind you that for a person that reserves a room in a Hotel, it is important to look for information about the hotel and read about it. For example, you can find information in our website about the room and amenities, and also during the reservation our team sent you all the hotel and room descriptions, in this case it seems that you booked a standard room in the first floor with jungle view. Also, we would like to kindly refresh your mind and tell you that our bars and restaurants are subjected to an schedule which is written in our Guest Directory, and also please don’t forget that once your reservation was confirmed we sent you a Guest Preference Form where you can inform us about the products you will want us to stock the minibar with. It is interesting how a guest that particularly seems to take care of details missed all this information.

In regards to your review we want to clarify that the rate exposed in your review belongs to the peak season, very busy days in Costa Rica, and the rate is reasonable or even more accessible than other hotels of the same category in the area.

Our rooms are very spacious decorated with artisanal high wood ceiling, which most people consider a great delight, all the furniture were made in Costa Rica from local skilled carpenters, different from other Hotels in the area we have wardrobes in our rooms for a major comfort to store your cloths, a round wood table with chairs, private chairs and table in the balcony, makeup table, TV table, and luggage rack. As in the bathroom, we have a nice tub with shower, so either you can take a quick shower or relaxing in the hot tub. We think that this review is unfair, when in the other hand the Hotel offers great in room features.

We appreciate your comment about how nice our different facilities are, and also we want to remind you that in last December we were finishing the construction of which will be considered the biggest spa in the region, with sauna and steam treatments and also our fitness facility. We understand that finding this (already finalized services) could be a disappointment for you, so we truly apologize for this.

According to your review about the restaurant, since last December we have been working hard to demonstrate to our distinguished guests that our goal is to become one of the best restaurants in the area, with amazing National Park jungle views and warm service provided by our staff. We will be more than happy to invite you a drink in your next visit to probe this aspect. And we invite the other tripadvisor potential guests to read our testimonial book once getting to the Hotel in order to read the great comments other guest leave about the food. However we still intrigued with the dish you tried. Since our menu consists of major variety of dishes, I would like to give my subjective opinion towards my favorite’s dishes, the seafood platter, the shrimp wrap or the fish taco.

We feel sad that our happy hour did not meet your expectations; however, the prices of the HH starts from $3 to $10, the liquors we use to prepare them are recognized brands striving the best quality in the cocktails. As for the coffee, please remind that during the breakfast there is coffee refill and for the lunch or dinner it is important to let the waiter know if you prefer either strong or light coffee, in that case we will gladly make you the coffee again to please you . We will definitely work on small details like this one in order to improve.

In regards to our porters, they are really hardworking people, and happy to assist each of guests requirements. We think that during that particular moment our porter had a bad timing in order to open up the door of your car. Please accept our sincere apologies for this incident.

Once again our staff is extremely sorry that this guest was not happy during his stay at our Resort, and thank you for kind words about the location of the Hotel, door to door to Manuel Antonio National Park entrance, the breathtaking ocean and sunset views from our 6th floor and how comfortable are our rooms.

Sincerely,

Your friends at Hotel San Bada!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    255
    72
    25
    10
See reviews for
272
283
32
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Hotel San Bada was everything we needed! First of all I agree with the other reviewers about the location, San Bada is right next to the Manuel antonio park, also about 2 minutes walking distance to the public beach. Our room was big, amazing view to the ocean! We spent all of our days on the rooftop, with views to the ocean and the national park trees, we really enjoyed the drinks in that area! We ate dinner twice at the restaurant and it was the best food in town, also I highly recommend Raphael Terrazas. The staff was amazing, very attentive and always smiling, thanks to all of you guys! Definitely we are going to stay San Bada again

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kratzd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasper, GA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

This wonderful new hotel was one of the nicest on our ten day trip. The rooms are spacious and modern. The lighting is a little dark, so readers should bring reading lights. The staff went out of its way to try and please us. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MountainNana6163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hackensack, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

The location of the hotel has its ups and downs. Yes, it is literally right outside of the entrance to the Manual Antonio National Park so no need to drive or walk far to get there. But what we found out was that they had to clear out some of the park area to build it - so it is literally built "on the grounds of the national park". Also, the view from the back of the hotel overlooks what's left of a neighborhood before any views of the ocean (we were on the 2nd floor so no ocean view for us).

The staff is extremely helpful and willing to go above and beyond to make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible - we had Kosher food with us and they were more than willing and understanding to heat it up for us while keeping it double wrapped and unopened and only charging us minimally for drinks in the restaurant. Upon arrival (we came at around 9 or 10 at night) we were greeted with a refreshing fruit drink.

Our room was kept clean - 4 towels were provided for the 4 of us in the room and extras were offered at night when the beds were turned down with a candy on the pillow.

I agree with the other posters with the mildew smell coming from the shower and the cold water situation. We had hot and cold water but when we turned on a certain amount of cold water the pipes would rattle and it was quite unsettling. The tub was really big and a little hard to get in and out of but it was really nice. One day the cleaning service took the floor towel but luckily she was still on the floor cleaning and we were able to secure a new one.

The pool is nice and clean, but I would take precautions about using the slide. It is made of cement and it has a steep turn in it with a bump that looked like it would almost throw my kids into the pool before it reached the bottom! Nevertheless, my kids went on many times without incident. There is a swim up bar but when we ordered from it he had to go to the main kitchen to get the drinks.

Breakfast was more than standard continental. Eggs, pancakes, juice, coffee, cereal, yogurt, rice and beans and other hot foods were plenty and all available.

Overall, the hotel is really convenient and "out of the way" in terms of not being too close to all the action if you are looking for a quiet place to relax and not a Cancun type of resort. Some of the workmanship in the room was a little bit "unfinished" looking but that wasn't a "make it or break it" issue for me. We really enjoyed our stay there and felt the service of the entire staff was exceptional.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank isleesme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

This new hotel is luxurious with a staff who always go the extra mile. Large room with a wonderful king size beds and all of the bells and whistles that you could want.

The restaurant is excellent and prices arw comparable to the other restaurants in town.

Excellant views. From our room we can see the Manuel Antonio beach and Pacific ocean plus parts of the national park. Literally the hotel entrace is 2 steps from the park entrance. Deer were grazing at the gate when we arrived.

There were a few minor glitches which probably are just part of the hotel's learning curve as it has been open less than 6 months. However we have been to Costa Rica seven times and would have no issue whatsoever with returning.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edkravcik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Fantastic views and bordering the national park, this hotel is in a great location. It is also walking distance to the beaches and town. The rooms were very comfortable, and the staff were helpful and friendly, albeit slow at times. The beach access is closed after dark, but the pool stays open. The wildlife in the park is very used to people and will come very close and is easy to see.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rpimm_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novi Sad, Serbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We stayed in this hotel during the Christmas week. Even though the location, grounds, and architecture of San Bada are beautiful, the workmanship in the rooms is poor. There was a heavy odor of mildew and chemicals in our room. During breakfast, the hotel ran out of coffee, juice and cereal after 9 AM daily. The common areas of the hotel were very clean, but, the guestrooms were not maintained well. In our room, there was a thick layer of construction dust on the shelves, and hangers. Our beds were not made until late afternoon, and there was no turndown service. Most of the time there was no Internet connection in the guestrooms, or common areas.The pool is nice, but the water in the jaccuzzi was cold. There were no beach towels at the pool area. The pathway from the hotel to the beach is muddy, neglected an littered. Since the rate of our room was high, I expected better services.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alexiszr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dporrascr, Director of Sales at Hotel San Bada, responded to this review, 19 January 2012
Dear Friend,

Greetings from Manuel Antonio!

Thank you for taking your time and write a review of your recent visit to our hotel. We are happy that you pointed our great things about our hotel such as the location, grounds and specially the beautiful architecture that our property has. About the problems with the housekeeping procedures, we have talked with the housekeeping manager in order to work immediately in the improvement of all the things you mentioned.

On the breakfast, which is a buffet and complimentary to the rate we always try to replenish all the bar as soon as we see that we are running out with something immediately, during that day we might suffered some delay but the most it took us 5 minutes to replenish, we are working on this for avoiding this problem for future stays. Regarding the towels, we offer beach and pool towels for the use of our guests that can be find in the reception area right next to the pool.

Thank you again and we hope you can visit us in future, that way we will be able to show you our improvements in everything you mentioned.

Warm regards,

Your friends at Hotel San Bada!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.1 km away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
896 reviews
2.4 km away
Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Vil...
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,087 reviews
2.7 km away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#13 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,338 reviews
3.3 km away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,455 reviews
1.6 km away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Bada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Bada

Property: Hotel San Bada
Address: Next to Manuel Antonio National Park Entrance | Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#7 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel San Bada 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Bada brand new Hotel located right next to Manuel Antonio National Park entrance, and a few steps to Manuel Antonio Beach, Costa Rica.Rooms with National Park jungle and ocean view balconies. Discover the wildlife from your balcony and listen to the ocean. The biggest pool in the area with water slide, waterfalls and a pool bar. A private pool for adults at the terrace, with ocean and jungle view, perfect sunset spot! Our amenities:-Restaurant-Access to the public beach-Pool bar-Power generator in case of electricity shortout-Elevator-Biggest pool-Kids pool-Adults pool with ocean view-Snack Bar-WiFi-Free spacious parking, no driving needed once you are at the resort, everything is in walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel San Bada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Bada Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing