We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Goodbye Gay Friendly...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big Ruby's La Plantacion

Big Ruby's La Plantacion
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Big Ruby's La Plantacion
Ojochal, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Goodbye Gay Friendly...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2008

I visited Manuel Antonio last week and was disappointed to learn that La Plantacion has sold. The new, straight owners intend to change the clientele of the hotel and eliminate its gay-friendly image. Leslie is still behind the front desk for now--but a lot of changes are happening. Good luck if you have advance bookings at this property.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank OsaJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    2
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
6
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2008

The best gay holiday we've ever had, La Plantacion is the perfect destination in Costa Rica. The property is absolutely beautiful, with immaculately manicured grounds surrounding the pool area, and the rooms themselves are superb. The staff are amazing, all of them accommodating, even though we don't speak Spanish, making our stay incredible. Leslie is so passionate and lovely, he made our stay absolutely perfect - he should definitely get a raise! I can't stop thinking about our vacation, and can't wait to go back!

  • Liked — Absolutely perfect GAY destination
  • Disliked — nothing, it was perfect
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NewYorkAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2008

Terrible experience.
We didn`t find a place to stay.....we arrived very late at night......at the morning the "big surprise".............
Definetly....if you are not gay....simply don`t stay there !!!

  • Liked — room
  • Disliked — just for gays
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank randreothegreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2008

I would come back and stay here again. It was absolutely a great place to stay. Staff was friendly, helpful, and went beyond the normal for me.

  • Liked — Great gay hotel, felt very welcome
  • Disliked — No Ocean view
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OldguyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2008

When considering booking a gay hotel near Quepos and Manuel Antonio, I was torn between the ones with ocean views, vs. the ones on the other side of the street more in the "jungle". The websites made them all seem similar. Here's what we learned when we got there: None of the hotels are on the beach in this immediate area. There are several miles between the ones with an ocean view, and the actual ocean. The ocean side hotels are on much more of a slope, so you have to deal with ALOT of stairs at those properties. The view at Casa Blanca is not worth climbing the Washington Monument to get to your room, neither was the room itself.

After one night we moved over to Big Ruby's for the rest of the week. When we walked in and saw the place, we were floored. It's gorgeous, and the website doe NOT do it justice! Yes it was more expensive, but not double as previously stated. We had a deluxe room on the first floor (so, no, their not all on the second floor). We liked the first floor better because other guests stopped to meet/say hi when you're sitting on your patio. No bug or critter problems. The staff is wonderful. Bill the manager asked everyday if everything was OK and could he get us anything. Leslie at the front desk is the most accomodating you'll ever meet. Paulo at the bar is a sweetheart, and no he doesn't make his own hours. The hotel bar closes at 9PM.

I would stay at La Plantacion before Villa Roca or Casa Blanca even if the rates got higher. It's that much nicer. My only regret is not checking the bar bill long before we checked out. No idea the bar drink prices were so high.

  • Liked — It's design, service and location are wonderful!
  • Disliked — Bar drink prices surprisingly high
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Futurecruzan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAHMike
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2008

I was pleasantly surprised at how beautiful the hotel property was. It's not much to write home about from the street, but once you step out of the office it's paradise. Although there's no ocean view from the rooms the view of the pool and gardens are amazing. The room we had was spacious and very clean. The linens were top notch and the small touches like fresh flowers and bathrobes were nice.
The staff at the hotel were very friendly and made our stay very enjoyable. Paulo, the bartender was a hoot and makes a delicious mango margarita!
I definitely recommend the zip line tour with Jose. That was the best $65 I've ever spent. The tour lasted 5 hours including transporation to and from the canopy and the meal that is served at the end of the tour was delicious!
I highly recommend renting a car and driving to Quepos if flying into San Jose....but make sure you rent a GPS Navigation system if it's offered...the roads are not well marked so finding your way around can be difficult without one. National rents them along with their rentals for $8/day...well worth the money.
I'm already planning a group trip back to this hotel with friends. It's well worth the cost!

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank IAHMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2008

I had a truly wonderful time at Big Ruby's-La Plantacion. I had been to the Big Ruby's in Key West and based upon that experience, booked a room here.

The hotel is not on the beach and there are no ocean views. If you want that, go accross the street to other gay guest house.

What you have at Big Ruby's is a self contained, lush tropical garden. The property consists of a main house, with an open air salon, bar area and a lovely pool, which is clothing optional. There are about six or so bungalows and two other larger buildings with suites in them. All have private terraces. The grounds are gated and entry is restricted to guests. Once you check in, there are no worries about theft and you can drink the tap water!

When I was there, the guest mix was great. All gay men, about 70% from the US and the rest from Europe. All were friendly and there was a refreshing lack of attitude from both the guests and the staff.

I stayed in bungalow #4 which is in the back and has it's own and secluded view.

  • Liked — Location, luxury, all-gay guesthouse
  • Disliked — No ocean view
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank chasmader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.0 km away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#13 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#29 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
0.0 km away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
0.0 km away
Jungle Beach Hotel at Manuel Antonio
Jungle Beach Hotel at Manuel Ant...
#1 of 17 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.0 km away
Tabulia Tree Hotel & Villas
Tabulia Tree Hotel & Villas
#5 of 17 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Ruby's La Plantacion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Ruby's La Plantacion

Property: Big Ruby's La Plantacion
Address: Apto 94-6350, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Manuel Antonio National Park
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
La Plantacion (Big Ruby`s) Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Big Ruby's La Plantacion Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing