We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (231)
Filter reviews
231 results
Traveller rating
66
70
41
21
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
66
70
41
21
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews communal kitchen in town downtown montezuma hammocks fridge bugs
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 231 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2018

For the price it was great! The location in town was good and everything was clean and comfortable. I paid for the room with A/C and it kept the room cool. I see that others had a bad experience my guess is they are expecting a 5 star resort for a 1 star price.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TerrellB49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 25, 2018 via mobile

Worst place we stayed visiting Costa Rica. We arrived and the room we were giving had mold and fungus. We ask for a other room but is was the same story. The tried room we got was in same condition as the others. The staff was very rude and clearly not a first for them. The young man roled his eyes and was not helpful at all.

The sheets were stained and there were dirty in the room, plus it had a bad smell. The bathroom was so dirty with spiderweb, a broken shower and hair from the visitors before os. The ac did it’s job, but were old and noisy.

I would not recommend this place. Stay at Hotel Luna Llena instead. Greate place!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Katrine Leonora E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 4, 2018 via mobile

Upon check-in, we were told additional $10 for A/C, which we happily paid for.
Sheets and bedding smelt horrendous, so asked for them to be changed. Second lot had stains on.
Decided to extend stay by a night once these issues had been resolved due to lack of availability in other places. When paying for an extra night we were told A/C was 'on the house' for this night, despite having already paid anyway. Without saying anything, they then turned it off, from outside the room. When we questioned it, they tried to charge us again. After arguing, and showing the reciept, they begrudgingly turned it back on. When checking out they, yet again, tried to charge us again, now staying the $10 was per night, when it clearly says on their policies it's a flat fee of $10.
The kitchen bin was overflowing and unsuprisingly, there were bugs everywhere. Mosquito nets didn't fit the windows. If given a ground floor room, you can't use the hammocks pictured.
Wouldn't stay again and wouldn't recommend.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ellie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 26, 2018

We spent two nights at Hotel Aurora with our two sons (7 &9) in January 2018. Overall, we quite liked it. The location is fantastic with all of town within easy walking distance. There's a little park/playground right next door that the kids enjoyed to pop into for a play.

The entrance of the hotel was really welcoming with lots of couches. There was always someone there to chat with. We found the front desk staff to always be helpful and friendly. We used the communal kitchen several times and found it adequate for a typical traveling meal. We liked the layout of the hotel so each room had its own little outdoor sitting area. We had air conditioning, but cold showers which was fine. We were on the street side of the hotel and there was some noise, but it didn't bother us or keep us away. Our room also had a fridge which was handy. I'd say average cleanliness...not awful, not great.

Room tip: If nighttime noise bothers you, you may want to request a room that isn't on the back side near the main road into Montezuma.
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Aimee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 17, 2017 via mobile

Our stay was awful the room smelled so bad we couldn't stay in there so then we got upgraded to a room that had things crawling out of the shower like crabs spiders and various other insects I do not recommend it however there is an amazing restaurant that is just down the road from it not the Main Street with all the shops the the one that is right beside the hotel.There is a barbecue chef named Juan who is one of the nicest people I have ever met.

Date of stay: May 2017
Thank Avery B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews