We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended! Great stay for a fair price!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Las Tres Banderas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Las Tres Banderas
Maastricht, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended! Great stay for a fair price!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

In March/April 2011 I’ve stayed at hotel Las Tres Banderas for a few weeks, which was an all positive experience. The hotel is conveniently located between Quepos and Manuel Antonio and getting to either town or Manuel Antonio National Park and the beach will take 5-10 minutes by car, cab or bus. The hotel is at a few 100 feet from the main road which makes it quiet and gives one the feeling of being in the middle of the jungle.

The hotel’s pricing is very reasonable. A regular room with bathroom, tv, phone, balcony, safe and air-conditioning costs around 85 Dollars; breakfast and tax included. The rooms are what you’d expect from a hotel in this price range; clean, spacious and with comfortable beds. Basically all you need in this beautiful country where one is not likely to spend too much time in their hotel room anyway.

The food at Hotel Las Tres Banderas is excellent. I can recommend the Dorado with cognac and almond sauce or the shrimp in tequila sauce. My personal favorite however is Andy’s Burger: definitely the best and biggest hamburger in the area and beyond (I’ve tried quite a few burgers around Quepos and Manuel Antonio over time).

The prices of the food are also reasonable. The hotel bar is well stocked with spirits from all over the world. The owner; Andy, who is almost always present is very helpful and always up for a good chat and a drink with the guests. He speaks English, Spanish and Polish (hence the 3 flags/3 banderas (Polish, U.S. & Costa Rica).

The service at the hotel is good. The rooms are cleaned regularly and the personnel is trustworthy; meaning you won’t have to worry about leaving things in your room. (unlike at some other hotels in the area) The hotel has plenty of parking space and the premises are guarded at night.

Internet is available over WiFi in the restaurant/bar area and in some rooms close to that and the connection is fairly good for Costa Rican terms. Furthermore, Hotel Las Tres Banderas has a nice big pool which is amidst the trees, giving it a nice “jungle feeling” when taking a dip to cool off; especially when the squirrel or capuchin monkeys (which visit the hotel near daily), are around. Apart from the pool, there is a massive Jacuzzi for those who which to relax a bit while enjoying a nice glass of wine or a cold beer.

For those wanting to take canopy tours and other day activities; the owner has close contacts to nearly all tour operators in the area and guests booking through the hotel will get a discount on most tours.

I was more than satisfied with my stay at Hotel Las Tres Banderas and I will definitely go back there. It's a cozy and hospitable place to stay at and I can recommend the hotel to anyone who is looking for a great place to stay against a fair price!

Room Tip: Visit Manuel Antonio National Park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SjoerdHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    94
    51
    43
    28
See reviews for
57
129
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2011

This is more along the lines of a lodge/b&b type place. Great location and the Owner is very helpful. The place had everything I needed, helpful staff, food on location, cold a/c, and tropical setting. I would stay here again :)

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank imperialCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2011

Great room, great food, great staff & felt right at home ! also if you can`t have a good time having a drink or 2 with andy (the owner) there very well may be a stick up your arrs. I have read some of the bad reviews and you can`t please everyone, I own a bar restaurant and do everything I can to please people and still get some bad reviews, so people take them with a gran of salt. we can`t wait to go back, wish we were there right now. thanks to everyone at tres banderas and esp. andy !

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beachcomber93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2011

During my short trip in Costa Rica, I surely got the best price quality deal in hotel “Las Tres Banderas” (Manuel Antonio). The area is known as one of the most expensive of the country, I got a standard room for $80 breakfast included. Very clean with everything you need (great deal). The Polish owner Andy may look a little bit strange at the beginning, but if you have a couple of shots with him in his well provided bar, you will have a different opinion. Andy is a typical European with a great general knowledge and likes to socialize and talk about everything (don’t try this if you are not prepared to have a drink with him, then he is silent as a grave) I guess he learned this when he lived in the states. Nothing is for free. He is a great admirer of the American dream. Manuel Antonio is a part of Costa Rica you have to see. The national park (closed on Monday), the beautiful beaches and lots of other things to do. Very good for sport fishing. Andy can also hook you up for that one, on top of it he will make you a buffet with what you caught (fish 6 different way’s, unbelievable, try also his burger BiGGGG and very tasty). The second part of Costa Rica I was really impressed with was the volcano” Arenal” area. also not to miss. Tip! Don’t drive at night, some of the roads are terrible and avoid to walk on the street, they don’t really care about you. I can only say, if you come to Costa Rica don’t forget Manuel Antonio.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carlosherrero14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2011

After having a long days travel, I arrived at Las Tres Banderas and I was welcomed by the owner Andy. He showed me my room which was more than comfortable ... I stayed in really bad places during this trip! I came down to the bar and ended up having many drinks with Andy, who is a funny guy and pleasurable company. I ordered some food from the restaurant and it blew me away ... his cook Grey is one of the best cooks I came across on this trip. I stayed for 4 more days than I originally planned because of the relaxing environment and the nice company.
I can recommend this hotel to everybody looking for a comfortable place to stay and who doesn't have hundreds of dollars to spend on a hotel room for a night.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martijn71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garland, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2011

We have stayed in Tres Banderas many times.
We love this place, we love the friendly owner Andy, and the services He provided.
Food was fantastic.
You wish to relax go to Tres Banderas.....we enjoyed staying there each time, and will be back.
Mela and Richard.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mela2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa Park, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2011

I've stayed at the Tres Banderas for years. The rooms are clean and very affordable, the food is excellent, and the staff is very accommodating. This particular trip included my father-in-law, who had never been to Costa Rica. For someone who is use to "the finer things in life", his stay at the Tres Banderas was extremely enjoyable.I will continue to travel to CR and will always stay at the Tres Banderas when in the Manuel Antonio area.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnt1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
1.1 km away
Hotel Mandarina
Hotel Mandarina
#25 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
2.4 km away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#28 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel La Colina
Hotel La Colina
#37 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Divisamar Hotel & Casino
Divisamar Hotel & Casino
#35 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#29 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
1.5 km away
Condotel Las Cascadas
Condotel Las Cascadas
#18 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Tres Banderas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Tres Banderas

Property: Hotel Las Tres Banderas
Address: Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Las Tres Banderas 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Las Tres Banderas is conveniently located between the port of Quepos and Manuel Antonio National Park, the most famous wild life reserve and beach destination area in Costa Rica. It offers a secluded setting amongst tropical trees and plants, far away from traffic noise and city hustle/bustle. While the beach is nearby, your only visitors will be birds, monkeys and sloths.Each unit at Hotel Las Tres Banderas is decorated with imported tile and beautiful Costa Rican wood whitch serves to accent the elegance of every room. No expense has been spared on the final touches of the hotel's decor. Costa Rica and our hotel offer an especially relaxing atmosphere. We are certain that you won't be disappointed with either one of them. While you are here, lets get to know each other better and even become friends. Who knows, we may even end up explaining why we call our dream come true Hotel Las Tres Banderas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Las Tres Banderas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Tres Banderas Hotel
Hotel Las Tres Banderas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing