We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great view, rooms, and people!”
Review of La Mansion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Mansion Inn
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great view, rooms, and people!”
Reviewed 31 May 2012

The first thing you will notice about the town of Quepos/Manuel Antonio is the narrow streets that go up the mountainside, they can be very hard to navigate and La Mansion is quite hard to find at first, as most hotels in the area are. However, once you get there they are extremely accommodating and provide a shuttle to the nearby beach, which is a very popular spot (if you don't prefer popular spots, go somewhere else ie. Dominical/Uvita = apx. 50km down the road). Definitely check out Manuel Antonio national park and DO spend the money for the tour guides you think will be ripping you off, they are freindly and will point out things you would just walk by that would amaze you. As for La Mansion, the food and people are quite good. They offer a very good free breakfast with a great view. The pool is great and open 24 hours. We went during the wet season and didn't experience much rain, which is nice too.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ktrini102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,070 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    743
    201
    77
    30
    19
See reviews for
144
664
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

We stayed at La Mansion for three nights and liked it very much. The location high on a hill offeres superb views and from the roof-top deck and bar you can see water on both sides. The staff are fabulous--professional yet friendly, always helpful. They offer a shuttle to the beach and the area of the national park which is great as the hotel is a little distant from the main road.

We had booked a double room but were in the bedroom of Penthouse 1 (or room 18) so we had a sort of junior suite arrangement with a large sitting area, a huge bed and a good sized bathroom. Our balcony overlooked the front of the hotel but still had a fabulous view and on occasion the comings and goings in the parking area were pretty entertaining.

Breakfast was served on an ocean view terrace and was very good with a number of choices. Again the staff was great. The only thing we were less than happy with was the dining room for dinner. It's an inside room which is sort of disappointing in this fabulous climate. the first night we made a reservation for 7:30 and at about 7:20 they called our room to say a group had overstayed and we couldn't be seated until 8 PM. When we went down at 8 we were seated and the waiter was again courteous and professional. Food was good, not great. But as we were eating (we were the only people in the room) the waiter started rearranging other tables and setting up for the next day---not good form in my opinion.

Overall we loved La Mansion and would certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to share the same fabulous view and to have an outside seating area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmob100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miami beach
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Just returned from a two night stay (5/13-14) at La Mansion. The hotel and staff exceeded all of our expectations. The views of Manuel Antonio from the balcony and sun decks are amazing. The pool bar is perfect for an afternoon relaxing with great drinks mixed by Jesus and eating from a delicious lunch menu while sitting inside the pool. The included breakfast was very good with attentive service from staff. The front desk staff was always helpful and informative. The rooms are spacious, well appointed, and very clean. The hotel itself has a lot of character. I would most definitely return to this hotel and recommend it to friends and family. La Mansion is a class operation. Thank you for a great experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexi919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights at the end of our 13 day honeymoon in costa rica. The view here is amazing, I think best in costa rica, but thats a personal opinion only. The service was great. Our room was always clean and the bed turned down in the evening. The staff at the front desk was fantastic, helped us good a tour, although I will say I wish we had just reviewd the book and done it ourselves, we were told after the fact that the hotel charges a really what I consider too big comission to make a 2 minute phone call, but thats what hotels do, i get it. Anways the included breakfast was good and the bar tenders at the pool were very nice and made good drinks.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kateryan8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Service at La Mansion is fantastic. All the staff are super friendly and always ready/willing to help you book an excursion, enjoy a cocktail, receive room service -- they really want the guests to enjoy themselves. Carlos at the front desk is superb, and Jesus and Adrian at the pool bar are very sweet. Although almost everyone speaks English at the hotel, the staff definitey appreciate some Spanish conversation.

Our room was big and comfortable, but not sound proof at all. Our room faced the small parking lot. We were woken up early almost every morning by construction, hotel/car doors slamming, or chairs moving across the floor. At least we planned a lot of morning trips, so this wasn't that big of a deal.

We hung out at the pool for a couple hours almost every day. The drinks are great, and guests have a great view of the park and the beach.

Breakfast was delicious and included some of the better food we had during our trip. Dinner there was just ok. The service was always amazing, but I would recommend venturing outside the hotel for a good meal. You need a car to get almost everywhere from this hotel, but the front desk is very quick to call you a taxi, so it is easy to get around. Raphel's Terrazas and Ronnie's Place (they sound American, but feature great local fare and seafood) were our favorites for dinner. El Gran Escape in Quepos was also fun for lunch.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at La Mansion and would recommend it!

Room Tip: Rooms that face the parking lot seem to be louder.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houlton, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We recently spent 3 nights at La Mansion in Manuel Antonio and found this hotel to be a great place to relax. From the moment we walked through the front door, we felt pampered. We were greeted with a welcoming drink and a tour of the hotel. The pool area and the views from the roof top sitting area are gorgeous and the grounds were very beautiful. The staff was wonderful and went out of their way to please. We were upgraded to a Penthouse room with private balcony for no extra charge and one night we did not want a big dinner so the bar tender in the bat cave went to the kitchen and brought us some delcious chicken nachos. The room was spotless and the beds very comfortable. Overall I would recommend this small, quaint hotel. The only thing lacking is a place to get some snacks when you have the late night "munchies".

Room Tip: I don't believe there are any elevators in the hotel but it is just a couple of short flight of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovestotravel40678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

So excited to be writing my first review! My husband and I just spent 4 of the most relaxing days here. The service is outstanding and our accommodations were a perfect blend of luxury and comfort. The beds were some of the most comfortable I've ever slept on. If anything is not up your liking here, all you have to do is ask and they will make it right. There is even a money back guarantee in the dining room. It really seems like the hotel isn't happy unless YOU are happy. We are already planning our next trip back.

I really recommend the fresh fruit drinks at the pool. And the view enhances everything! It was our first trip to Costa Rica and we were not dissapointed Make sure to visit the beaches in the national park, they are breathtaking. Zip lining was fun though not as challenging as I thought. Lots of wildlife everywhere. And the air is so fresh. Great surfing and boogie-boarding.

I'm almost afraid to tell everyone how wonderful La Mansion is because I feel like I found a little piece of heaven.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MagdalenamNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
2.0 km away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,537 reviews
0.5 km away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
0.9 km away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,433 reviews
1.1 km away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,009 reviews
0.6 km away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#15 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mansion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mansion Inn

Property: La Mansion Inn
Address: Manuel Antonio 6350, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Mansion Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5 star ocean-view hotel is located only 2 kilometers from the biologically diverse Manuel Antonio National Park in Costa Rica. Complete with roof-top sky lounge featuring 360 degree views and a genuine Cave Bar hidden inside the heart of the hotel, La Mansion Inn is truly unique. Over time, national and international celebrities have stayed at La Mansion Inn, and we look forward to welcome you to our "one of a kind" and super-friendly Inn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your La Mansion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mansion Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Hotel La Mansion
La Mansion Inn Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing