We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of Tierra y Fuego

Tierra y Fuego
Ranked #7 of 45 Restaurants in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Flavor and wisdom of traditional italian cuisine.... selection of cheese and cold cuts,home made bread and wood-fired pizzas.Fresh pasta,lasagna,veggie fettuccini,sea food spaghetti. Tenderloin,ribeye steak and pork from BBQ,balsamic vinegar "tagliata" with arugula and parmesan,grilled chicken and home made desserts... WIFI-parking area-botanic garden-safe for children
Reviewed October 11, 2018

I almost didnt want to write this review because the place is so good I want to keep it to myself. Tierra y Fuego is an awesome culinary experience. YOU need to see and smell it for yourself. Home grown, local and home made everything, fresh fish, locally raised chickens, the works. Italian cuisine at its finest.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank aaronatkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 157 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2018 via mobile

Usually we do not like eating Italian foods when we travel abroad but for Tierra y Fuego we broke our golden rule

Miguel our host in Kalapiti strongly recommended this restaurant so we decided to book a table

The location is very nice just 3 km from Montezuma and less than 1 km from Kalapiti the resort where we stayed

We were impressed by the quality if ingredients : i order a fillet steak with grilled vegetables, my wife took a mediterranean salad with aceto balsamico and parmigiano and my son ( one of the best worldwide pizza expert) ordered a pizza pepperoni

We all were delighted!

We met the chef and owner who is ... italian and decided 30 yrs ago to move to CostaRica with his wife.
Please be careful : no credit cards and it s open only from Thursday to Sunday ...why?the Chef explained us : To live in Pura Vida style!

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank stefano s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 21, 2018 via mobile

We didn’t expect to find a great Italian restaurant in the jungles of the Nicoya Peninsula, San José maybe, Tamarindo maybe but up a muddy unimproved road above Montezuma? To say Tierra y Fuego is off the beaten path is an understatement, but it is easily accessed from Montezuma. We wouldn’t have found this gem on our own, luckily our great hosts at Hotel Amor de Mar recommended. If you are anywhere remotely close to Montezuma, Santa Teresa, Tambor etc. Treat yourself to a dinner here. Fabulous food, wonderful people, terrific ambience.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank X2308KDrobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 1, 2018 via mobile

Best pizza around! Pasta is amazing too. Also the vibe, staff and service is wonderful. Be sure to wait for your free shot of limoncello or other liqueur.

Date of visit: May 2018
1  Thank Ken J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 21, 2018

This was the perfect evening all around!! From the atmosphere to the hospitality and delicious homemade pasta to the friendly frog hopping by!! Would highly recommend anyone in the area to not pass this gem up!

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank DebraA24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tierra y Fuego also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Cabuya, Montezuma
 

Been to Tierra y Fuego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing