We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT TIME!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Las Tres Banderas
Escazu, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GREAT TIME!!”
Reviewed 27 February 2011

Stayed here for 1 week and had a ball!! Andy is the best host in the country!! Thanks for everything. The food is good and the atmosphere is super.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orlpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    95
    51
    44
    28
See reviews for
57
131
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2011

Stayed there for week very great place can not find better place for the buck. Also service great . Not far from beach or downtown quepos . Management very good . Very friendly place . All staff are great .

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaysondoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genk, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2011

This hotel is more suited for people who don't mind old-fashioned furniture, substandard beds and very ugly decor. I really thought that I was in a place from the 1920s. The sheets on the bed were flowered covered, but too big for the mattress. There were dead ants on the floor in the living room. One of the bath towels had a spot on it and it looked like rust or something. At breakfast, we were given some toast that tasted like it was three days old. It tasted rancid. The room came with breakfast but the owner had the juice and other items away from the guests. You requested juice and they brought it to you. I suspect this was their way of conserving. I didn't feel like I could ask for another glass. In all fairness, this may not have been the case, but the feeling I got from the staff led me to this conclusion. The main thing I saw that turned me off about this hotel was the distance to the beach, the outside appearance, and the owner. There was in my opinion no professionalism. He was drinking beers with his buddies at 10:00 am when we were checking out.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackbelg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels

Manuel Antonio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2011

The place is homey, and the owner, andy is very friendly. while the location is great and the atmosphere is very quaint, like other commentators have said it needs some updating. The room furniture was worn out, and i would not even sit on the couches inside or on the outside porch. the beds are another story entirely. This guy has no idea that mattress's wear out, and ours was lumpy and old. I was disgusted. There was no mattress pad, and i could feel the lumps all night long. The sheets were threadbare and torn and the pillows hard. The food was average. On the plus side, the ambiance is very nice and it is small so there is no zoo atmosphere like the nearby disney-like Mariposa. If you are looking for simple and relatively inexpensive lodging, go there. If you want something nice, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Levi56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2010

This hotel is in a serious need of updating, the rooms are tiny, smelly, buggy and damp. The beds are uncomfortable and the pillows flat!. The window air conditioner is right at the bed level so it blows right on you.The shower stall had a broken area near the bottom and could easily cut you. We found out from the one other guest staying there at the same time that it's used mostly by fishermen. The location isn't great either, not within walking distance of anything. There was a public bus stop at the street entrance however. I can't even give the breakfast a decent rating. Do yourself a favor and don't stay here. Manuel Antonio has much to offer but this hotel isn't the place to enjoy it.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funtraveler027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian, VA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2010

I love this place. The owner is charming, the room was extremely clean, the facilities lovely, the food was great. I am NOT comparing this to a 5 star facility. HOWEVER, for a relatively modest place, it was great. It had a nice pool and air conditioning, which appearantly isn't a standard feature in CR (and no, it was not an old unit as one reviewer indicated. It appeared to be fairly new.) There was a nice balcony overlooking the forest, and a nice tiled bathroom and shower. There was a hair dryer, and the pillows and sheets seemed fine to me. (They were NOT 600 thread count, nor were the pillows fluffy down. There was no duvet which I would have expected for $200 a night. It's not a down/duvet kind of a place... I'm not sure what the people who complained were expecting for a $55 room, but I was perfectly satisfied. I had a wonderful grilled fish dinner for $10, and my daughter had a shrimp and pasta dish for $15 or so with the biggest shrimp I have ever seen in my life. I watched the cook prepare it and everything was fresh. This place was a great value for the money. I will definitely come again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolahb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2010

Just returned from a wonderful trip to Costa Rica with my husband and friends. Our least favorite hotel was Tres Banderas. The owner, Andy, was not in a good mood when we were there. The rooms need new mattresses, sheets, pillows, bedspreads, and the air conditioners have to be over 15 years old. We found a few las cucarachas wandering around the floor. Loved the private balconies in the back, but this hotel has seen better days. Andy might consider investing some money into making some much-needed improvements.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fiddler1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
1.0 km away
Hotel Mandarina
Hotel Mandarina
#24 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
2.4 km away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#27 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel La Colina
Hotel La Colina
#37 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Divisamar Hotel & Casino
Divisamar Hotel & Casino
#34 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
1.5 km away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#18 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Villas El Parque
Hotel Villas El Parque
#43 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Tres Banderas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Tres Banderas

Property: Hotel Las Tres Banderas
Address: Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Las Tres Banderas 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Las Tres Banderas is conveniently located between the port of Quepos and Manuel Antonio National Park, the most famous wild life reserve and beach destination area in Costa Rica. It offers a secluded setting amongst tropical trees and plants, far away from traffic noise and city hustle/bustle. While the beach is nearby, your only visitors will be birds, monkeys and sloths.Each unit at Hotel Las Tres Banderas is decorated with imported tile and beautiful Costa Rican wood whitch serves to accent the elegance of every room. No expense has been spared on the final touches of the hotel's decor. Costa Rica and our hotel offer an especially relaxing atmosphere. We are certain that you won't be disappointed with either one of them. While you are here, lets get to know each other better and even become friends. Who knows, we may even end up explaining why we call our dream come true Hotel Las Tres Banderas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Las Tres Banderas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Tres Banderas Hotel
Hotel Las Tres Banderas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing