We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best first surf experience”

Young Vision Surf School
Ranked #2 of 17 Tours in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Young Vision Surf School is a Costa Rican owned and operated surf school in Montezuma, Costa Rica. International Surf Association (ISA) Certified bilingual surf instructors and Certified Beach Rescue Lifeguards teach you about safety in the water, standing up on the board and catching waves of all sizes. Daily lessons include two hours of instruction, the use of the surf board, rash guard and fresh fruits. Contact us to fulfill your dream of surfing in paradise!
Reviewed May 11, 2018 via mobile

we were a little (to say the least) nervous about trying out surfing for the first time (sharks,rocks,drowning, etc.) ! Nago, our surf instructor, was the nicest and most patient instructor i’ve ever encountered in any adventure i’ve got myself into. I would totally recommend these guys for a first surf experience!

1  Thank Vincent L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManuelCespedes, Owner at Young Vision Surf School, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Congrats to you for over-coming your nerves. We are so happy to have been part of your surfing adventure. Please come back again soon. Thank you for your support of our local Costa Rican company! pura vida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"playa grande"
in 39 reviews
"these guys"
in 35 reviews
"pura vida"
in 34 reviews
"fruit"
in 26 reviews
"surf school"
in 20 reviews
"costa rica"
in 38 reviews
"fresh coconut water"
in 7 reviews
"bigger waves"
in 5 reviews
"excellent instructors"
in 3 reviews
"half hour walk"
in 3 reviews
"green waves"
in 4 reviews
"down to earth"
in 4 reviews
"skill level"
in 4 reviews
"big waves"
in 3 reviews
"an awesome experience"
in 4 reviews
"beautiful beach"
in 5 reviews
"his team"
in 5 reviews
Filter

17 - 21 of 280 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2018 via mobile

“Manuel is the best surf instructor” I overheard two different groups of people say over my first few days in Montezuma. And then, lucky me, I stumbled upon Young Vision’s “outdoor office” (pictured) and had a wonderful, full morning of one-on-one instruction with Manuel. He made it fun, laid back and could easily explain what I needed to adjust to be able to get up on the board (and stay up for more than a second). Surfing was so much fun!

His purpose for his school of breaking down barriers between people and having them see something new about themselves is also very cool (“it doesn’t matter if you’re the owner of a big company or the poorest person - everyone’s the same when they are surfing” he explained to me). Thanks for the lesson and being such a welcoming face of Montezuma. I hope I’ll be back for more.

Thank NFMacdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManuelCespedes, Owner at Young Vision Surf School, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks so much for sharing your experience. We are so glad you enjoyed surfing with us. Our outdoor office is open year-round, so drop by anytime. Thank you for your support. pura vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 5, 2018 via mobile

Manuel and his team were simply outstanding. My girlfriend and I flew into Costa Rica with no surfing experience and we left with a love and respect for surfing. From the very first moment they assessed our ability individually and then adapted the lesson as our skill level changed. They were incredibly supportive and challenged us daily. We will absolutely be back and surfing with them soon.

Thank Kurt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManuelCespedes, Owner at Young Vision Surf School, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are so glad you guys enjoyed your surf lessons, and that your're hooked on the sport! Please come and see us again soon. We greatly appreciate your support of our local Costa Rican company. pura vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 27, 2018

We had an amazing time. Not only because the lesson was adapted to different levels but also because the teachers are super friendly (Manuel perfect to push you and make you pogress, and Joseph to cheer you up and make sure you enjoy your time).
Furthermore, very good custumer service. They have adapted the lesson (including a break in the middle) as we were a bit tired and they surprised us with a complimentary pineapple! Thanks to them, at this moment we realised that we were in Paradise :)

Thank you again for having been able to make my mum enjoy surfing ;) You are the best!

Thank Tania B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManuelCespedes, Owner at Young Vision Surf School, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We had a great time with you and your Mom. Thank you for supporting out surf school. We are happy to have been part of your adventure! pura vida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2018 via mobile

The teachers are amazing and they only take 2-3 surfers with them so you get their full attention. They will make you practice different things once you can stand up, which is good for improving. The fruit snack is very appreciated. The walk to get to the surf spot is quite far and since the tide was really high when we came back, it was dangerous as well. Might wanna try their surfschool in Santa Teresa instead. Hope their crew is as fun and professional!

Thank MeliinaWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManuelCespedes, Owner at Young Vision Surf School, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your kind feedback. We hope to surf with you again in the future, we have so many amazing surf beaches to show you! Glad you enjoyed your lesson. pura vida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Young Vision Surf School also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Young Vision Surf School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing