We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Mariposa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Mariposa Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Langley City, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceptional Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

Costa Rica seemed a bit challenging when trying to book a place because they all assumed that their resort was the best. When I spoke to the reservation manager at La Mariposa (Manfred) he mentioned in detail what I can actually expect from their resort and the surrounding areas. So we booked in another resort for a week and La Mariposa for the remainder of the trip. The 1st place was a disaster as they lied about almost everything! We were so glad that we split up the trip and upon arrival at La Mariposa we were treated like VIP's and it measured up to and exceeded all expectations. I would definitely recommend this resort to any travelers and will be staying there again should I be in that area. Thanks guys!

Room Tip: spring for the ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ronny k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    762
    348
    114
    48
    53
See reviews for
374
592
31
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

We found this hotel when we visited Costa Rica in 2005 and said we would definately return. We were thrilled that the hotel not only lived up to our memory but exceeded it. We are fortunate to have stayed at many 5 star hotels when we travel with business. When we travel for fun, we look for a hotel that has a lot of ammenities but also reflects the character of the area. The La Mariposa is a gorgeous property located on the top of a mountain with a 360 view. The pictures on the web site can not do it justice. The infinity pool was updated since our last visit to include room for those who want to swim laps. Many of the rooms have also been remodeled. We spent a week at the hotel and spent 60% of our time at the pool. The bar makes an excellent Vodka Mojito and the views are so incredible that it was hard to leave. We saw monkeys, birds, an iguana, and a Jesus Walker [beautiful lizard] all on the hotel premises. I have been to Costa Rica three times and Manuel Antonio is by far my favorite area and La Mariposa is the only hotel where I will stay when I come back.

Room Tip: Spend the money for a room with a view. The rooms that are higher up have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

I spent my stay in Manuel Antonio at hotel la Mariposa and was not let down. Upon arriving, we were upgraded to an amazing room with an even more amazing view. The room looked right over the ocean and lush greenery. After a long day at the beach, I was sitting on the porch and a whole group of monkeys came scampering across and jumped into the trees - so cute! The hotel has a great restaurant and is in a convenient location - you can take a bus to the beach and park area or take a cab to a nearby restaurant for very cheap since you're pretty central. The infinity pool overlooking the ocean is heaven, I would recommend this hotel a million times over!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ilac318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahnattan48
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

La Mariposa is in an absolutely beautiful setting - the highest spot looking over the ocean, with the nicest people at the front desk and in the restaurant. The food was excellent - fresh (of course) and well handled. Breakfast is included and they have someone on hand to make your eggs however you want them. That's in addition to the standard Costa Rican fare of rice and beans and plaintains, plus pancakes, bacon, sausage, toast, etc. George, the chef, greeted us at our table when we had lunch there and lunch was excellent - I had a Salad Nicoise with grilled tuna. Unfortunately we did not get to have dinner there, but I would guess it would be very good. Their Sangria was delicious and they had yummy desserts!

They upgraded us to a room with an ocean view so that was very nice. My only complaint is that their mattresses are very hard, and the bed linens not the best quality. That's the only reason they do not get 5 stars from me. If you are looking for a Costa Rican experience (as opposed to an America style hotel) this is a great place to stay.

We booked our Manuel Antonio tours through Iguana Tours: fabulous boat tour of the Mangroves, great walking tour of the National Park, and horseback riding up into the rainforest area to a waterfall and private swimming pond. The guides were terrific at spotting animals and birds and lizards etc. that we never would have seen otherwise. Dinners were included after the boat and horseback riding tours, and snacks after the National Park tour. The dinner that was provided after the horseback riding at a ranch was especially delicious.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manhattan48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

I went for a very short stay and fell in love with this hotel. We travel a lot and hate big chain hotels. This was very intimate and the staff went out of there way to make us feel special. I will be returning to this place many many times and am planning my wedding there.

This should be the #1 place to go in Manuel Antonio.

The pools were great. Bar was very nice. And the restaurant was amazing. The chef greeted our table several times to see how everything was. They are opening up a new Pizza place in a week or so.

I have nothing bad to say about this hotel.

Room Tip: Any of the Ocean View rooms are great. We had a Premiere Ocean View. If you are traveling with famil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Photogirl2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

This was my first time to Costa Rica, and upon arriving at La Mariposa I was greeted with warmth by the entire staff. In particular we befriended a specific employee named Franco, who was awesome! He told us the ins and outs of Manuel Antonio and Quepos and offered us a lot of great advice. He single handedly made our trip that much better. It was also great being able to talk to someone like Franco who was so willing to go above and beyond the standard level of the hotel staff. This was the most amazing trip I have ever been on and thanks to La Mariposa and Franco I will gladly be returning in the next years to come!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taylor O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa Zancudo
Level Contributor
52 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

The hotel made special arrangements for us after we'd been robbed in a house we had rented in Manuel Antonio. We were able to stay in one of the corner rooms that offer 2 huge walls of glass overlooking the Pacific and it really was spectacular!! Recently we saw a piece on bad hotel rooms on NBC's Today Show and were a little sad that the reporter did not mention the obvious which is, of course, that there can only be a certain amount of rooms with 2 walls of glass facing the ocean . . . the end units!! They dissed this hotel (and others around the world) for "false" advertising, but if you have some common sense and do a little research, you should be able to figure out the ups and downs.

Room Tip: Corner ocean-front rooms have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PlayaZancudoDot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
1.6 km away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
1.1 km away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#12 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
0.5 km away
Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Vil...
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#15 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
0.6 km away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mariposa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mariposa Hotel

Property: La Mariposa Hotel
Address: Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio National Park 60601, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Mariposa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most magnificent settings in the world, Hotel La Mariposa stands majestically a top the highest point in Manuel Antonio and is best known for its award-winning 360 degree view overlooking the blue waters of the Pacific Ocean and the Manuel Antonio National Park, in Costa Rica. Nature and luxury flawlessly combine with 63 well-appointed rooms in a Spanish-Mediterranean architectural design and tropical gardens with walkways and trails meticulously landscaped to reflect the natural beauty of Costa Rica's abundant plant and wildlife. Experience the stunning magic of the legendary Manuel Antonio sunsets while sipping a tropical cocktail at our "Sunset Bar and Lounge," while dining in our world-class international restaurant "Le Papillon" With over 38 years experience, our personalized service and unforgettable views have made La Mariposa a top choice for the most discriminating travellers, who relish both its intimacy and magnificence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your La Mariposa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mariposa Costa Rica
La Mariposa Hotel Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing