We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool Place”

Monteverde Cloud Forest Biological Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

The walk through the rainforest is incredible. We did the trip solo. The trails are so well marked it would be impossible to get lost here.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"cloud forest"
in 656 reviews
"costa rica"
in 235 reviews
"guided tour"
in 218 reviews
"suspension bridge"
in 54 reviews
"continental divide"
in 145 reviews
"hanging bridges"
in 75 reviews
"hummingbird gallery"
in 53 reviews
"early in the morning"
in 38 reviews
"biological reserve"
in 38 reviews
"resplendent quetzal"
in 107 reviews
"rain jacket"
in 28 reviews
"howler monkeys"
in 47 reviews
"nice walk"
in 36 reviews
"plant life"
in 42 reviews
"santa elena"
in 71 reviews
"rainy season"
in 28 reviews
"zip lining"
in 28 reviews
Filter

209 - 213 of 3,151 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

We spent 4 hours walking through the cloud forest at monteverde. We didn’t do a guided tour but the guides we walked past were kind enough to tell me the names of some birds when I asked. Beautiful scenery and surrounded by bird calls all morning. Saw 2 quetzals and hummingbird. Lovely place!

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank Hannah V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018

WE hired a guide as we found that Guides are able to find things and identify species easily. Our Guide Jorge was very enthusiastic , spoke excellent English and spent the morning with us helping us get a real feel for the reserve. We were lucky in that we saw both male and female Quetzals. WE also saw a Green side stripped Pit Viper rather close to the path!. WE spent the afternoon wandering around the reserve on our own. This reserve is well worth a visit.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank TrevorTJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018

We loved it! This is the place were we've seen most animals (we did not use guide): hummingbird in a nest (and logs of hummingbirds at the Colibri cafe next door), howler monkeys, spider monkeys, coati, female resplendent quetzal (one of the guides allowed us to look into his telescope, thank you!), and the special treat - kinkajou which came to Colibri cafe in the middle of the day to eat some of the nectar from the hummingbird feeder!
In the Reserve we really enjoyed the hanging bridge, the viewpoint at the continental divide, and of course just walking the trails and taking in the experience of a cloud forest (it was sunny that day, so not much cloud but a LOT of wind).
Getting there: if you don't have a car, there is a bus which goes from the center of town (St.Elena) to the resort - see picture for the schedule (first bus leaves at 6:15, next at 7:30 am), costs CRC700
TIPS: come early - better chance to see the birds.
Walk in a direction opposite to the one suggested at the ticket office - this way you won't see as many people and most of them would be moving in the direction opposite to you.
Do visit the hanging bridge - it is really cool!
Bring water and snacks - we found bananas are best.
Bring binoculars to see wildlife.
Wear shoes which won't mind being soaked in mud (actually, all the secondary trails were ok, as they are paved with some special brick which allow them to drain moisture), but the main one - Sendero Camino was just mud - try to limit your time on that one.
There is a new interpretive app which you can download by the ticket office and use at Sendero Nuboso - we did not have a chance to try it as we only noticed it when leaving the park.
Cafe colibri at the entrance outside of the park - is a must to see amazing beautiful hummingbirds. They don't pay attention to people, so you can come very very close. Give yourself extra time to enjoy! We did not eat there but left a donation to support this amazing experience

Date of experience: February 2018
4  Thank YaFi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

We came here on a beautiful sunny day in March with no clouds whatsoever, which was fine because at least we stayed warm and had great visibility. We walked with a guide along the Sendero Tosi trail towards the waterfall. Along the way we saw amazing flora, fauna, and some wildlife, including birds and even a tarantula. Our guide was fantastic and I’m glad we used one as we would not have learned as much as we did by having done it on our own. We were actually lucky enough to spot the “Resplendent Quetzel” bird, which is one of the most beautiful birds I’ve ever seen.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank PatriciaT917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monteverde Cloud Forest Biological Reserve also viewed

Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Monteverde Cloud Forest Biological Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing