We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff but not for us”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Casitas Sollevante
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We stayed here two nights during our honeymoon, although we had booked for four. The staff were very friendly and helpful, but the place itself was completely unsuited to us. We were put in a self catering bungalow which was down an unsafe, dirt track and overlooked a rubbish strewn slope and the washing lines. The bungalow was clean enough but lacked basic self-catering things like normal knives (we only had steak knives) and although the hotel offers frewe wi-fi it was impossible to get any. We were also joined by huge ants and a giant stick insect. On our second night our key broke in the lock (it was a cheap Yale rip-off) and we couldn't find anyone to help us for over 40 minutes - eventually another guest managed to get hold of the owner, who wasn't apologetic and at first said that he would just put us in another room for the night, even though all of our belongings were in the bungalow, including our dinner. Overall we felt as though we had paid a lot of money to be shoved out of sight and out of mind. Luckily we were able to check out early - the receptionist was very helpful and apologetic, to her credit - and paid $15 extra to stay at the wonderful Agua Vista.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ecarylloh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2012

we are from israel and toke 2 nighets in tish hotel. it a littel far from the center but is very quite area. the crew is very nice and helpfull. take it!

Room Tip: take the room that close to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ch00ch85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

My Aunt (58) and I (32) rented a room, which is more like a studio apt, for over a week. It was amazing. Relaxing, quiet, surrounded by ocean and jungle views and humming birds! It's about a 15-20 minute walk to the beach, which we did everyday. We walked down (steep hills, but fun - saw monkeys and lizards) every morning and took a taxi up (cost about $2). The pool is splendid and the patio is AMAZING - did yoga, got a massage, read in the hammock, and ate meals on it. Felt like a home!

Would definitely return. I highly recommend Casitas for family, friends, couples and individuals alike. I WILL return!

Room Tip: Confirm hammock is there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We loved our little casita! We had a car so access to Montezuma was easy - you don't want to walk that hill. The pool was lovely and everything was modern and well designed - love the curved outdoor shower enclosures. We did find our room wasn't cleaned daily, and an odd smell emanating from the bathroom. But not a big deal for us. All in all, very nice.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xanthoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

Haviar and Varina are a nice couple who took very good care of us. A major plus when you are so out of your element. We saw green parrots, both capuchin and howler monkeys and other great wildlife on the premises. One of the best parts was being showed to the upper waterfall by Ricardo. It is a lot less crowded than the lower falls and super refreshing. I highly recommend staying here.
-Kailee & Chris

Room Tip: We stayed in the lower apartment and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruggabug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

We absolutely loved Casitas Sollevante! The grounds were beautiful - the pictures don't even do the view justice - and the pool was so refreshing after a day in the surf. The staff was wonderful - Varina and Marco were always there to help with anything you may need. Our apartment was exactly what we needed - a great balcony to spend mornings and evenings on, the most comfortable hammock we encountered in San Jose, and resident porker Cheecho always brought a smile to our face! Can't wait to come back again!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sierrasweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2011

We had been around much of CR and this was our final stay after beachfront rooms, hostels, rainforest hotels, sunset hotels, etc. We came to Montezuma our last night and needed a quiet spot before out trip home. It felt like we had the place to ourselves. An absolutely perfect evening above the action in town, our own kitchen and porch overlooking the ocean, a pool like glass, and not a soul around. We bought a few things and cooked a delicious breakfast in the morning to the sounds of animals in the trees and the view of the morning Pacific. Utterly satisfied with this spontaneous turn off the main road.

**To boot: After we left, I realized I'd left a book in the house and emailed the staff. Within two weeks the book was back in my hands, and I was so grateful and impressed with their service. Sollevante comes highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peardigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montezuma
0.4 km away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#6 of 18 in Montezuma
330 reviews
7.1 km away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
0.6 km away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#2 of 18 in Montezuma
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
El Sano Banano Beachside Hotel
0.5 km away
Hotel Los Mangos
Hotel Los Mangos
#12 of 18 in Montezuma
249 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#15 of 18 in Montezuma
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casitas Sollevante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casitas Sollevante

Address: Calle Linda Vista | 200 metros antes de Cabinas Linda Vista, Montezuma 60111, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Montezuma
Price Range: $102 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casitas Sollevante 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are planning your next holidays in Costa Rica you must take some time to go and visit the resort "Casitas Sollevante" in Montezuma. The resort itself is located just minutes away from the lively town of Montezuma, situated in the province of Puntarenas, in the southern Nicoya Peninsula (one of the 4 Blue Zones in the world). Casitas Sollevante is the perfect destination for travelers seeking an enchanting escape for their holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Casitas Sollevante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing