We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (800)
Filter reviews
800 results
Traveller rating
586
120
46
23
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
586
120
46
23
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean clubinfinity poolprivate beachevery morningcosta ricaour honeymoongolf carthotel beachthe main roadromantic getawaypool restaurantview of the oceanbreakfast is servedwalked downmain poolhowler monkeysfloor to ceiling windows
Filter
Updating list...
510 - 515 of 800 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed in a villa at Hotel Makanda for three nights during an 11 day vacation to Costa Rica in early March. It is a truly wonderful place to stay and would be an ideal location for a honeymoon. The setting with the balconies overlooking the jungle and ocean beyond is simply superb and the balcony was a great place for breakfast. On our last morning there we had two Titi monkeys peering at us from the edge of the roof while we were eating breakfast(we did not feed them). They were very cute and it was the first time we saw the Titi monkeys while we in the Manual Antonio area. Breakfasts were delicious every day. We ate at the Sunspot Bar and Grill twice, once for lunch and once for dinner and both times it was quite good and we were practically alone. The hike down to the beach was fun and we enjoyed the beach even though I managed to lose my glasses when a big wave hit me from behind. The staff at the hotel were all cordial and helpful, particularly Leo at the front desk and Luis, the gate man. Although the Manual Antonio-Quepos area is pretty crowded with tourists you never really know that when you stay at Hotel Makanda. We're not sure we will return to the area but if we do come back to the Manual Antonio-Quepos area this is where we'll stay. It just doesn't get any better than this.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RLMskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Travelled to Manuel Antonio on several occasions. You can't beat the location and beaches.
Always wanted to stay at Makanda. In the past would come up from the beach and dip into their awesome pool and enjoy drinks with a sunset.

Rooms offer privacy and open verandas. Was kindly upgraded to a villa and enjoyed a large room, bathroom, comfortable lounging areas, and low key and attentive service. A bit dated as most hotels seem to be in this area, but nothing of poor taste as you might find in Hawaii. Hotel is walkable to main and more secluded beaches. Also a nice walk to the main road. There are many options in Manuel Antonio. What I like about Makanda is the location and the fact the let the "guest" be a guest. The energy of the hotel allows you to ease into a wonderful vacation. Could easily have stayed longer.

Can't beat the sunsets framed by beautiful trees. Food is great and breakfasts were plentiful.
Had a bit of a rough time traveling in Nicaragua and had no doubt my escape to Manuel Antonio would relieve my memories from the week before. Thanks Leo and Darian for a great stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 12, 2012

My husband and I visited Makanda By the Sea in March 2012 for 8 days. We had the best vacation imaginable. Leo from reservations helped us plan our trip and was extremely accomodating during our stay. Leo answered my daily emails prior to our trip and assisted us in every way possible. Darwin also from reservations was excellent and helped us chose restaurants and daily adventures. The hotel is designed so that your room is in a private setting with an amazing jungle setting. We enjoyed daily sunsets from our room. The food from the restaurant was fresh and beyond our expectation. We are still craving our homemade daily breakfast delivered to our room. Makanda is all about service and getting an incredible Costa Rican experience. We also truly enjoyed all of the wild life and beaches surrounding Makanda. You really do have it all right there!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank khesch273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Makanda by the Sea is a slice of heaven, hidden in the jungle hillside. The breakfast was incredible as monkey's joined us on our lanai. The swimming pool is the perfect temperature, and the poolside food was delicious. The rooms are exquisitely decorated, in a tropical and comfortable decor. The beds are so comfortable that it's difficult to want to get up and explore.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 7 and 8. Room 8 was very nice, below the pool, with a separate bedroom and a king size bed. Room 8 was even more beautiful, but had 2 queens. View was great from this room.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimkauai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We loved this hotel! Villa 11 was amazingly perfect and secluded.
The breakfasts in bed was such a nice touch and the food was beyond good!
We had dinner in the resto which was tasty and also loved the pool and hottub.
Nice smoothies by the pool too!
It was a not to crazy walk to MA beach and then a 50 cent busride back easily. Also we loved the private beach as it was a cool trek to get there and we could swim without bringing a whole lot of stuff to guard.
We loved this area so much. It felt like a different trip from Arenal and Monteverde, which were also amazing...so the diversitiy was great.
This hotel was difficult to say anything negative about. Internet by the pool too and a free drink upon arrival were nice touches too as well as coffee in the room.
Aww, i miss it!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews