We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Honeymoon in Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Hurley, New York
1 review
“Honeymoon in Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

My husband and I went to Costa Rica and spent 12 days at Issimo Suites. I guess that isn't typical because most people travel all over the country instead of staying in one area but we had the BEST time. We were there the last few days in November until the first week of December. Best time to go b/c the rainy season is clearing up and it's constant good weather. We only had one day of rain and even then it was clear by 2:30 in the afternoon, We stayed in one of the Penthouse Suites and it more than exceeded our expectations. It was so beautiful online but we didnt expect it to be as perfect in person, it definitely was! The staff at Issimo made our trip so easy and comfortable for us. Ivania, who helped us book our trip, and Elizabeth at the front desk were awesome with helping us with anything we needed. They made it super easy to book our tours. Through them, we booked a rainforest hike, a mangrove tour and a tour of the local vanilla garden/farm. They were so friendly and really made us feel welcome. The service at the hotel and their restaurant was incredible. Dixon was the best! He made the best margaritas and was always a pleasure to talk with whether we were at breakfast, dinner or just having a cocktail at the bar. Alex was an awesome bartender and David, the chef put out and EXCELLENT dinner! Everything we tried was stellar! Not to mention the spa! The girls were incredible. My husband and I booked 3 couples massages! It was addictive. We definitely would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Costa Rica and we are already trying to figure out a way to get back there for our one year anniversary! BEST TRIP EVER! Thank you to everyone at Issimo!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    488
    148
    57
    23
    20
See reviews for
34
571
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

Issimo is a great hotel situated in a beautiful locale with views of the ocean and within walking distance of a nice beach. The staff here really understand that you want to be treated well while on vacation, which can not be said of all hotels in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxwellP_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pekin,In
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

We were there a week in July 2011 and even though we only had two days with sunshine, our trip was great.There was no Penthouse suite with a balcony available the day we arrived so we were given the Royal Suite at no additional charge. Our Penthouse Suite was almost as nice and the staff kept it clean and inviting. Our first night we ate at the hotel restaurant, which was excellent. The second night we went to Manuel Antonio for dinner and when we returned to our room the candles were lit around the hot tub and rose petals sprinkled all around.
The view from our room was breathtaking. We saw monkeys on our balcony and a magnificent sunset from our balcony. The staff were even more impressive than the room. Ivania got us a taxi and information when we needed and made our reservations for excursions. Alex greeted us every afternoon and evening and told us a lot about the area. Willis greeted us every morning with a smile, fresh fruit juice and breakfast, which was delicious. Absolutely Everyone was wonderful!
There was a problem with the water temp being inconsistant but we were there during the slow time and they were working on improvements, one of them was the water. We started saving for a return trip the day we got home.

Room Tip: We had a balcony and it was fabulous. Monkeys came right on to it as we sat outside enjoying the jun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

The hotel is situated about 1 mile down a steep, winding very dark road, walking upto the top and other restaurants is not really an option, you need a taxi.

The hotel itself is pleasant enough, though the rooms are very odd, I have never before had a hotel room where the bath is in the room and the toilet is behind some louvered half height saloon doors. The beds are comfortable, the rooms are clean and all the expected accoutriments are there.

The restaurant facilities and bar are very limited, it is not somewhere you would want to spend an evening, unless you were happy to spend it sitting alone by the pool, or on your shared balcony. For us the only otion in the evening was a taxi ride up the hill to the town and its restaurants/bars.

Overall, I would say, the hotel is clean and comfortable, though it is too isolated and lacks too many amenities for it to suit our tastes.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

My husband I just returned from our honeymoon. We spent 3 night at Issimo, the room was beautiful, that staff was so nice and helpful. The breakfast with fresh fruit and juice was delicious and the message was to die for. We are already missing the view!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank takemeethere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastian, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

We returned home today from a great 4 night stay at Issimo. We were worried that the hotel would not be as nice as pictured on their web site. We were very pleasantly surprised. As we were celebrating an anniversary, we opted to splurge on the Royal suite. The property is beautiful and located so as to provide wonderful views. The room itself was well appointed and clean. They had candles lit and flower peddles throughout for our arrival. We relied on heavily on the staff prior to our arrival to arrange our excursions for the entirety of our stay and they did a fantastic job. The meals were first class all the way. While there we saw 2 different types of monkey, a sloth and 3 tucans....all from our balcony! The service was superb from start to finish. Issimo is every bit as nice as pictured, you won't be dissipointed!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CSIS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boerne, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

We stayed in penthouse 106, which is the one pictured with the bed and sunset on the hotel website. It was beautiful and very romantic. We got great pictures of a troop of orange-brown backed squirrel monkeys who came to our breakfast! The staff, particularly Alec, were very helpful. We drove our own car to Manuel Antonio National Park (where you should drive all the way to the entrance to see the parking possibilities), so we did not use the available shuttle. We enjoyed Cafe Milagro on the way to and from the Park. Remember to adjust the in-room temperature to avoid the humidity which can spoil your great views. The owner said he was remedying the occasional lack of hot water for our jacuzzi. Rain kept us from enjoying our (very small) balcony. We were happy to have a GPS, which took us to a nearby ScotiaBank to buy more colones!

Room Tip: 106 was great, although it occupied only half the floor it was on. You might check out the top pent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MIT1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
2.0 km away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
0.6 km away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#13 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
0.8 km away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#15 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
0.4 km away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
2.3 km away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa

Property: Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa
Address: Waterfront, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel, Spa & Waterfront Reserve offers intimacy and elegance for your romantic escape. Each suite includes a Jacuzzi bath tub for relaxation and enjoyment, as well as a majestic ocean view overlooking a pristine pacific cove. A plush king size bed, sofa, and room service from our boutique restaurant await your arrival. You can also indulge yourself with a massage in our spa after a day of adventure on one of our many tours or beaches. Our romantic hideaway suites access adjacent sandy beaches with a walk to the cove or famous Manuel Antonio Park and beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Issimo Hotel Boutique
Issimo Boutique Hotel
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel And Spa Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing