We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (674)
Filter reviews
674 results
Traveller rating
642
22
6
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
642
22
6
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tide pools la guinda zip line howler monkeys bird watching costa rica long hike night hike classic cabin the pacific ocean san jose fer de lance hiking trails guided hike plunge pool sights and sounds an adventure
Filter
Updating list...
443 - 448 of 674 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights at the end of our Costa Rican trip, in the La Guinda deluxe cabin. It is definitely worth spending the extra as we had a huge deck overlooking the jungle and the sea, and it is very private.

The food is great, the staff is wonderful (Gerardo, the resident biologist is the most incredible guide and Marlin makes the most delicious cocktails), the wildlife is everywhere. We saw all the monkeys the jungle had to offer, we rappelled down waterfalls, we went horse riding on the beach, and we spent many hours on the beach.

The beach is absolutely stunning, the rainforest extends all the way down to the beach and it stretches for miles and miles, it feels like you are nearly always the only ones on the beach. Sure, it's dangerous to swim, but you can soak in the tide pools at low tide and have a dip in the river if you're too hot.
One word of warning, the beach is a good 10-15min walk down from the resort and another 15-20min steep uphill walk back up. In the heat and humidity it can be tough if you're not fit. But there is so much to see on the way (monkeys everywhere!) that it's not really a hardship.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone, and thanks to Gabby for making the whole booking process so easy and for answering all our questions.

Room Tip: Choose La Guinda or La Vainilla for extra privacy and stunning views of the ocean.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gftb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 12, 2012

El Remanso is the perfect mix of luxury and raw nature. My friend and I returned yesterday after a week there, and we are planning to go back. The highlights of our visit were a nature hike with the engaging and knowledgeable Gerardo, who is a graduate student making a study of bats in the Osa Penninsula. We also walked the 20-minute trail down to the pristine beach, with its waves and tidal pools, three times. The walk back up the hill will help you work up an appetite for the delicious fresh food served up by El Remanso's gifted chef. We had lovely fresh fruit, salads, fish and chicken and some traditional Costa Rican dishes, and we looked forward to every meal. I stayed in three different accommodations, and the Deluxe Suite in the Casa Poniente was my favorite. My friend's Classic Cabin was also peaceful and private, with a view of the ocean below. Yes, the howler monkeys will wake you up at 4 a.m., but we were always asleep by 9 or 10, and there is plenty of time for a nap during the hot afternoons. And, what an experience to hear the monkeys' roar every morning. Bring your binoculars to get the best sightings of toucans, scarlet macaws, three kinds of monkeys, butterflies and big ground birds. With no WiFi or telephones, nature is the entertainment at El Remanso. An added plus, you can drink the water, which comes from clean springs on the land. I love this place!

Room Tip: The private cabins and the deluxe suites are best.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank micheleinboulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 11, 2012

I was so looking forward to the Osa. We had a few stays in Costa Rica but the Osa was the one I was looking forward to the most. It was late afternoon when we landed at the lovely little airstrip and were met without any hassle. I did have a slight reservation though when we were told that it would be cheaper if we shared a transfer with another couple. We had already paid for our transfer but were told that we would have to pay again for the transfer. We had no problem sharing a transfer but were concerned we were going to be charged again. In fact we weren't charged again but it was a misunderstanding we could have done without. This is the only gripe we had though. Everything was absolutley perfect. The staff especially Sylivia were superb. The cabin was magical. We arrived in the dark and the cabin was lit with candles and looked wonderful. In the morning we were awakened by the monkeys playing in the trees just outside the deck. The food was unbelievable [we know what good food is!] especially as we were in the middle of 'no where'. We would go to the restaurant an hour before dinner to watch the sunset from the lounge and have a beer. Without even asking we were given some tortilla chips & dips. We were really looked after. The day guided tour was great but we were a bit disappointed with the night tour. We didn't see a lot and we realise it is luck of the drawer with wildlife but the guide did talk rather loud and rather a lot. Not the best way to attract wild life. So much more to say but I can't recommend it enough. I would love to go back and wouldn't even think of trying another lodge. PS Read some of the not so good reviews. It seems that if you have a cabin then there will be no complaints. Might be different if you just have a room.

Room Tip: You must have a cabin to have the 'experience'
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tngm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 7, 2012

We just returned from our second trip to El Remanso in 2 years, and I have only excellent things to say about the lodge and its people. It really is a special place. It's very well run, is clean, with good food and excellent service. The cabins and rooms are very nice and comfortable and you can tell the owners and staff take a lot of pride in the lodge. The food is excellent, with many different choices for all three meals. It was innovative, high quality and delicious!

The activities are endless, and we traveled with young children ages 6, 8 and 10. We went zip lining, waterfall repelling, hiking, swimming, kayaking, horseback riding, dolphin watching, night hiking to look for snakes and so much more. It's true adventure travel and it's always fun, comfortable, fascinating, safe and a lot of fun.

What truly makes El Remanso special, however, is its people. Daniel and Adriana, the owners, are wonderful people and took such great care of our entire family. They were warm, helpful and caring, and they wanted us to enjoy every moment. Gerardo, the staff naturalist, is highly educated about the Osa Peninsula and he gave us tons of information about the birds, trees, wildlife, etc. He was fantastic with our young kids and made the trip interesting and exciting. They were all very organized about planning our activities, and everything went as planned from greeting us at the airport to dropping us off to go home.

We will definitely return and we recommend El Remanso highly.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BradinDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 6, 2012

If you are in any doubt as to whether or not to travel down to the Osa, visit El Remanso and you will not be disappointed. From the day we made our first enquiry to the day we regrettably had to leave after 4 nights and an incredible 'active' package, the whole experience was simply wonderful.
Primary and secondary forest rolls directly down onto the pacific coast, and the whole area is alive with wildlife (do not expect a lie in, the howler monkeys will have you awake and ready for the day before 5am).
The staff at El Remanso strike exactly the right balance and are able to confidently guide you to the best use of your time at the lodge, whether that is simply enjoying the fantastic views from your own veranda or trying out a number of the more adventurous activities (if you have a soft spot for scarlet macaws the horse ride along the beach is a must!). The resident ecologist is inspirational with his level of knowledge and enthusiasm for all things natural, and a walk with him will open your eyes to the sites and sounds of the forest that you seem to have walked through blindfolded before.
I would recommend El Remanso to anyone who is looking to experience Costa Rica at it's most magical.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews