We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (457)
Filter reviews
457 results
Traveller rating
292
98
36
21
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
292
98
36
21
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful lawn costa rica directly across the street palm trees the owner minute walk comfortable chairs montezuma falls first floor mosquito netting ocean front dirt road in town air conditioning each morning an amazing place low tide
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 457 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This has been one of the best hotels we have stayed in due to the natural beauty of the place. The work is all done by local artists. The wood work throughout the place is beautiful and hand carved. The second you walk into the place you get a stunning ocean view with the tide crashing into the rocks. During low tide there’s an awesome tidal pool where you can wade and have a private natural swimming pool- unreal! The coffee and breakfast is delicious. Traditional Costa Rican food with a twist. We had bought a bottle of wine and drank it on our private balcony that night which made this place truly memorable. The owner is very accommodating and the staff is very friendly. At night there is a security guard that stays on premise- the area is not unsafe by any means. but it is nice to know that the property looks out for the safety of its patrons. During the day read a book from their book shelf while laying out in a hammock on the property. The proximity to the downtown area and the main road of activities is walkable. The entrance to the waterfall is within feet/meters of the hotel. My boyfriend and I had hiked and climbed all the way up to the third one. We got lucky and ran into a local tour guide that was out there planting an avocado plant that took us up to the upper falls. Not sure we would’ve found our way without him. Overall, this place will not disappoint. The town gets quiet around 7pm this time of year and having your own private balcony that looks over the ocean was key to making this trip exceptional! I recommend it for couples or even friends looking for a laid back experience.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Colleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2018

We stayed at the hotel with my friend and absolutely loved this place. The garden was beautiful with hammocks and an amazing scenery. Very delicious breakfast available and the staff was lovely too. I will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TanjaRiitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 5, 2018 via mobile

Really enjoyed a week here; right on the ocean with a tidal pool in the rocks. You can always hear the ocean amd the wildlife... the grounds are really mature tropical vegetation and there are hammock everywhere. The food is great (no dinner service though) and the staff are super friendly. I recommend casa sol.. great accommodation with lots of outside space to enjoy the views. As close to the waterfalls as you can get. If you surf go to playa los sedros for the best left hand reef break... and you will almost have it to yourself! Really great hotel... highly recommended

Stayed: August 2018, travelled solo
Thank Jimma21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 20, 2018

This was perhaps the best hotel I have ever stayed at. I was lucky enough to stay in one of the larger family units with two levels and a full kitchen, decks everywhere, A/C, amazing woodwork and furnishings. You can tell the owners take a lot of pride and have a lot of love for this place. Its truly one of a kind.

The grounds are perfect. Amazing landscaping that compliments the ocean and jungle surroundings. Hammocks and comfortable chairs all over to enjoy. We cancelled some local plans because this hotel itself is a destination. Were glad we spend half days here enjoying the perfection.

The owner and the staff are amazing people. Very laid back and caring and attentive. Spoil yourself and go. Our 10 and 14 year olds were in heaven too, they thought this was the coolest place on the planet. Its perfect without kids too I imagine, very romantic.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler5555512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 19, 2018

We spent 5 nights in Villa Sol and cannot rave enough! Here is what we loved:

Easy 5 min walk from the beach where the ferry lands; Private and tranquil hotel and beautiful gardens; Excellent spa in the garden & the shore; friendly & accommodating owner & staff; Self catering option in Villa Sol; privacy, eclectic design, look & feel and great value for money at Villa Sol.

If you are looking for a slice of heaven in Montezuma - THIS is a great option

Stayed: March 2018
Thank worldtraveller185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews