We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villabosque

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Villabosque
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
jeffrx42
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“5 star location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2011

Hotel was very clean and the people working there could't be more helpful. We had a great breakfast every A.M. and had several dinners. The seafood for 2 was the best I think I have ever eaten. In the late afternoon a family of 8 -12 monkeys came down from the trees and were only a few feet away from the pool. Nice hotel for couples and families, but not much not life for singles. The beach is a short walk and the Manuel Antonio park is only 10 min. walk in the other direction.

Room Tip: we stayed in rm #10
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffrx42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    80
    21
    11
    5
See reviews for
50
101
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2011

We did not actually stay here but ate almost all our meals in the restaurant as the food was excellent and they catered to my food allergy. We left our camera in the restaurant the first night that we were here and it was returned to us the next day. We used their free internet service and booked more travel through their staff even though we weren't staying here. The beautiful, roomy pool was on the second floor and some tiny monkeys would arrive in the afternoon looking for food.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellierich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2011

Villa Bosque is a peaceful hotel. The facilities are very clean but can be very slippery when wet. The decor was a little too traditional for my tastes but still nice-looking. We got a corner room on the second floor and had a romantic wrap around porch outside. We really enjoyed having the pool all to ourselves when everyone else was at the beach. There were only two disappointing things about this place: 1) the owner seemed to prefer older guests, and 2) the restaurant served hamburgers, literally (they were made of ground ham rather than ground beef, which was awful since I really had a craving for ground beef that day).

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2010

Perfect place to stay if your going to the beach or the national park. Rather small rooms but clean and comforatble.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank henriktrofast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2010

This Hotel is located up the street in the center of Manuel Antonio.. great location, confortable rooms (specially #14) with beautiful balcony, big refreshing pool, the reception staff is very helpful and friendly...
Restaurant... its OK... food is not amazing however is quite expensive for the quality, most of the staff is absolutely friendly except for one waitress, however one person does not ruin the entire friendy athmosphere and beauty.
We recommend that place for a romantic getaway or to share with your family...
We have been there two times in two months and we look forward going back :)
Marianela

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarianelaLeiton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2010

I've never written on one of these before, but we adored our experience at Hotel Villabosque. We arrived in the city late and toured a couple of places before deciding on Hotel Villabosque. The owner's son Allen was so charming, helpful and friendly we were lured back to this spot. He was completely attentive to all our needs, bending over backwards to have our laundry done by first a.m. and even opening the kitchen/bar for us to have a midnight snack / fresh fruit concoction. He remarked this is your home :)

The little terrace restaurant is in an outdoor setting right on the property - just a couple of steps from our room. The food is down home good! Breakfast was delicious and plentiful, lunch was suprisingly gourmet. The staff was super friendly, attentive and knowledgable. Taught us which wildlife to look out for, which shells we could/not keep and forgave us checking out a little late due to monkey/sloth sightings on the trip back.

The next best part is that this little hotel is one of the FIRST in line to the Manuel Antonio park/reserve entrance. Since you can only enter the Park/Reserve on foot and come back wet from the beach and hot from the reserve walk, it is MOST convenient!! Glad we made this choice if not for that very reason because no one tells you that you have to walk all the way from your hotel - and there are many for miles!

Keep in mind, this hotel is not first class luxury, nor is the price. It is outdoorsy, clean, spanish-style charm with a little outdoor restaurant and courtyard attached. PERFECT!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gotraveling49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2010

this hotel is the perfect spot for a couple, a family or friends to relax close to manuel antonio national park. i highly reccommend a visit, if you don't wanna spend tons of money for a rooms, but at the same time don't want to miss quality. to pool in is clean and refreshing.
the food in the restaurant is ok, even though the prices might be a little overcharged.

definately worth the price!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fabiankoehli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.2 km away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
1.3 km away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Vela Bar
Hotel Vela Bar
#8 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel San Bada
Hotel San Bada
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#26 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
2.4 km away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#12 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villabosque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villabosque

Property: Hotel Villabosque
Address: 150 meters from the entrance to Manuel Antonio National Park and 150 meters from the beach., Manuel Antonio National Park 79-6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Villabosque 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Bosque Hotel is an exclusive small hotel next to Manuel Antonio Beach and National Park. Here you can take some time to yourself and relax in this amazing combination of beach and tropical rainforest. It’s the ideal starting point to visit some surrounding locations as the National Park, nearby rafting rivers and canopy tours, surfing or horseback riding. For those who prefer to relax Espadilla Beach a soft white sand beach or Villa Bosque’s beautiful pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Villabosque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villabosque Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing