We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Makanda by the Sea
Nearby Hotels
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parador Resort and Spa(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$189
US$180
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Mariposa Hotel(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$156
US$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel San Bada(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Las Cascadas The Falls(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gaia Hotel & Reserve(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$261
US$248
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tulemar Resort(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$486
US$471
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (718)
Filter reviews
718 results
Traveller rating
515
114
42
23
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
515
114
42
23
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean clubinfinity poolsunspot restaurantprivate beachpersonal paradisecosta ricaevery morningour honeymoongolf cartbottle of champagnepoolside restaurantthe main roadromantic getawaybreakfast is servedfront gateocean viewwalked down
Filter
Updating list...
429 - 434 of 718 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2012

My husband and I spent five nights at this hotel in early July. We actually booked the room at the last minute as we had changed our travel destination within CR. What an amazing place. We stayed in suite 11 for the first four nights and had to switch to another room the last night because suite 11 was booked to other guests. We were then upgraded to an amazing villa ( number 1). At first glance, the villa was unbelievable but we loved suite 11 more because it had a porch with comfy wicker chairs and a hammock. Villa1 did not. We saw wildlife on a daily basis and the breakfast was delivered to your our each morning. There was however one downside to this. Being very outdoorsy, we loved to get going early in the morning on our excursions. If you wanted to leave before 7:30 you could only get the continental breakfast which was not that plentiful. But, this was a very minor inconvenience. Big bonus, no children. Don't get me wrong, I love kids. However, being a teacher, it's nice to get away from them when on vacation. I would certainly opt for this hotel again.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank MaggieC1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 13, 2012

The hotel has several different suites and 'villas'. They all have different views of the sea. One room we saw, a senior suite nr 9, was very dark inside and you had to climb much stairs to get there. It smelt a bit moist. The sea-view was limited because of all the trees.

We decided to take suite nr 3, which was much lighter, had a better sea view and was better reachable. Inside it looked more modern. Unfortunately it had a suite on top with a connecting door between them. This meant that you could hear almost everything the neigbours were saying if they had a bit of a loud voice.

The pool was beautiful, a real iinfinity pool, although it had some bushes sticking out at the infinity edge. And we could see monkeys and sloths almost every day from the pool, which was very cool!!

The hotel does not ly on the main road, so you have to climb 600 meters up hill to get to the main road where you can find other hotels, restaurants and the bus to the Manuel Antonio National Park. They offer a free shuttle to the park, but that is only once a day and only one way.

There is free wifi, but only at the pool area.

They don't offer a free shuttle service to the airport.

We have spent the night in other much cheaper hotels in costa rica and Manuel Antonio that were much cheaper and offered more free services.

So overall, it was a nice hotel, but overpriced.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Alex7210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed two nights at Makanda by the Sea. It was amazing! The rooms are beautiful and have amazing jungle and ocean views. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The food at Sunspot Bar is WONDERFUL too! We loved everything about this place.

They provide breakfast for you and it is delivered to your room. The bed is SOOO COMFY too!!

We also saw more monkeys here than in the park. Kinda crazy but it is pretty awesome to wake up to the sound of howler monkeys. The villa we stayed in had a hammock on the porch. It was so nice we didn't even want to leave the room!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I have never stayed at the hotel but I Have eaten at the restaurant 3 times now! They have a great 2 for on deal on margaritas before the kitchen opens. Not only is the view of the sunset great and the pool but the food had always been 5 stars!! I have been here with a group of 7 and 4.. Both works but if u r looking for a romantic place in MA. THis is the place! The howlers were quict active during dinner the last time and it was a great added touch! Perfecto!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank dogsandcatsrmylife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for the first three nights of our month long honeymoon. We loved it. We stayed in Villa #10, and it was better than expected! The room was big, the bed was very comfortable, and the hammock was devine.

Our favorite part was eating breakfast on the pourch every morning watching the monkey's play. We would most deffinatly be back to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trvlkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews