We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a way to finish a wonderful holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Parador Resort and Spa
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Didcot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“What a way to finish a wonderful holiday”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

A superb complex with comfortable, clean rooms, friendly , helpful staff and delicious food and drink. Good pools even having a swim through bar! The "adult pool" was a little bit disappointing but other than that I would have difficulty in faulting the place. The surrounding areas are lush with several clean beaches. Lots to see and do. Well done to all concerned.

Room Tip: Take your pick - they all seem to be good with sea-views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvia H, Guest Relations Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Thank you so much for your very sweet comments regarding your stay at Parador. It sounds like you had a relaxing and enjoyable stay. Please come back and visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,518
    572
    178
    55
    35
See reviews for
672
1,111
49
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We spent the last four days of our Costa Rica trip at the Parador and found it to be very pleasant. We had a wonderful view from our room and saw howler monkeys right outside the room and a wide variety of birds. The breakfast which was included was very good but the restaurant was overpriced and not very good. I would advise jumping ito a cab and trying one of the many other restaurants available up the road. We felt the hotel was trying to cram too much into a small space and there were often no places by the pool either in the sun or in the shade. The trail through the grounds is great, well worth doing and another positive is that you do tend to hook up with other people here as you are so close together around the pool which we found really interesting and enjoyable.

Room Tip: you need to choose a room that is quite high up for the views. There is a lift so this should be man...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bar1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvia H, Guest Relations Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
We always love to hear when our guests are able to meet new friends in their fellow travelers and we agree that Parador is a very social place. We will definitely look into adding additional seating around the pool area, thanks for the tip! We hope you are come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We just returned from an 8-day tour of Costa Rica with Trafalgar Tours and stayed at this hotel for the last 2-days. We also elected to stay on our own an additional three days. We are so thankful that we decided to stay additional days at this beautiful resort. We had two different rooms during our stay. Both rooms were basic but the second had a garden view and was situated right by the jungle on the second floor and away from the biting red ants (room 220). We had, literally, a bird's-eye view of monkeys, sloths, birds.... It was amazing. The grounds and gardens are spectacular and we saw more wildlife on the trails than we did in several of the national parks we toured. All service, from room service, to bartenders, to wait staff... was exceptional! The food in the restaurants was a little disappointing considering how excellent everything else was. The pools and the views from them breathtaking. On the first night we were there they had booked a singer, Roseanna, I believe her name was, was first rate. I hope they bring her back more often. She's worth it. There is a quiet ,secluded a little rocky beach maybe a fifteen minute walk from the hotel. Overall, if you are visiting this area - this hotel is hard to beat.

Room Tip: Corner rooms right by the surrounding jungle are the best places to see wildlife.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole-Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvia H, Guest Relations Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
We are glad Parador ended your tour of Costa Rica on a terrific note! We pride ourselves on wonderful and personable service so we are thankful you mentioned that as a highlight of your trip. Please return soon, the wildlife misses you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

My husband , 14 year old son and myself had a fantastic stay at the Parador March 19-28th. Upon arrival we were promptly greeted and checked in. We received a complimentary upgrade to a Tropical room which had a partial ocean view. The room was clean and comfortable. Staff were always friendly and helpful. The grounds were stunning, we saw plenty of wildlife everywhere we went. The resort is not too big- I think about 120 rooms, so it was nice not to have to deal with the crowds and line ups like I've experienced at larger resorts. The food was good- but a bit pricey. The complimentary breakfast was nice too. Pools were great- nice and warm and always had fresh towels. We enjoyed the tours that were arranged through the hotel ( we did book a fishing charter in town- which was a fair bit less money, however the rest of the tours seem pretty competitively priced). My son and I loved the ziplining tour and opted to have photos taken for us instead of hauling around our cameras- this was well worth the $40 for the pictures. The resort is a bit isolated- which meant having to take a cab back and forth if we wanted to go to town or off the resort to eat- this wasn't a big deal for us. We were very sad to leave this beautiful oasis.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcolEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvia H, Guest Relations Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Don’t be sad for too long just come back for another relaxing vacation! It sounds like you and your family were able to experience a lot in the ten days you were here. The zip-lining tour is amazing and gives you great views of the rainforest. We hope you can return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampaa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Great food, great serviice, spectacular views, beautiful rooms and the nicest staff you could ever meet. A special thanks to bartender and guest relations specialist extraordinaire, Diego. He made our second honeymoon memorable with his smile and attention to every detail, this is why we will be back with our family.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvia H, Public Relations Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
We’re honored that you choose Parador to spend your second honeymoon! Diego will be very appreciative of your kind words. We hope you can return for many more anniversaries!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenafly, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2012

The Parador Hotel is the best cross between a resort and wildlife feel. While the hotel is clean and has all the amenities you need, the grounds the hotel sits on is amazing. While sitting at the pool we had both squirrle monkeys and iguanas come right up to the pool. We were also able to see three toed sloths right on the hotel grounds too. A private beach is just a 5 minute walk from the hotel. We recommend taking some tours through Parador as well. The National Park tour with Elias was wonderful, as well as the Santa Juana Tour which helps to pay for a local project. The staff of the Parador are the best, so friendly and welcoming. I wouldnt have wanted to stay anywhere else!!!

Room Tip: If you travel all the way to Costa Rica, you will not be spending much time in your room. There is w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvia H, Guest Relations Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
We certainly agree that Parador has the best of both worlds, a truly tropical rainforest jungle feel with the luxury amenities and services you need to make your stay relaxing and comfortable. The tours are spectacular and highlight the beauty of the landscape. We hope you can return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Spent a couple nights at this hotel and absolutely loved it. We were fortunate to receive a nice room upgrade and were able to enjoy an amazing view of the ocean from our balcony patio.

The room was well maintained and clean. The bed was very comfortable and the AC worked incredibly well (it gets hot here). Very content with the room.

The grounds were very well maintained and clean. Staff was constantly working to keep the resort pool areas free of dirty towels and dirty glasses. Staff was also very helpful in recommending tours and activities to do in the area. The highly recommended the sunset catamaran tour and it was amazing. We were able to see dolphins, enjoy some terrific drinks and had a decent meal.

The food was good but not great. The breakfast buffet offered a lot of different choices but nothing out of the ordinary. Lots of restaurants around this area if you feel like venturing off the property.

The private beach is fantastic, although I recommend tennis shoes for the walk. We rented snorkel gear and just enjoyed the sun. Gorgeous views and very safe.

We will definitely stay at Hotel Parador if we return to Costa Rica. Great experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Double_T_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvia H, Guest Relations Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Thank you for your kind words and very useful tips, we agree that the sunset catamaran tour is a must for guests. We are delighted the staff was so helpful in providing great recommendations for you during your stay. We hope you can return back to Costa Rica soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
2.6 km away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,516 reviews
1.7 km away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,165 reviews
0.4 km away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#11 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,405 reviews
1.3 km away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#15 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,359 reviews
1.5 km away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#13 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador Resort and Spa

Property: Parador Resort and Spa
Address: | Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#4 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#5 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Parador Resort & Spa, Costa Rica’s premier eco-luxury resort. Sitting high above the Central Pacific coastline, this award-winning hotel is built on 12 acres of rainforest in beautiful Manuel Antonio, just minutes from Costa Rica’s best beaches.Known for its dedication to preserving and protecting Mother Nature as well as its first-class amenities, Parador offers a long list of activities for your enjoyment and a staff ready to accommodate your every need. Experience inspired cuisine. Take a walk along a white sand beach. Swing through the rainforest canopy. Or simply relax and take in the view from your splendid suite. It’s all about responsible luxury, pura vida style. Parador Resort & Spa… Where Green Is More Than Just A Color. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Parador Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Parador
Parador Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing