We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation by the Sea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We stayed at this resort with friends in March 2011. The resort was great. Amazing landscapes, iguanas all over the place, valet room service by golf cart. Great beach spot complete with bar service and a great beach restaurant. We saw monkeys on the property as well as a two-toed sloth and many halloween crabs (whose babies visited us in our room (no they don't bite). The staff were friendly and accommodating. The suites were very clean. Grounds interesting and lush. Nice gift shop.

Room Tip: Our room had an ocean view. We had a jacuzzi on our deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OffTheBeatenPath_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,867)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,331 - 1,337 of 1,867 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2012

We just finished our third stay at Arenas Del Mar. We have come the same week in January for the last three years.

Why do we keep coming back? The number one reason is the staff at the hotel. They treat you like family. Some of the folks there have been there for the last three years. Robbyn has been great to us all three visits. A number of others have been there at least two years and some all three. I think that is remarkable retention in the hospitality business.

What really touched us is the recognition that the staff gave for our third visit. They arranged for a special table for lunch one day at the Playitus beach. It was complete with elaborate table cloths and decorations. They also went out of their way to make special exotic drinks that were served in full pineapples. Best of all, they had a dozen red roses on the table for my wife. Lunch was terrific and they picked up the bill.

We have been to four different beach areas in Costa Rica. Arenas del Mar has the best location and beach out of all of them. I prefer this location to the Four Seasons in Pappagayo.

I also like the changes that were made for this year. They stock your frige with drinks and treats each day at no charge. All calls from your room are free, including international calls. breakfast is no longer a buffet. In addition to your entree, they bring you out a platter of fresh cut fruit and a second platter of fresh baked delights. Different each day.

They also delivered a bottle of wine to our room and three different times, we had fresh fruit in the room all as part of the services.

Just a great attitude and service level you just can't find in a lot of places.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view with privacy ask for building #7. The lower number buildings are jungle view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank fnct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestserviceADM, Manager at Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2012

Dear Friend,

Thank you for your third visit with us and such a wonderful review highlighting the service and staff. It makes us proud to hear those comments. We hope you will be able to come back many more times in the future and see the same employees and receive the same kind of attention. We realize that our spectacular setting next to two beaches and the incredible views of Manuel Antonio National Park make Arenas de Mar a very sought out resort, but what really makes the difference is how you are treated. Thanks again for pointing this out to future travelers to Costa Rica. Pura vida and see you next January.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We spent two nights here and I was sorry it couldn't have been a week. It's truly a slice of paradise. We were upgraded to an ocean view room with an outdoor spa on the balcony. Room 402. The room, staff, food, location, atmosphere/decor, etc etc etc. were perfect in every way. The location is perfect and away from the crush of tourists in Manuel Antonio, thankfully. I'd go back in a heartbeat!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lynettelemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Where most bars, restaurants and hotels can't figure out that the working staff is its most important asset, Arenas Del Mar should be their model. Every person we encountered including reception, maintenance, security and especially the wait staff were over the top friendly (and appeared truly happy to be working there). By the 2nd day most of them were calling us by name. Adding to this uniqueness are first class accommodations, picturesque landscape, uncrowded beaches and great food. Thank you Alexandra, Carlos, Mino, Julio, Luis, Andres, Alan, Willie and everyone else (whose name I forgot or cant spell) for making this a perfect vacation.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

This hotel is heaven on earth! Two remote private beaches (like in paradise) add to the already extremely high value of this place. Great staff, fantastic food and simply a superb spot to relax.

Monkeys stroll along the beach, while you can enjoy a fresh Pina Colada in your hammock.

It's pricy but worth the money.
Not too ritzy. Also great for kids, as they provide lots of games.

Go there!

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ffemedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

This is a little bit of paradise, situated on a cliff in a forest just outside Manuel Antonio park on the west coast of Costa RIca, one of our favorite places that we have visited. You can easily get to the two gorgeous (uncrowded) beaches adjacent to the hotel. The beach is nice soft sand with warm water. You have to take a very steep road to the beaches but the hotel has little electric cars and they are there almost immediately whenever you want a ride. There are towels, boogie boards, and a shower station at the manned entrance to the beach (where you can request your ride when you are ready to go back to the hotel). It only takes about 1 minute in the little car but we frequently stopped en route to watch monkeys playing in the trees or the redheaded woodpecker or other wildlife. The staff (all local) are very good at spotting the wildlife and they will point it out if you ask. The Ocean View Premium Suite is expensive but gorgeous and very comfortable, worth a splurge. We had a full sized thermal carafe coffee maker in the room with great Costa Rican coffee and a mini-fridge with milk for the coffee and they put little local snacks in our mini-fridge every day for us to try. We had an incredible view of the ocean and the park from our room. We spent a lot of time in our room and on the covered porch because it was such a beautiful, relaxing spot. The staff are very friendly and speak English well, they are also happy to help you learn some Spanish. We loved to see all of the wildlife on the property, it is teeming with monkeys, birds, lizards, iguanas, sloths and many more forms of wildlife. It is great to see the wonderful attitude about conservation of natural resources and leaving the wildlife alone so they stay wild. There is a great nature tour guide on staff, Ersel (search youtube for ersel costa rica so you get the idea). The hotel offers bird watching tours, night time animal tours, and tours of the excellent park nearby (Manuel Antonio), along with other special interest tours, such as recycling, and local culture. The hotel website gives a very accurate idea of what it is like here. It is a very quiet, romantic place. The hotel restaurant is excellent, they have a great chef who uses local ingredients and has a varied, interesting, and delicious menu. There is a smaller restaurant at the little beach where you can have lunch. At both restaurants there is a pretty little freshwater pool nearby and a view of the ocean. The spa onsite is very nice too, the rooms have floor to ceiling windows onto the forest, with professional and friendly staff. There is lots to do in the area if you want adventure, zip line canopy tours, whitewater rafting, fishing, hiking, and so on. If you drive here yourself from San Jose, you should plan to drive in the daylight because the mountain road is very scenic and also because the roads are not well lit or well marked. The local roads in Manuel Antonio are also very winding and steep and I would not want to drive here at night, also the hotel driveway is extremely steep, almost like the main drop on a roller coaster.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Kathy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

First you take a nose dive down the steep, twisting driveway. Then you meet the gracious staff at the 'Welcome' center, they whisk away your luggage, give you a brief orientation, and put you in golf carts for the trip uphill to reception. At reception you are greeted by name, given a pineapple/mint smoothie, and assigned your rooms. The staff takes you to your room (luggage already there), shows you the amenities, including the jacuzzi on the deck overlooking the ocean. The next morning, after a wonderful breakfast, you explore the almost private beach and realize that you are in a very special resort. You are literally at the place where the rainforest meets the beach, surrounded by wildlife, near the national park, and of course just steps away from the ocean. Our four days at Arenas del Mar were as good as it gets. There are many beautiful places, but this was a beautiful place where the staff is extraordinary, that prides itself on creating harmony with the environment, supporting the local community, and making their guests feel at home. It was a wonderful place to spend the last four nights of our visit to Costa Rica. Highest possible recommendation, if you can get in, go to this place.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank stugru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
2.3 km away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,637 reviews
1.2 km away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,305 reviews
0.5 km away
Makanda by the Sea
Makanda by the Sea
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
564 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#9 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,513 reviews
0.7 km away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort

Address: Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio 60601, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#2 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#2 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#3 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $483 - $1,357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Manuel Antonio National Park, Arenas Del Mar is an extraordinary beachfront and rainforest resort catering to travelers looking for more than the typical luxury hotel experience. Stunning, luxurious, and sustainable, our hotel has 38 rooms with exclusive beach and nature views, nestled in eleven acres of rainforest with private trails and two tree-shaded white sand beaches. Unique among the hotels in Manuel Antonio, our carbon-neutral property offers sustainable, luxurious lodging. As well, we are proud to be the first Costa Rican luxury hotel to have been awarded the Five Sustainability Leaf Award and a Five Star Award. With this stunning location and a myriad of personalized services, on-property activities and land and water-based tours catered for honeymooning couples and families alike, Arenas Del Mar is the perfect base for exploring on your Manuel Antonio vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenas Del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing