We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mot Mot is the best!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mot Mot is the best!!”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I loved this place. Can't wait to go back. You couldn't ask for more. The service is the best I have ever had. It was clean, beautiful and relaxing. Bill and Deigo, helped us make the trip perfect.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aileecia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
HI Aileecia....thanks for your review on Villa Mot Mot......it is a great villa and very popular.....jungle/tropical design and ambiance......nice ocean views too....plus Diego and Bill as your personal concierges to handle every detail of your stay.....hope to see you back again soon!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,124
    129
    28
    13
    5
See reviews for
1,139
719
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Our family of six (four kids ranging between 17 months and 10 years old) stayed in Casa Panorama Upper for a week. We have been back home more than a month but my delay in submitting a review is no reflection on how much we CHERISHED our holiday! We have raved about it to all our friends, still reminisce about highlights every day, and immensely enjoy watching the photos scroll by on our screensaver :) All the postcards back to family and classrooms have finally now arrived, so it is time to get typing...

We booked with Dave by email/telephone: the friendly [spot-on] advice and ease of making the arrangements just set the tone for our whole experience. Our delightful concierge Kimberly was in touch frequently prior to the trip, answering all the detail questions as well as prompting us to dream about all the delights awaiting us. The van drivers for our transfers to and from San Jose were courteous, prompt, safe, and very reasonable in cost. And there was Kim waiting to welcome us, making the kids feel at home after a long trip and my husband and I realize that there was actually someone taking care of US for a change!! From the scoop on the best burrito, to gentle steering toward adventures that were best suited for our children (including just hanging out on the beach - we never felt the pressure to buy more tours than we wanted), Kim was a wonderful host in Costa Rica without ever being the least intrusive. She is a gem.

And Tulemar itself!! The villa was beautifully appointed but still comfortable to live in for a week with children. Vanessa and Patricia took excellent care of the place daily, were patient with my very rusty Spanish, and - be still my beating heart - even did our laundry (in my defense, the washer was broken... thank goodness!). Casa Panorama truly has a breathtakingly glorious view, such that even the children watched every sunset in silence. Titis toured the veranda on the first morning, and the white-faced monkeys most days. Howlers, sloths, toucans, lizards - and those are just what we spotted on the walks to the beach. The beach was what made the property absolutely perfect for us: warm water, gentle surf (apparently more so than usual), zillions of hermit crabs, lovely staff to offer shade/towels/boogie boards/snorkeler-spotting services, and wicked smoothies.

We also enjoyed the location within walking distance of lots of family-friendly places to explore in Manuel Antonio. We were very content not to have the hassle of a vehicle. Under Kim's excellent direction, we found many great eateries both for us all to eat-in, as well as take-out to be enjoyed "after bedtime" on our insect-free veranda: the older kids loved El Avion, the baby's fave was Cafe Milagro, and the adult pick for dinners was Agua Azul.

We could easily have spent a terrific week on the beach and in the "family [infinity!] pool" at Tulemar (so convenient to Casa Panorama). We did intersperse some days with adventures further afield, all coordinated through Kim. The Canopy Safari was amazing: the older kids had a blast with their dad, and the baby and I enjoyed waiting in the butterfly house - even the ride up the mountain through the palm plantations was interesting. I took the three older children on the Vinca Falmy Horseback Riding tour, which ended up being a private tour with the very entertaining Che: a serene trip through the rainforest and then swimming in the pool at the base of a waterfall (Tom Sawyer raft, and all) - and the kids declared the lunch afterwards to be the best food they had had in Costa Rica! We all went on a guided tour through the park, and again this was a success with a guide who seemed very able to engage each child and keep adults interested too - btw, with so many monkeys and sloths seen daily at Tulemar, we found the guide's telescope coolest for seeing tiny creatures magnified.

I am running out of superlatives. The villa, the staff, the resort, the natural setting, the local amenities, the weather - it was all above reproach. Pura vida, indeed. We will be back!

[One note to parents of young children: everything about this holiday was very well suited to travel with a toddler from our perspective. Certainly no hardship to siesta in luxury while she napped, sit with a coffee and listen to the howlers when she got up early, or "stay back" in paradise while others tried adventures for which she was too small! But do note that we did not meet a single veranda at Tulemar or in any restaurant etc which had railings that would actually contain our 20 lb munchkin - different building codes than Canada, certainly. So supervision as you would always, with a heightened awareness. Casa Panorama's doors to the verandas all have locks at about five feet so those were great for when we needed peace of mind.]

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Hi SD.....it was a pleasure handling your booking and we loved having your family with us in Tulemar......we have so many different villas/accommodations in Tulemar.....it can be confusing.....so having the option of calling us directly.....emailing....or using the "chat" feature right on our web site makes it easy.... 4tulemar.com ....we can answer all of your questions and help you choose the perfect spot.....like Casa Panorama......one of our most popular villas....so glad you enjoyed it! The ocean views are really amazing! Add the personal service of Kim....our Tulemar Beach.....the wildlife.....and it all adds up to a wonderful vacation! Thanks for taking the time to post such a thorough review. We hope to see you back with us again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level 5 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We got back over the weekend from a great stay at Tulemar. We had one of the smaller bungalows which worked well for our family of five. A bedroom with two queen beds and a separate living/dining area with a separate couch/bed. Next time, I want to stay at Casa de Frutas which looked amazing.

Our concierge, Shay, contacted us well before our stay and helped arrange transportation and a few excursions. She checked in with us every day and was helpful with lots of little things (finding an ATM machine that worked with our card, dinner reservations, calling taxis, etc.). She really helped push the trip over the top from a really fun place to one that is exceptional.

David down at the beach was wonderful outfitting us with chairs and umbrellas and towels and boogie boards. My young boys spent long, full days boogie boarding and body surfing. When we were finally done with the beach for the today, a shuttle was always around to take us up the big hill back to our room.

Really, nothing bad to say about the place. I will recommend it highly to all our friends and family members heading down to Costa Rica. We had a great time.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taitai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thanks for the great comments on Tulemar and the Bungalows! We loved having you and your family as our guests. Having a personal concierge, like Shay, really makes the trip so much easier for you; they handle all of the details and you enjoy the beach! We'd love to have you back at Casa de Frutas next time! It's an amazing villa!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Stay was really nice as most people are indicating, but wanted to point out some things about this unit that I was wondering about when I booked it.

You have great views of the ocean and nature below you. We could see the ocean when laying in bed, so no worries about the view

There is a bedroom with a door separating it from the living/kitchen area. There is a pull out couch for the 3rd person that my son used without issue.

In case you aren't told there is a small safe below the bathroom sink. There is maid service everyday. We stayed 4 nights and never really heard our neighbors upstairs.

We did 2 tours. The spice tour we felt was nice and worth the money relative to other costs if you are into hearing about spices and plants, though be warned you have to be on a gravel road for several miles that is very bumpy. The other tour was a private guided tour of the national park which was nice and we got to see some small animals and insects but honestly the best part was just hanging at the beach and seeing the monkeys steal peoples food. If looking to save some money I would just go to the park myself and walk the trails and hang out at the beaches.

Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Jamesfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Thanks for your description of Casa Panorama-Lower Suite....I'm sure that will help other guests in making their decision on which property works best for them......it's a great suite perfect for 2-3 guests.....plus Diego as your personal concierge makes it easy! I'm glad you enjoyed the spice tour....it's not for everyone....and I agree with you.....the national park is beautiful....but spending your time on the beach there is worth the trip.....you can see the animals in Tulemar! Hope to see you back with us again....

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We had a wonderful 8 days at Tulemar. It was hands down one of the best vacations we have ever had. The unit we had was big enough for our large family and spotlessly clean. Shay was extremely helpful and helped us organise our days and most of our evenings too. The grounds were fun to explore - we found cappucians, sloths, spider monkeys, howler monkeys, lots of geckos and one night TONS to crabs out on the roads.

We split our time on the property between the WONDERFUL beach and the family pool. Both had a lovely bar/grill for breakfass and lunchs and drinks (although the pool grill was not open every day). The food was great and there was something for everyone on the menu.

At the beach there was a wonderful attendant who helped us all get out in the kayaks; got the kiddies sorted with the boogy boards and planted lots of umbrellas in the sand. And thankfully, the shuttle from the beach UP the hill ran regualrly!!

Tulemar is very centrally located - there are lota of great shops and restaurants close by. Technically within walking distace but the UP and DOWN the hill can be a bit daunting! Good exercise though ... ;o)

My husband and son did some fishing charters for 2 days. We had a day of Surf lessons that Shay helped us book with Todd (the Surf God! lol!) ... He was fabulous (and doubles as an RMT if you are in need of a treatment)! Very knowledgeable and definitly a man of infinite patience. We booked a second day but the water wasnt too co-operative. I would highly reccommend the surfing - even if its just to take pictures of your children while THEY surf!

We did a half a day of Sailing, Snorkling and Dolphin watching - fabulous fun and great food but unfortunatly we didnt find any dolphins. We also did a half a day of Ziplining. Absolutly a blast (and a bit terrifying) ... we had Zipped before but nothing like this!

We were picked up and dropped off right at our unit for all of our out trips and even a trip to the grocery store ended with them "delivering" us back home with our snacks and drinks.

Looking for a TOP NOTCH VACATION? Talk to Shay at Tulemar - it will be your best vacay EVER!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deneenca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Thanks for the comments on your stay in the Bungalows, Tulemar and Shay, your personal concierge! We loved having you and your family with us. The wildlife, the pools, the beach and the location are all very special but the personal assistance from Shay (and our other concierges) really make it a memorable and easy trip. We use only the best tours, guides and professionals in the area, like Todd (the surf god - even for those that never thought about surf lessons, this is one activity that is a must do!) Fishing trips? Spanish classes? Yoga? Massage? A private tour of the national park or a private chef for a special dinner, these are the little touches that make your stay with us different! Thanks for booking with us and we hope to see you back again soon!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We traveled to Manuel Antonio as a party of seven -- ages 12 to 77 -- and we all loved Tulemar! We stayed in the Buena Vista Villas; the three-bedroom casas were perfect for our group. Spacious rooms, nice balconies and a private hot tub on the deck. The villas are beautiful and well-maintained, and when we had minor problems (toilets) the staff was on hand to fix them quickly. The views are gorgeous and a tribe of squirrel monkeys visited our deck one morning. Housekeeping called every morning to see when we wanted the room cleaned -- a very nice touch!
What to do on the property: there's wildlife to see and a couple of pools, but our favorite place was the private beach. Just a short walk or van ride down the hill, the beach was clean, never crowded, and provided free boogie boards and kayaks. The water is warm and we loved spending hours there. You can enjoy a drink and lunch there as well.
Staff: As part of your villa rental, you're assigned a personal concierge. Before our arrival, Julien was in touch via email to set up our transportation, excursions and answer any questions we had. When we arrived, Brian was our concierge and he was incredibly helpful with restaurant bookings and other arrangements. When we had to move units partway through our stay due to a previous booking, he made it incredibly easy for us and moved our luggage. The concierge service really adds a level of serenity to your visit -- you know you're going to be taken care of.
Excursions: We enjoyed the Canopy Safari zipline tour -- it was really a blast. Our tour of Manuel Antonio park with a private guide was very educational; my only criticism would be that there are tons of groups and it's a little crowded at times. But we saw sloths, howler monkeys, various birds and reptiles, and even two spiny lizards battling over territory. We also went on the Sunset sail tour, which included dolphin watchng, snorkeling and dinner. It was very relaxing and wonderful to see the dolphins cavorting in the water. Snorkeling is pretty crowded as several boats use the same area at the same time -- but still, it was a nice trip.
Private chef: Our last night we splurged on having a private chef come into our villa and prepare a meal. For about $40/person, we had an amazing meal that included appetizers, two salads, two soups, fish and two desserts. Chris is a wonderful chef and some of the highlights were the nut-encrusted snook with coconut sauce and the very spicy Thai shrimp soup. The tres leches cake was amazing as well. We loved it all! His assistant, Maykall, was very friendly and spent a lot of time chatting with us and showing us how to make various shapes (animals, boats, etc) out of our cloth napkins! It was truly a treat to get to select a menu and have it prepared in our villa -- and best of all, they did the cleanup too!
If there's a downside to this place, it's that it's not cheap -- but you get truly top-notch accommodations and service, in a beautiful locations. Well worth every penny!

Room Tip: Buena Vista 407 is a lovely unit -- nice views and at the top of the hill, so more private than some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmum99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
Thanks travelmumm99.....we loved having your family with us.....and we're so happy you enjoyed staying in our Buena Vista 3 Bedroom Villa......you described it and Tulemar so well.....our personal concierge system really does make the trip easy for you.....Julien helps with your plans before you even arrive.....from transportation into Manuel Antonio to booking some of those popular tours in advance to our private chefs, like Chris, whose dinners can become one of the highlights of your stay! Then Brian (or another) of our personal concierges handle your stay while inside of Tulemar, from dinner reservations to assistance with any little problem (recently Mauricio actually located a wallet a guest had left on the counter at a fruit stand in Quepos. Thanks again for booking with me and I hope to see you back in Tulemar again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We were able to stay within Tulemar for 4 nights and had a fantastic 4 nights.

The first night in a bungalow was a temporary resting place and was comfortable with great views.

The next 3 nights were spent at Casa Panorama South in the lower master suite. We can not wait to go back and we never repeat our destinations! The suite was awesome. Spacious, clean, new and incredibly comfortable. The balcony had an amazing view and we enjoyed gorgeous sunsets.

The private beach and restaurant/bar is exactly the kind of thing we were looking for. The food was super tasty and always hit the spot. The drinks were always refreshing. David had us set up with a kayak and chairs/towels without us ever having to put much thought in to it.

The pool across the street was rarely used and we had it to ourselves most of the time. Laying there with the infinity edge to yet another gorgeous view just set the perfect tone to our vacation.

Kimberly was our concierge and she had us feeling at home even before we arrived. She always knew answers to our questions even before we realized we were going to ask them. Contacting her was incredibly easy and she took care of our tours, restaurants suggestion and even drove us personally to the Quepos airport.

All the restaurants and shops within walking distance made Tulemar's location even more of a favorite for us. The sunset view from Barba Roja's balcony at Happy Hour makes for an easy night. Breakfast at Cafe Milagro always hit the spot. Tacos at Sancho's were super tasty.

The shuttles at Tulemar were on Costa Rican time but if you knew that ahead of time and called knowing you'd want a lift everything went smoothly. We never walked up from the beach, we always used a shuttle but walking up from the Villa to the street was pretty easy. Walking back from local restaurants we always felt safe and it helped walk off our meals :)

Casa Panorama and Kimberly really made for an awesome vacation and it was so hard to leave!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CnJ-July9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Thanks for your kind words on Casa Panorama, Kimberly and Tulemar! We're so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. The beach really is idyllic; warm, tropical waters, palms and sandy shores plus David and Daniella to handle all of your needs! Thanks for mentioning some of the local spots to eat as well, all easily accesible from Tulemar (there are over 10 restaurants within two blocks in each direction of our front gates). Thanks for booking with us and we look forward to your return!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.0 km away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,207 reviews
1.1 km away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,541 reviews
2.3 km away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,435 reviews
0.8 km away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,009 reviews
0.3 km away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#12 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulemar Bungalows & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulemar Bungalows & Villas

Property: Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
Address: Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tulemar is the premier resort development in Manuel Antonio. Gated and secure, the 33 acre jungle resort is perched on the hillside overlooking the Pacific, but continues down all the way to our own beach. It includes the Tulemar Bungalows and our special and unique villas such as Villa Mot Mot, Casa Panorama, Casa de Frutas, Casa Las Nubes, Villa Kiskadee and the new Tulemar Bamboo Villas just for couples. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tulemar Bungalows And Villas
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Tulemar Hotel
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing